Day 166/167-Senior moment, blackberry pie recipe, and grocery price rant

**I had a senior moment yesterday. I saved my blog but forgot to launch it to Facebook. So here’s 2 days worth of thoughts rolled into 1.

Saturday was a huge success! What a great time I had with my parents and grandma. I’m so glad she felt like coming for a visit. We all enjoyed spending time together. I cooked lunch and we ate like it was our last meal! GG even made 2 of her famous homemade chocolate pies (I should have taken a picture!). Let me tell you those pies were beautiful–and there was not a slice left! I can’t eat chocolate pie because of the sugar but I enjoy watching everyone else inhale them 🙂

Saturday I made a diabetic friendly blackberry cream cheese pie. I thought I would share the recipe with you.

In an 8×8″ pie pan greased with cooking spray, spread out a can of crescent rolls. In mixer, mix room temperature cream cheese, 1 teaspoon vanilla and a dash of milk (mix until cream cheese mix is spreadable). Spread cream cheese mix over crescent dough. Add frozen or fresh fruit (I used frozen blackberries). Add another layer of crescent dough on top. Melt 1 stick of butter. Pour over dough. Sprinkle with Splenda and sugar. Bake 350 for 30 minutes. Enjoy!

My dad picked 2 gallons of blueberries and a basket of tomatoes and peppers from their place to bring me. Every few minutes I grab a handful of blueberries and chug them down. They are by far my favorite fruit. I don’t think there is a bad one in the bunch…sweet and ripe! The tomatoes are delicious too! I love them sliced on bread with a touch of mayo.

I have fallen behind on exercise lately. It has been so hot I haven’t really felt like doing much. I have got to get back on it as I can feel some softness coming back in my rear end. It will never be tight like it was when I was younger but I have built up that muscle where your cheek and thigh meet 🙂 The last thing I want to do is gain weight back so I really struggle to maintain a healthy size.

Did you hear the drought is driving up prices at the grocery store? Food prices are high enough as it is. I’m not kidding when I say I may have to go vegetarian. The price of meat is ridiculous. Fruits and veggies aren’t far behind. My question is when the meat, fruit and veggies goes bad what happens to it? Does it get thrown away or taken home by employees? I try to buy meat when it is on sale or in bulk and freeze it. That way I only have to buy it a few times a year. That helps reduce my grocery bill. I have also started making my own bread instead of buying it and freezing fresh fruits and veggies so I will have them to eat on for several months. What tricks work for you to save money at the grocery store?

Happy day all!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

