Day 129-Keeping the weight off, losing fat, and health benefits of eating corn

Now that my high school reunion is in the history books people have been asking me if that means I am going off the wagon and back to eating whatever and however much I want. I jokingly said to my mom last night that I was ready to pull my big clothes out of the closet and eat my way back into them again. In her “you better not do that Lizzie” mother voice I was told that was a bad idea. I agree! (again I was only kidding). I have no plans of straying from the way I eat now. It has taken me 5 months to retrain my taste buds to no longer want starches and sodas.

The true test of that will power happened over the weekend. Mom made the most delicious Sunday lunch…baked ham, corn on the cob, peas, slaw, rolls and potato salad. I love my mother’s potato salad. She makes it like my great-grandmother and it just melts in your mouth. She asked me earlier in the week if I would eat it and I politely told her I couldn’t but to please make it if she and dad wanted it. She made a bowl and I did not eat one bite. I didn’t even look at it because I knew if I did I would eat until I was sick! Potato salad isn’t one of those dishes you can just eat a spoonful. It is comfort food at its finest-and it is also fattening. I was proud of myself for turning it down. Now THAT’s willpower!

I have a lot of people ask me questions about diet and weight loss. I am no expert but I have learned a lot since the day I started “No Excuses.” I don’t mind sharing what I’ve learned with all of you. That’s what this blog is all about. I will say it irritates me to hear people say “well I know I need to lose weight but I just can’t lose it” or “I need someone or something to motivate me.” Look if you wanted to do it badly enough you would. Simple. You have to make up your mind to lose weight. I can’t make you or motivate you to do something you don’t want to do. I know some people have a medical reason they can’t lose weight but the majority of us are just lazy. If losing weight is something you really want to do, get up off the couch, get moving and watch what you are eating. Don’t use grocery shopping as an excuse. If you skip the isles at the grocery store that are going to cause problems with your diet and go armed with a list you will walk out with the foods you need. If you only walk 20 minutes a day or pull weeds in the yard that is better than sitting on your rump. Nobody said losing weight was going to be easy. Take it one meal at a time, one day at a time, one pound at a time. You will see a difference on the scale. Remember-NO EXCUSES 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When summer rolls around it reminds me of the crops of fresh corn my grandmother planted every year. Nothing is better than fresh corn on the cob with BBQ (except mom’s potato salad ha!). Corn is a favorite dish of mine and while I haven’t eaten much of it since I started my diet it is ok to enjoy corn in moderation. In fact, did you know corn is very good for you? You can boil it, bake it, grill it…whatever you like. Just be mindful of any butter or oil you put on it (I use the squeezy Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter).

Want to know just how healthy corn is? Click on this link to read more.

“Sweet corn is one of the most popular vegetables. It is loved by adults and children alike because of its sweet flavor. This vegetable, although being sweet and delicious, is a great source of many vitamins and minerals.”

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/269138-benefits-of-eating-sweet-corn/#ixzz1x1pofNvT

I’m also posting some delicious ways to prepare corn and recipes. Click on the following links to enjoy!

http://pinterest.com/pin/103231016428146771/

http://pinterest.com/pin/287456388685238371/

http://pinterest.com/pin/29343835042265568/

Have a great day!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 129-Keeping the weight off, losing fat, and health benefits of eating corn

  1. Great post. Thank you for sharing some tips about losing fat. I’m looking forward to read more of your articles.

Leave a Reply

