Day 228-Liz Hurley Ribbon Run and peanut butter bites

I am registered for the 9th Annual Liz Hurley 5K Ribbon Run scheduled for October 20th. This will be my first time to participate and I’m pretty excited about it. 🙂 I have to buy a new pair of tennis shoes soon though. One has a hole in the bottom and my foot gets wet if it’s been raining outside.

Has the weather got you feeling bad or drug out? My friend Dawn, who is a professional trainer, posted on Facebook this morning that changes in weather can play a direct role in how you feel. She suggests a protein drink or smoothie to help boost your energy and immunity. Great tip! Thanks Dawn!

Those of you who follow my blog know just how much I love peanut butter! I eat a serving at least once a day. Usually I take care of my PB fix before I go on set at 4. It keeps me from being hungry, gives me energy and makes for an awesome high protein snack. So when my friend and co-worker Brian Fowler told me about his peanut butter protein bites I had to give them a try. I am so glad I did! I took a batch to my brother Saturday. He liked them and he can be a picky eater. They are simple to make, low in sugar and you probably have the ingredients in your pantry. **Keep in mind-as delicious and healthy as they are, they still have calories in them ** You can add dried fruit to them too. I love prunes (sounds better when you call them dried plumbs, right?) They are so delicious! I cut up a few and added them in. The prunes really bring out the taste of the peanut butter. Score!

 

Here’s the recipe:

* 1/2 cup honey

* 1 cup peanut butter

* 3 cups oats

* 2 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa

* any combination of chocolate chips, nuts, or dried fruit (optional)

Mix all ingredients together and roll into balls. Chill to prevent stickiness.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 228-Liz Hurley Ribbon Run and peanut butter bites

  1. Carolyn Durham says:

    I just made the peanut butter bites. They are wonderful!! I added the prunes, plus a few chopped walnuts. They are chillin’. I cannot wait until it is ‘time’ for a snack. I woke up this morning with a determination to ‘do something’ other than think about what I am going to do about my excess weight. Simply reading your blogs is not working. A good friend is commited with me(she is headed to the store for oats and ‘chunky’ peanut butter. She thinks the extra crunch will be more satisfying). I plan to use a lot of your good ideas. Thank you!! My b’day is Jan. 4th and I plan to be a different person!!! Carolyn

    • Carolyn-so glad you took time to make the peanut butter bites. They really are good but remember they have calories too. To keep myself honest, I drop 2 peanut butter bites each into plastic zip lock bags. I label each bag Monday-Friday (that is when I eat them). That way I don’t over eat and I don’t run out by the end of the week. If you add fruits, nuts, etc remember you are adding more calories so go easy on how many you eat a day. If you workout a lot you can eat more as they make a great protein snack after a hard workout. So proud of your determination too! You will do great 🙂 Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

