11-12-12 Sweet taters and a special pre Turkey Day blog coming soon…

Hi everyone!

Can you believe Thanksgiving will be here in less than 2 weeks?? Have you planned your menu? Do you know what you will serve? How much will you eat and are you planning to have foods that are healthy and somewhat diet friendly?

This will be the first Thanksgiving I have spent with my family since college! I am really excited, though mom informed me she isn’t cooking that day. Instead, we are meeting at Cracker Barrel in Florence (which is fine with me! I’ll need a breakfast menu please. Yum!). She is cooking on Saturday when my brother and his family come to Haleyville. We are having a very untraditional holiday meal…smoked chicken and vegetables! Oooohhhh yea! Since Chris and I are on diets, 3 of us have sugar issues and don’t eat carbs poor ole mom really has her work cut out.  Don’t worry. We won’t starve. She’ll have enough cooked for an army. It will be a high protein meal that won’t leave us feeling stuffed or sick from blood sugar spikes.  

This weekend I bought a bag of the prettiest sweet potatoes. Kroger had them on sale for 99-cents a pound…and these potatoes were whoppers!!! I washed them, rubbed the skin down with a little butter and baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 2 hours. So delicious and so good for you! Did you know sweet taters contains Vitamin C, calcium, folate, and beta-carotene. Sweet potatoes have a glycemic load of only 17 compared to an index of 29 in  a white potato. In other words…they are diabetic friendly. Let me tell you…sweet potatoes are delicious! I like mine steaming out of the oven with a little squirt of light butter and some Splenda Brown Sugar. Now that is a meal!

I love red meat but try to limit the amount I eat. I grilled a fat steak Saturday night, had a sweet potato and deviled some eggs. Such a healthy and protein packed meal. I love deviled eggs too! I substitute them for potatoes. They are very filling, no carbs and the calorie count is much lower. I made a tray of deviled eggs to take to Grandma’s birthday last Saturday…they were gone in just a few short minutes. Of course I think I ate like 5 of them! Mmmmmmm.

So are you worried about over eating Thanksgiving? Don’t…you can enjoy food along with your guests if you will just plan your menu in advance. Stick with turkey, green vegetables, deviled eggs, fruit and whip up a sugar-free desert. Angel Food cake is always an excellent diabetic or low-calorie choice. Serve it plain or mix unsweetened cocoa powder, a small container of non-fat Greek Yogurt with Cool-Whip and serve on top. Yum! My mom makes a sugar-free banana pudding that will leave you begging for more! I will post a special “Thanksgiving Day”food suggestion blog next week. I will add some of these recipes for you to try 🙂

Have a great day!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11-12-12 Sweet taters and a special pre Turkey Day blog coming soon…

  1. Darlene says:

    Thanks for the tips Elizabeth….looking forward to the Thanksgiving blog………..I have lost
    26 pounds since Sept 3rd….finally am on the right track, so thank you for all the encouragement
    and great ideas….

  2. Leigh says:

    That sounds awesome! I have never liked sweet potatoes but you make them sound so wonderful. I hope you will be giving the banana pudding recipe my dad is also a diabetic but he loves sweets and that’s one of his favorite ones. I love your blog and so glad you started it back again.

Leave a Reply

