Day 174-Food craving squashed and a history of diabetes

Ever had one of those days? One of those days where nothing satisfies your taste buds? One of those days where you dig through the fridge and the cabinets looking for that one bite of food you know you are craving-but just haven’t figured out you are craving it yet. That is me today especially where lunch is concerned. Most days I pack my lunch and bring it to work. Today I didn’t have time so I went around the corner to Burger King for one of those salads I posted about a few weeks ago. It was so good and I have no regrets about eating it, even though it packs more calories than I am comfortable chowing down on in one meal. I ordered my salad without the chicken (saved me some calories) so it was lettuce, cranberries, blue cheese, fresh apples and 1 pack of the apple cider vinaigrette dressing.  It was really really good and the tang from the dressing hit the spot!

How many of you suffer from diabetes or what I call “sugar issues?” My dad is having a difficult time right now. I doubt he would be too happy if he knew I was blogging about his health but so many people can relate. Back in February my mom was a special guest blogger and told about my dad’s diagnosis. He is struggling with the new medication the doctor put him on. I too suffer with “sugar issues” and tried taking that same medicine several years ago. It made me violently sick and I had to stop it. We thought he was going to be able to handle it as he did pretty well in the beginning. It appears he is not feeling well. So he is going back to the doctor next week to try to hopefully get his prescription changed. My dad takes good care of himself and is religious about taking his sugar, watching what he eats, and seeing the doctor on a regular basis. I, on the other hand, completely ignore my blood sugar. I know it is much better since I lost weight and I am very careful about what I eat but it also tends to shoot up when I overdose on fruit. Many of you have posted or asked about handling diabetes. I thought I would re-post what my mom wrote back in February. Diabetes not only affects the person with sugar problems but the people who have to learn to cook and serve meals that will help them keep their medical condition under control. Once again, here is my mom’s story. Thanks Pickle for writing this up! I love you!

For years I had been telling my husband, Tommy, that he had all the symptoms of a diabetic. He didn’t believe me. I begged him to go for a physical, but like most men, he wouldn’t do it. He thought I had conjured up all this in my mind. He just ignored the constant thirst, the tired feeling, falling asleep every time he sat down in a chair, and the irritability. Finally, one Saturday in October 1994, his company scheduled a mandatory physical exam for all their employees. Needless to say, Tommy was not happy, but he had no choice but to go. When he got home, he was in a state of panic. The nurse had told him to get to a doctor first thing Monday morning because his blood sugar was almost 400! That was the beginning of our journey as a household with a diabetic in the family. I had no idea where to start. Our family had always eaten just about whatever we wanted without thinking about health problems. We had to change a lot of things in our lives. About a year after Tommy found out he was diabetic, he started having eye problems. He was diagnosed with Diabetic Retinopathy, or bleeding behind his eyes, and had to have surgery. The doctor told him that he had escaped serious eye problems, possibly blindness, by only a few weeks.

From that time to the present, Tommy has done really well controlling his blood sugar. For several years he controlled it with diet only but now he takes a daily pill to help maintain his blood sugar. You won’t catch him cheating with his diet. He is a believer in eating right.

Now Elizabeth is another story. I have worried about her for years because I could see the same symptoms in her that I saw in her dad. I encouraged her to get her blood sugar checked but was never very successful with my efforts. Finally, she had to have it checked for some insurance she was getting and guess what, her blood sugar was high. She still won’t use the “D” word, just calls it “sugar issues” but whatever she calls it, I am so proud of what she is doing now. She has realized the importance of eating right and taking care of her body. I hope she has been an influence on all of you and a good example to follow. I know from what she has told me and what I have read on her blog, that you all have been a great motivator for her. I’m proud of all of you and hope you keep up the good work!

If you suffer with sugar problems don’t be like me and pretend the issue doesn’t exist. It does and always will. I know it is better controlled with diet and exercise but keeping a regular check with your physician is a good idea.

Hope this helps others who think they might be suffering with diabetes or knows someone who is going through the same thing.

Happy day all!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

