Day 134-Peanut butter and chocolate and giving Greek Yogurt a second chance

If you love peanut butter and chocolate you are going to thank me for posting this recipe. This morning I fixed a high protein smoothie. I poured 8 ounces of skim milk in the blender, added 1/2 of a frozen banana, 2 teaspoons of peanut butter, 1 teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa powder. I boiled an egg to eat with it. All total, that was 269 calories. It was a great way to start my day and it filled me up. You don’t have to give up foods you love, you just need to find a way around all of the unwanted calories. Unsweetened cocoa can be your best friend when incorporated into smoothies or dips. It allows you to indulge your sweet tooth without feeling guilty.

You may be wondering where I found frozen bananas. We all know prices at the grocery store are sky-high. Every little thing I buy I make sure it can be frozen and used later, fruit is no exception. I bought a stalk of bananas, peeled and cut each one. I put the pieces in individual baggies to freeze so I can add it to hot oatmeal, smoothies, etc.  This way, the bananas don’t go bad before I am ready to use them. More importantly, I don’t waste money.

A few weeks back I posted about Greek yogurt and how I could not love it because of the taste and consistency (yet I can eat sour cream straight out of the carton while chugging down buttermilk. who knew?!). I’ve been reading a lot about Greek Yogurt and how it is a fantastic replacement for more fattening dairy products. My co-anchor Liz Hurley loves the stuff and encouraged me to give it another try. Publix had Fage on sale. After reading the labels carefully I bought 2 containers of the Fage 0% (fat-free). It is very low in calories and has 23 grams of protein! **Be very careful when you buy Greek yogurt. The calorie, fat and sugar content in the regular and light is high. I really like the taste of this particular yogurt. It has a nice consistency and just the right amount of tang. I mixed 1/2 cup of Greek Yogurt, a carton of fat-free Cool Whip and unsweetened cocoa powder in my stand mixer. I cut up some fruit to dip in it and had the most phenomenal low-calorie fruit dip. This morning, I layered that same dip on top of cut up strawberries for a healthy afternoon snack. If Greek Yogurt is a little difficult for you to get down, try it with some unsweetened cocoa powder. One of my blog followers suggested this and I can’t thank her enough!

Did you know cocoa powder is like good health in a can? There are so many health benefits to incorporating this chocolate goodness into your diet. Not only does it act as an antidepressant it’s also highly nutritious. Next time you are in the store, pick up a can but make sure it is unsweet. Click on this link to learn more. http://www.livestrong.com/article/331715-cocoa-powder-health-benefits/

Have a great day everyone!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 134-Peanut butter and chocolate and giving Greek Yogurt a second chance

  1. Amber D says:

    I make this shake too, except I just buy no sugar added carnation instant breakfast mix instead of the cocoa powder. Sometimes I add greek yougurt into my smoothie too. It gives it a more rich taste.

Leave a Reply

