Day 181-Root canal, eating during the night, and going to war,

Today’s weight: 156

Starting weight: 184

Goal: 150

Weight lost: 28 pounds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I survived. I had a root canal this morning. All I have to say is thank goodness for nitrous oxide. My mouth is numb, I’m nauseated from the Novocaine but thankful this part of the nightmare is over. Now, to try to take a handful of Advil with a numb mouth. This could get interesting.

Today is my walking buddy’s birthday. Happy Birthday Lisa! We haven’t hit the trail in several weeks. It has been a busy hot summer for both of us. Maybe when the weather cools down we’ll get back in the groove.

So what happened to yesterday’s blog you ask? I didn’t write one. I had planned to but had a busy morning and didn’t get a chance. Yes, I am still eating healthy. I have really been enjoying fruits and vegetables. I got up at 3am Monday morning so hungry I couldn’t sleep. I went to the kitchen, pulled 2 slices of bread out of the freezer, popped them in the toaster, sliced a tomato and enjoyed the best sandwich! I went back to bed and slept until my alarm went off. Hunger in the middle of the night is annoying but it means my metabolism is doing what its supposed to do.

Everyday of this healthy lifestyle is like going to war. I’ve got all the tools and ammo I need to fight but sometimes the battle seems never-ending. I think a lot of people who are forced to watch what they eat feel that way. It seems unfair that the girl in the next cubical can inhale a Big Mac or pizza for lunch while you push down a salad with low-calorie watered down dressing that you don’t really want. She is a size 2 while you are still a size, well, not a 2. It can be disappointing and discouraging. Don’t let somebody else’s body type get you down. One day they may blow up like a balloon or it could be a simple case of good genes. We all have things about ourselves we would like to change. So instead of wishing we looked different why not work with what we’ve got! Because really aren’t we all pretty in our own way?

And yes I am still following closely to the Mediterranean Diet. I really like it. I also like that I can use a little olive oil in cooking. That will help bring up my good cholesterol numbers. You can’t beat some of the food choices and it is high in protein!

Keep counting those calories! If you haven’t downloaded the free calorie counting apps check out “Lose It” and “My Fitness Pal.” Both of these are great resources for keeping track of what you eat and how much.

Have a great day all!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 181-Root canal, eating during the night, and going to war,

  1. Lisa says:

    Thank you for the birthday wish. I will be glad when we can get back to our walking.

  2. Darlene says:

    Happy Birthday to your friend Lisa………..

    All I can say is this, your persistance is paying off Elizabeth. You can look at you on tv and see
    that you are much healthier, your skin glows and your hair shines, and you are just so bubbly…so
    you feel better about yourself and it shows.
    Stick with what you are doing, and perhaps…………don’t look at it as a diet, but a healthy lifestyle
    instead…..because if you want to live a long and productive life and not have so many health
    issues you are miserable with, it has to be a lifesttyle choice…..

    Blessings,
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

