10-30-2012-Prednisone, working out, and cabbage rolls

Hello everyone!

You asked for it so here is the return of my “No Excuses” weight loss blog. I took a break from blogging…not necessarily dieting. Yes, I still watch what I eat on a daily basis but I have stumbled off into a few bad habits again so this blog is as helpful to me as it is to you.

My weight is 159 today so yes I’ve gained back a few pounds. Part of that is due to medication I’m taking for allergies (read post below), the other part is not keeping close enough track of how much I am eating and eating out too much. That is why I encourage everyone to WRITE DOWN EVERYTHING YOU EAT.  I stopped doing that and it shows. The only way to know how many calories or carbs you are consuming is to take the time to log it on paper or into your smart phone. I’ll get the extra few pounds off. I’m not worried about that. But I do have to make a committment to myself to stay strong and honest. That is why the blog is a win/win. It will keep me on the straight and narrow while hopefully helping you develop a weight loss plan.

How are you doing on exercise? I participated in the Liz Hurley Ribbon Run recently. It was awesome!!!!! I encourage you to start training now and sign up for next year’s event! The weather was perfect!

I’m also doing a cross training DVD at home. It’s great if you are looking for a quick intense cardio routine. I’ve also got a few workout video’s downloaded to my smart phone. I have no excuse for not exercising…neither do you! In this time of technology there are tons of free apps to get you motivated. I even have a pedometer on my phone to keep track of the number of steps I take everyday. My favorite app is a Nike Training app that gives you workouts and tracks your progress. Do you have a favorite way to get in at least 30 minutes of exercise in?

Several weeks ago I developed terrible eye allergies. They were so bad my eyes swelled together and I couldn’t see. They were swollen, red, itchy, watery (that is still a problem), painful, burning. I tried to cover my eyes with makeup and every other OTC product I could find. I wore sunglasses everywhere and a ball cap to try to help disguise what was clearly standing out on my face. Finally it got so bad I had to go to the allergist. After several hundred dollars shelled out in co-pays, meds, drops, etc my doctor put me on Prednisone steroids to help with the swelling. 2 rounds later and the problem seems to be somewhat better (keep your fingers crossed). The major side effect to Prednisone, though, is water retention and swelling. That is why my face looks puffy on tv. I have what my co-worker Liz Hurley affectionately calls “The Prednisone Puff.” ha! Any of you who have taken steroids know what that means. Most of the swelling has gone down since my last dose and I’m starting to see a difference on the scale again. That is some relief considering how HUNGRY those steroids made me. Anyway…a lot of you asked what was wrong so I thought I would let you know…I’m ok, it’s just allergies 🙂

This weekend I made savory stuffed cabbage rolls. They were delicious (aside from the fact that cooked cabbage stinks). It’s high in protein, very low in carbs and tastes like lasagna–without the fat and calories. The recipe is very versatile and healthy. Note: It is a little time-consuming to make. So if you have a few hours on a Saturday where you don’t have much to do by all means indulge in this little piece of culinary heaven.

Here’s the recipe:

1 medium head cabbage

1 pound ground beef

1 pound sausage

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 cup uncooked brown rice

salt and pepper to taste

1 egg

1 can tomato sauce or 1 jar spaghetti sauce

cheese (optional)

Put the head of cabbage in a pot. Cover with water. Remove the cabbage and bring the water to a boil. Turn off the heat. Submerge the whole head of cabbage in the boiling water and cover. Let sit for 15-20 minutes.

Brown the beef and onion. Turn off the heat. Cook the rice according to package directions. Dump it in with meat, onion and seasonings. Add egg.

When the cabbage is ready, remove it from the water onto a cookie sheet. Very carefully remove leaves. Cut the thickest part of center rib out of each loaf, about 1-2 inches. There will be a little “V” in the middle of each leaf. Divide the meat filling between the leafs and roll up jelly style. but tucking in the ends so the filling stays put. Place the rolls in a deep dish casserole dish.

Pour tomato sauce over the rolls. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Remove foil, sprinkle cheese, and bake another 5 minutes or until cheese is melted. Let stand before serving.

So what is a girl or guy to do when it comes to planning menu’s. Many of you have asked for me to blog what I eat so you will have a base to go on. The best piece of advice I can give you is to set down and figure out foods that fit into your calorie range. It takes time, yes, but you know more than I do what your dietary needs are. I suggest you go through your fridge and pantry and remove any stumbling blocks. Replace high calorie foods with something much more healthy. Example: doughnut for high fiber cereal. Blueberry muffin exchanged for eggs and bacon. Keep portions sensible, try to curb the carbs, and eat lots of veggies.

I will try to post meal plans to the blog. I am posting once a week so it may take me some time to post everything you need.

Have a great week everyone!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10-30-2012-Prednisone, working out, and cabbage rolls

  1. Darlene says:

    Elizabeth,
    My daughter has suffered from asthma for most of her life, and was on Prednisone many times,
    and it puts weight on you in a flash…..I was glad you started the blog up, missed your comments
    and recipes……you inspired me………..so far, I have lost 20.2 pounds………….
    I log every single thing that goes in my mouth.
    Thank you Elizabeth,
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

