Day 215-Labor Day eating, baked potatoes, and why I diet

Today’s weight: 156 pounds

Starting weight: 184

Hope you all had a great Labor Day! This was the first holiday I’ve had off since Christmas! I spent Monday working on a big project. It was nice to be off. Wish the weather would have been nice too. 

Did you overeat this weekend? Who didn’t, right? If that’s the case it isn’t too late to scale back on the amount of food you consume and let your belly rest from being stuffed. I had some homemade ice cream over Labor Day but I made sure the other food choices were high in protein and I watched how much of it I ate. Saying “no” to carbs like bread, rice and pasta helps keep my weight at a manageable number. For example, I left the bun off my hamburger. I cut up the meat, added tomato, onion, pickle, cheese, ketchup and mustard (more like hamburger steak). That saved calories and I didn’t have that bloated feeling from eating too many carbs. I usually skip the bread anyway. When you get used to leaving it off you won’t miss it.

Someone asked me recently if I am still counting calories since I watch my carbs too. The answer is yes. I know that seems daunting but–for me–the 2 go hand-in-hand. I keep my calories at a certain range while closely monitoring my carb intake. Now when I say carbs I’m not talking about fruits and some kinds of vegetables. I am talking about the kind of stuff that sticks to my rear end…like bread, pasta, rice, potatoes, chips. For me this is where willpower is essential. I love a good baked potato with butter and sour cream. I also know if I eat it, I’m just going to pig out like it’s my last meal. So AS A TREAT…if I order a baked potato, I split the potato down the middle and then across, so you have 4 pieces of potato. I put one small portion only on my plate and give the rest away. I either eat that potato with my meal or save it to the very end when I am full. That way, I only eat a few bites. Either way, it is much more diet friendly than inhaling an entire potato and feeling bad about my poor choice.

I know you must be thinking…”that girl is crazy” or “that girl takes weight too seriously.” Maybe I am a little bit of both ha! I know the older I get the harder it is going to be to drop the pounds so if I can work to keep it down now I won’t have so much ahead of me down the road. People tell me all the time “I admire you but I could never give up certain foods” or “I just don’t have the willpower.” Trust me, it’s not as easy as I make it sound. I struggle everyday and have days where I just don’t care. That happened only a week or so ago when I ate that entire sleeve of chocolate chip cookies. I drank a cup of regular soda only a few days ago. I fall off the wagon from time to time. I complain, sulk, grumble, moan, and bellyache about counting calories and watching carbs but I know it is not all in vain. Good Lord willing, I will live a long healthy life. I am the only person who can make sure I am taking care of myself now. Ok I don’t check my blood sugar…at all. That is not a good thing. I got so sick Saturday from going too long between meals that I was literally on the brink of passing out. I paid for it the next day too. If I kept my sugar checked, like my dad encourages me to do, I would know when it runs too high or low. I would rather ignore the fact that I have alleged sugar problems, though nothing as extreme as what I had before my weight loss. I’m sure I’ll pay for it one day. Hopefully not.

I finally have my bike up and running. I rode it some on Monday in fact. It has 2 new tires, the gears are lubed and I have a “big girl” seat on it. Much more comfy! Now to find time to get in some exercise. Hopefully a good ride will help ease the pain in my hip from a pinched nerve. Exercise certainly can’t hurt it.

 Have a great day!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 215-Labor Day eating, baked potatoes, and why I diet

  1. Lauren says:

    I started counting calories a month ago using My Fitness Pal and was down 11.6 before Labor Day! I gained a little back over the holiday weekend but I’m back at it and 1 lb away from being where I was before the holiday! It’s easier to count calories than I thought it would be, and it can be kinda fun seeing the nutritional value of everything. Now if I can find some time to exercise! Keek up the good work & keep motivating others! 🙂

Leave a Reply

