Day 150-Paula Deen did it and my mom’s diabetic friendly ice cream

I woke up this morning, weighed. I lost 1 1/2 pounds-bringing my weight down to 155. Likely I lost that weight from sweating and cutting back on night-time eating. That is when my hunger drive really kicks in. When I get home from work I just want to eat anything I can. I really have to watch it or I will have consumed a couple hundred calories before my meal!

Wow! It is HOT out there. No doubt summertime is upon us and while I am a hot weather girl to the core this is a bit extreme even for me. Yesterday while driving back from a story in Decatur I saw a man running. It was high noon and hot. He looked like he was going to pass out. Exercise is wonderful and it makes you feel so good when you finish but make sure you take care of yourself. That may mean changing your exercise times to very early morning or late evening. Regardless-stay hydrated!

I was reading an on-line article about Paula Deen this week. She recently came forward about having diabetes. She’s lost 30 pounds and said she feels better than she’s felt in years! That’s great! My mom and I went on the Paula Deen tour a few years ago. She has made a lot of money from her love of butter and sugar. ha! The article in the upcoming issue of “People Magazine” talked about how she lost the weight…the same way I lost mine-changing her bad eating habits. She is quoted in the article as saying, “I’m doubling up on salad or vegetables and putting smaller portions of carbs and all that. I try to walk thirty minutes a day.” Nobody said weight loss was going to be easy. It is something that you have to work at on a daily basis. If you make adjustments to your eating plan you may be surprised by what you accomplish. Hey, if Paula and I can do it…so can you 🙂

I know! I know! I just talked about healthy eating and dieting. It is ok to enjoy a treat now and then. And nothing goes better with summer temperatures than ice cream! My mom makes a diabetic friendly homemade ice cream that is to die for! I thought I would share her recipe with all of you. Keep in mind it is not completely sugar-free but it is much better for those of us who suffer with sugar issues. I love this ice cream with peaches mixed in. Yum!

 

Linda’s Vanilla Ice Cream

1 large box sugar-free vanilla instant pudding

2 cans evaporated milk

2 cups Splenda

milk

Mix all ingredients together and put in one gallon freezer. Finish filling freezer with milk.

When it is hot out I find myself with a lagging appetite. Last night I had a bowl of oatmeal with bananas, peaches, and blackberries.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 150-Paula Deen did it and my mom’s diabetic friendly ice cream

  1. Lisa says:

    Thank you for the recipe!

  2. Darlene says:

    Sounds delicious, especially the peaches. You would be proud of me, husband wanted to try a new donut place opened here, (he should not have)so off we went, and I did not get a thing, just
    watched him buy 2. LOL….I am heading for the fridge and my cutup watermelon and canteloupe.
    YAY for you ELIZABETH on the 1 1/2 pound loss….make sure you drink your water, and yes, I
    saw a runner yesterday afternoon here, she was so red faced it scared me, right out in the hot sun
    on concrete………….I am staying in…..
    Thanks for the recipe,
    Darlene

Leave a Reply

