Day 123-Health benefits of Kiwi and why I do not believe in diet products

Summer time and fruit go together so well. One of my favorite lunchtime stops is by Kroger for a bowl of fruit. I like to get the one that has strawberries, blueberries and kiwi. Kiwi, if very ripe and tender, is so delicious! I could eat my weight (old weight that is ha!) in this small, green fruit. Next time you are looking for a new fruit to try pick up a Kiwi, peel and enjoy! Here are a few links to why we should add Kiwi into our diet. Come on, it’s good for you!

http://www.livestrong.com/article/346805-what-are-the-benefits-of-eating-kiwi-fruit/

http://kiwi-fruit.info/kiwi-fruit/Health%2BBenefits%2Bof%2BKiwi%2BFruit

I’m also posting some interesting Kiwi facts and recipes to our “No Excuses” Pinterest board. Click on the link to read more!

http://pinterest.com/pin/119697302566625912/

http://pinterest.com/pin/98164466848001817/

Today is Thursday but in the work world it is my Friday!! I am so ready to be off for a few days even though it is going to be BUSY! Tomorrow I have the cabinet man coming to replace the bar in my kitchen. Somehow the wood under the countertop got wet and busted. I’m hoping it doesn’t take long and can be handled with minimal damage to my schedule 🙂 My house is still under the 1 year warranty so if it breaks, I am calling for it to be fixed before the warranty is void. This weekend is also my 20 year high school reunion…more on that later 🙂

One thing I have noticed lately is my appetite. It seems to be in the gutter lately. I tried to eat a bowl of strawberry oatmeal for breakfast but only got a few spoonfuls down. For lunch I had a handful of peanuts…far from nutritious I know but I just don’t have enough appetite to go around. I think it has to do with that sickness I had last week. Maybe it is a case of the nerves. Maybe it is hot outside and the only thing that sounds really good is a strawberry milkshake. 😉 My weight loss efforts are holding steady at 156.

On my personal FB page I was reading about a girl from home who has last 19 1/2 pounds in a very short period of time using a diet pill. One of the things I wanted to accomplish was to lose the weight without aid of pills or drinks. I was honest with that from the start. There is no miracle diet product out there that gives permanent results. Oh, you may lose weight while on it, even a significant amount, but once you come off you are going to gain it back. The particular product she is endorsing comes with a significant amount of caffeine, which I do not participate in. I know many of you rely on diet products but keep this in mind…why deprive yourself of food to replace it with a pill or drink? Stay on a healthy balanced diet, cut out foods you know will add weight, and incorporate exercise into your day. I may not have hit my goal of 145 yet but I know now how to eat healthy, lose weight and maintain without the aid of dangerous products.

I hope you all have a great day and a fantastic weekend! Don’t forget “No Excuses” Monday morning and on WAFF-48 News Now at 4pm. Be safe and will blog soon!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 123-Health benefits of Kiwi and why I do not believe in diet products

  1. Robin says:

    Have a fabulous weekend!!

  2. Darlene says:

    Have a fabulous weekend and a great time at your reunion……………you are such an
    encouragement to many of us….and you are getting so close to goal….
    and I love Kiwi………..thanks for all the info….

Leave a Reply

