Day 228-Bike away the blues and crusted honey mustard chicken tenders

Last night I hopped on my elliptical and worked out for about 15 minutes before I got completely bored. It was such a nice night I grabbed my helmet and rode my bicycle for  3 miles. It felt great to clear my mind, focus on something good for me, while enjoying the smell of fall in the air. Afterwards I plopped down in the recliner to work on a few projects. Hey, not everything I do is work related. I have lots of hobbies that keep me busy too. 🙂 

Meal planning can be difficult especially when you have a family to cook for. It can be even more difficult when someone in your family suffers with a health issue like diabetes. My brother and his wife are learning how to plan and prepare meals that are healthy and very low in sugar. When you’ve always eaten whatever you want it can be difficult to suddenly become restricted. It will take some time for them to figure out what works best but I have no doubt Chris and Sarah will be successful. Chris is already feeling better. His sugar has come down significantly with help of medication and diet. It is good to see him getting back to his old self.

Tonight, I am planning to fix Crusted Honey Mustard Chicken. It’s a Weight Watcher recipe that is really good and much better for you than regular fried chicken tenders. You can make modifications to this recipe by replacing honey mustard with buttermilk or a beaten egg to dip the chicken pieces in. I like the honey mustard because it gives the chicken some pizzaz. Since the chicken tenders are baked not fried there is no added fat from oil, the corn flakes have no impact on blood sugar levels and the chicken will give you a protein boost. By the way…the Weight Watcher Points Plus Value is 7.

Crusted Honey Mustard Chicken

non-stick cooking spray

2/3 cup light honey mustard dressing

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon black pepper

1 cup(s) corn flake crumbs

1 pound uncooked boneless skinless chicken breasts

Preheat oven to 425 F. Coat a cookie sheet with non-stick spray.

In a small bowl, combine honey mustard, salt, and pepper. Remove 1/3 cup and set aside.

Place corn flake crumbs in a shallow bowl. Dip chicken into dressing mixture and then corn flake crumbs. Place on cookie sheet.

Bake until chicken is golden and no longer pink in the center, about 15 minutes.

Drizzle remaining dressing mix (the 1/3 cup that was set aside) over chicken breasts and serve.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

