Day 186-Girl’s weekend, a nice compliment, and when to eat carbs

Where do I begin? I had every intention of writing a blog post before I left for my 3 day weekend but alas it didn’t get done. You know how it is when you are working and getting ready for company. I picked up my niece early Friday morning for a girl’s weekend. We had such a good time! We went shopping, out to eat, to the park and then to pick up a surprise 🙂 We played many games of Wii, made homemade ice cream and watched “Wizard of Oz.” We also enjoyed a pedicure (check out the pic of Mary Beth’s toes).

 

Also, I made sure I had all of MB’s favorite foods on hand…strawberries, pineapple, chocolate fruit dip, chocolate chip cookies, muffins-etc. We both ate well and we got in our exercise. She took me on 2 long walks and we played several intense rounds of Wii bowling. So for whatever foods we shouldn’t have eaten we burned off calories having fun 🙂

While Mary Beth and I were enjoying pedicures a very sweet woman pointed out that she recognized me. I had on no makeup, my hair was dirty and pulled up in a clip. I had on jeans that were too big and a tshirt with a bleach stain on the front. I like to dress down on the weekend-way down 🙂 She was very complimentary of my weight loss. She couldn’t have been nicer and I appreciate her taking time to speak to me. It makes you feel good when someone recognizes your efforts. 🙂

Have you ever wondered what is the best time of day to eat carbs? Is it morning or later in the day? I used to eat carbs all day, as much as I wanted, whenever I wanted–which is the reason I was fat. I’ve learned that if I eat carbs in the morning it gives me energy to start my day and it doesn’t pack on the pounds. I’ve added a link to an article that answers your questions about when you should eat carbs and what are the best carb choices.

http://straighthealth.com/pages/dietitian/protein-or-carbs-first-thing-in-morning.html

Enjoy! Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

