Day 194-A picture is worth a 1000 words and getting hunger under control

Can you believe it’s been nearly 200 days since “No Excuses” launched? If you remember I was 184 pounds at the start of the year! Nothing to celebrate for sure! Today I am 156 pounds and I feel great! I still haven’t reached my goal of 145 but I continue to work towards it. One day at a time, one pound at a time. Here is a “before” and “after” shot to give you an idea of how far I’ve come.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I made the decision that I wanted to lose the weight, sought the help of a dietician and began the biggest battle of my life. I was determined that weight, emotional eating, bad habits, snacking, lounging around like a couch potato, etc wasn’t going to beat me! I had to make some tough adjustments. I cleaned out all the food in my refrigerator and cabinets that were stumbling blocks. I learned to check labels, read sodium content, buy lean cuts of meat, vegetables, low-calorie dairy, cut back on eating out so much, and stay away from soda and sweets. I discovered by logging my meals and counting calories that it was possible to lose weight. I also found out that having a support system of friends and family was critical to my overall success. They understand and lift me up when the going gets tough. If they are reading this I hope each and every one of them knows how much I appreciate them and love them for all they’ve done for me.

How difficult is it for you to keep your hunger under control? I know this is a huge issue for me. I’m hungry it seems all the time. I eat about every 2 hours but there are times in the day I’m hungrier than others. Click on the link below for some helpful advice on what to do when the munchies want to take over!

“Feeling ravenous can undermine a sensible diet in at least two ways. First, it can make you eat when you don’t need any food–sometimes the feeling is the product of a bored or worried mind rather than an actual indication of hunger. Second, it’s real enough to send you into an eating frenzy at your next meal.

By adopting a few smart strategies, you can make it through those moments of weakness–or prevent them from happening in the first place.”

http://www.oprah.com/health/Soothing-Hungers-Savage-Beast/1

Have a great day!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

