Day 203-My disdain for dieting runs deep today

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is exactly how I feel. I could not have said it better. I try to keep my blog posts positive to help motivate you and me but I’m allowed a day that dieting just gets on my nerves!!! Today is that day.

I battle food and weight it seems every minute of my life. I feel guilty if I enjoy even one bite of something I shouldn’t eat. I feel guilty if I don’t get in some form of exercise. I feel guilty if I eat too late at night. I feel guilty if I miss a meal. I feel guilty all the time. I ask myself daily if all of this is worth the headache. I feel like I’ve given up so many of the foods I love all in the name of maintaining a certain weight or trying to lose more. No mac and cheese. No  soda. No bread. No white rice. No potatoes. No more of anything I like to eat. Sometimes I want to scream!!! I get tired of eating like a rabbit…rice cakes, peanut butter, and protein. I would love to pull the chair up to my mom’s table and enjoy her cooking. When I call after work everyday I always ask what she fixed for supper. I live vicariously through their meals ha! I would love a plate of her famous pork chops, fried potatoes, pinto beans, slaw and cornbread. She makes a beef stroganoff that is so delicious! And let’s not forget Grandma West’s fried chicken, mashed potatoes, gravy, peas, biscuits and homemade fried apple pies washed down with a sweet tea with lemon (and none of that artificial sweetner mess. The real sugar!). That certainly won’t be on my food list tonight–or anytime soon. I’ll probably fix egg salad. The thoughts of it depress me.

Now on the flip side to my aggravation I know how important it is to keep my diet in check. I don’t want my cholesterol to go up again and it’s certainly helping to keep my blood sugar under control. I also know that I look much better in a pair of jeans and I enjoy the fact that my clothes need a safety-pin. I wasn’t born with the “skinny gene.” I am built like my beautiful Grandmother Gentle. I look like the Gentle side of the family. They are a good-looking bunch of people let me tell you 😉 They are also built like pears…small through the shoulders and waist and larger through the hips and rear end. I don’t mind the curves but it is hard work to melt away the extra padding. Mom said it didn’t come on overnight, it’s not going away overnight. I wish someone would create a magic pill that would instantly slim you. Now THAT would be an instant best seller!

This too shall pass and I will get over my diet frustration. Today it is just bringing me down and that is a rough feeling. Maybe I am nutrient deprived (ha!) or maybe I just miss a good home cooked meal and my mom’s kitchen table. Don’t feel like you struggle alone. I do as well and doesn’t it just flat-out stink?

Have a great day everybody!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 203-My disdain for dieting runs deep today

  1. Lauren says:

    Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

    1. God has given me power over my food choices. I’m supposed to consume food. Food isn’t supposed to consume me.

    But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness”….For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:9-10)

    2. I was made for more than to be stuck in a vicious cycle of defeat.

    You have circled this mountain long enough. Now turn north. (Deuteronomy 2:3 NASB)

    3. When I am considering a compromise, I will think past this moment and ask myself, How will I feel about this choice tomorrow morning?

    Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

    4. When tempted, I either remove the temptation or remove myself from the situation.

    So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it. Therefore, my dear friends, flee. (1 Corinthians 10:12-14)

    5. When there’s a special event, I can find other ways to celebrate rather than blowing my healthy eating plan.

    See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. (Revelation 3:8)

    6. Struggling with my weight isn’t God’s mean curse on me, but an outside indication that internal changes are needed for me to function and feel well.

    Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing!…I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. (Isaiah 43:18-19)

    7. I have these boundaries in place not for restriction but rather to define the parameters of my freedom.

    I put this in human terms because you are weak in your natural selves. Just as you used to offer the parts of your body in slavery to impurity and to ever-increasing wickedness, so now offer them in slavery to righteousness leading to holiness. (Romans 6:19)

  2. Angela says:

    Hi Mrs. Gentle, I certainly echo your struggle with weight and love of food. I watched Dr. Oz not long ago and he was talking about the benefits of Raspberry Ketones & Green Coffee Bean Extract (pure with no fillers), I figured it couldn’t hurt to try as the Green Coffee Bean extract is supposed to help maintain healthy blood sugar levels and help lower cholesterol & the Raspberry Ketones are supposed to help burn fat & fight hunger without any jitters. I went to GNC & bought a bottle of each. I take one pill of each twice daily about 30 minutes before breakfast & 30 minutes prior to lunch & surprisingly am starting to show some success…..I do not feel jittery at all, my energy levels have increased & the pounds are starting to drop. You might try these along with your diet and exercise and see if they help.

  3. Tina Webber says:

    Always revert back to why you started in the first place. It’ll get you through the guilt phases.

  4. Lauren says:

    “God I recognize I am made for more than the vicious cycle of being ruled by food. I need to eat to live, not live to eat. So, I keep asking for Your wisdom to know what to eat and Your indwelling power to walk away from things that are not beneficial for me.” -Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

  5. Liz says:

    I feel your pain, Elizabeth! I, too, have diabetes in my family and was diagnosed with gestational diabetes when I was pregant with my daughter, who is now 8. I had her right before I turned 40, so am an “older mom,” and I want to be around as long as I can so I can spoil my grandkids the way my mom is spoiling mine (I also have a son who is 11.) I read your posts like we are sitting together and you are talking to me and I have had so much I could talk about with you that we could carry on a conversation for hours and see the sun rise!! I will say this, through all of my experiences with diabetes in my family (my dad had it and my brother had it as well. He died in a car accident coming home for my parent’s 25th wedding anniversary–we think he blacked out due to his diabetes–and he left me as an only child) that it truly is a struggle. I, like you, was a busy woman who worked my way up the corporate ladder, got married had kids and even though I am no longer in a senior management position in the corporate world, I stay busy with a career in real estate and being a wife and mother. I have never slowed down and taken time for myself until I started reading your blog. I kept looking for some motivation knowing that I needed to take better care of myself and after reading a month or so of your blog, I decided if you can do it, I can, too! It is so hard, with all the cupcake and bundt cake stores opening around here, all the good Southern food found at restaurants and on our own family’s tables, it is a constant battle and struggle. What keeps me going is knowing how rewarding being healthy is and how good it makes me feel (and lood!) to be on the lighter side of the scale, BUT that it is also ok to treat yourself every once in a while! And, as my dad would always say as he went through the awful process of dialysis before he passed away 9 years ago, “no matter how hard it is, it beats the alternative of not being alive to have a choice!” Hang in there, it is tough, but you are tougher!!

  6. Josie says:

    Congratulations on your weight loss. You look great!
    Thank you for sharing so much of yourself. It helps to know I am not alone on this ‘weight control’ jouney.
    Just saw you on the news and your hair style tonight is FANTASTIC! Love the straight, sleek look on you!.

Leave a Reply

