Day 222-Faux fried salmon patties–a low carb high protein treat

We’ve made it to the middle of the week! Yeaaaaa!

Yesterday I was so busy I didn’t have time to post a blog. I am having a busy day today too but I wanted to take a few quick minutes to share that low-carb high protein recipe I told you about yesterday.

Growing up, my mom would fry salmon patties for supper. I hated salmon patties and until very recently I felt the same way about meat loaf, which I now ~LOVE!! I thought if I gave salmon patties a try I might fall in love with them too. Salmon straight out of the can is awesome! High in protein and very carb friendly plus the taste…oh my! So, Monday night, I made “faux” fried salmon patties. What does that mean? Instead of frying them in heavy amounts of oil I “fried” them in a skillet with a shot of non-stick cook spray. I popped a bag of Uncle Ben’s Brown Rice in the microwave for 90 seconds and viola! Supper’s ready. By the way, I learned I can eat salmon patties in a pinch but I still don’t love them. Maybe you and your family do love salmon patties. If you are looking for a healthier way to prepare them…look no further! This recipe is low in calories, packed with protein. Notice it calls for bread crumbs. That is just to give the salmon a little “body.” I use very little bread crumb as I like a moist salmon patty. You can also add other spices you like..even a squirt of yellow mustard for good measure. Enjoy!

 

~Elizabeth’s Pink Salmon Patties~

Pink salmon, 14 ounce can

Bread crumbs (any style), 2 Tablespoons

Light or Fat-free Mayo, 2 Tablespoons

2 eggs

salt/pepper to taste

Drain and flake salmon into mixing bowl. Combine salmon, bread crumbs, mayo, egg salt and pepper. Blend well. Spray a skillet with non-calorie cooking spray. Turn burner on medium. Put patties in skillet and cook until golden brown on the outside. Makes 8 patties.

Calorie count…around 120 calories

Fat: 5.2 g

Carbs: 6 grams

Protein: 12 grams

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

