Day 210-Ma! The meatloaf! Tortilla chips, and ratings celebration

(The first part of the title is a quote from one of my favorite movies, “Wedding Crashers.” There is a point to this post…I promise.)

Last night, I made the most heavenly pan of meatloaf. I only recently started eating this unappreciated, yet meaty, low-carb main dish. I never liked meatloaf growing up and all but refused to eat it. A few weeks ago, while suffering from food burnout, I decided to make a loaf and give it a try. Now, I’m addicted! My sister-in-law’s mom, who passed away several years ago, has a delicious recipe that I use. I also add a few extra ingredients of my own into the bowl. Yes, this is a low-carb meal but as my mom pointed out after I told her I ate half the pan, it does have calories. While I watch calories I also keep track of carbs. My carb intake can get out of control and that seems to be what puts the weight on. If you are worried about calories, buy a lean cut of meat or use turkey.  

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray a loaf pan with non stick spray. In a bowl, combine 1 pound of ground meat, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1/4 cup yellow mustard, 2 Tablespoons A-1 Steaksauce (don’t leave this out. That’s what makes the meatloaf addictive), salt/pepper to taste (I also add in spices like garlic salt, red pepper, and cajun seasoning. I like a kick to my meatloaf), onion, 1/2-3/4 cups of bread crumbs. Mix and pat into loaf pan. (you want your meatloaf to be moist. The yellow mustard is what adds juice and flavor)

In a separate bowl, mix tomato sauce (or you can use ketchup if that’s what you have on hand) and A-1 Steak Sauce (I probably use 1/4 cup each…and I buy the store brand A-1. It is much cheaper and the taste is identical to the name brand) pour on top of loaf and bake for 1 hour. Then get ready for the kids and hubby to come running! You will be Queen for the day after they taste this meatloaf. Ok, it won’t make you look younger or add wealth to your bounty but it really is good…but I’m not a meatloaf expert as this is only the 2nd loaf I’ve eaten 🙂

I mentioned earlier this week that I use high-fiber, low-carb, whole wheat tortilla’s for roll-up’s or sandwiches. For breakfast yesterday morning, I stuffed mine with scrambled eggs and bacon. They are also good with a thin layer of peanut butter and jelly or peanut butter and banana. This is a good way to get protein in your diet. I can get 4 roll up’s out of 1 tortilla. Awesome! They are also a good alternative to regular potato chips.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with nonstick foil. Brush both sides of tortillas with olive oil (this is a healthy oil, and in moderation is good for us), using a pastry brush. Then cut tortillas into quarters with knife or pizza cutter. Bake tortilla pieces in a single layer on prepared baking sheets until chips are crisp and golden, this will take about 12 to 16 minutes. Serve immediately with your favorite salsa or low-calorie dip. These chips can also be kept warm in the oven on low or warm.

So see, eating healthy doesn’t have to be difficult. There are ways around making and eating your favorite foods. You can drastically cut down the calories, carbs, and sodium by making even the slightest changes to the way things are made. I am by far no expert in the weight loss arena. These are things I’ve tried that I like and have had success with. I share these tips and recipes with you because I know how overwhelming dieting (or eating healthy) can be. If we all had personal chefs or trainers it would make looking good and being healthy easy…but this is the real world and few of us have access to those kinds of tools. So, you have to do for yourself. Make the most out of what you have in front of you. Push away from the table now and then and do your best to win this life long fight.

By the way, today we are having lunch catered into the station. Our ratings in July were through the roof! Thank you to all of our viewers who made us the #1 news station in North Alabama! To celebrate our success, we are going to do what news people do best (besides talking)…EAT! 🙂

Have a great day everyone!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 210-Ma! The meatloaf! Tortilla chips, and ratings celebration

  1. Lisa says:

    Meatloaf sounds good, I think I will try it. Congratulations on ratings!!

Leave a Reply

