Day 224-Diabetes strikes again and dedicating this blog to sugar-free eating

Today’s weight: 156.5 yeaaaa!!!

Starting weight: 184 booooo!!

I have talked about my family’s history with “sugar issues” on my blog. My dad, myself and a cousin battle it everyday. This week, we added another one to the list…my brother Chris was diagnosed as a diabetic. He has felt rotten for a while now. We’ve all been pressing him to go to the doctor and have tests run. He did and that is when they found his blood sugar well above 200. He is now on a diabetic diet and I am proud to say he’s lost 5 pounds since Tuesday!!! (Way to go Chris!) He has a glucose monitor he can use to check his sugar, he’s changed his diet, and now he is on his way to a healthier lifestyle. This will not be easy and Chris knows that but it is by far not the worst diagnosis. It will take discipline, will power, and grit but I have no doubt Chris can do it! He is very smart and talented. I admire him so much for all he has accomplished in his life. I have 100% faith that Chris can get his sugar levels, high cholesterol and blood pressure under control by eating healthier and incorporating in exercise. As I tell Chris if I can do this in front of a viewing audience he can do it in the privacy of his home 🙂 Yes, it is possible to lose weight and feel good. It is just something that is going to take a lifestyle change and a willingness to take this one meal at a time. So Chris if you are reading this…sorry about airing your diagnosis on a public forum but you are not alone. You have a huge support system and I am cheering you on!

Saturday, I am keeping 2 of Chris’ kids. I am also taking him some things to eat that are diabetic friendly, easy to prepare, and will help keep his blood sugar level through the week. This will help get him started, as it can be challening to know what to eat, how to prepare food, and how much of it to eat.

Starting Monday, I will post pictures, recipes and nutrition information on this blog for you to read and use. Even if you don’t suffer with diabetes don’t you owe it to yourself and your family to eat healthier?

Have a great weekend everyone!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

