Day 123-Summer Slim-Down, a changed girl, and pineapple

I stepped on the scale this morning as I do several times a day (still haven’t broken my bad habit). There before me…156 pounds. That puts me 11 pounds shy of my goal. However, I can live with dropping only 6 pounds and being happy with that. I just want a little weight to play with as it tends to fluctuate like most people’s. I am tall and built well enough to handle 150 pounds.

I was walking by the mirror this morning. Sometimes it is hard to see the girl standing there today 30 pounds lighter than this time 123 days ago. I still envision all of the imperfections despite even my best efforts to see a healthier slimmer me. Isn’t it amazing how hard we are on ourselves? We focus only on the negative, not the positive. Body image is such a difficult subject. I don’t know anyone who is truly happy with the way they look. I wish I could airbrush over all of the things about myself that I don’t like but I know there is such a thing as reality.

I went to a news conference today at Huntsville Hospital Wellness Center. The City of Huntsville and Huntsville Hospital are teaming up to launch “Summer Slim-Down.” It’s an eight-week weight loss and fitness challenge for Huntsville families. There will be a Healthy Huntsville Fitness and Nutrition Expo at Big Spring Park Saturday June 9 from 8am-noon. The event is free to the public and will include exercise and nutrition classes. If you are interested you should give it a try! I know summer time is here and you want to relax by the pool and spend time with your family. I also know it is blazing hot and enjoying the cool of the AC is much more tempting. Remember the family that sweats together, stays together, right? 🙂

Someone asked me recently do I feel like a changed person since I’ve lost all this weight.  Yes, I feel better, look better and find that I have more self-confidence, energy and happiness! I take more pride in my appearance now and I enjoy seeing clothes fit differently. The transformation is fun. You start off feeling the opposite and as time ticks down and the scales start to show weight loss you pick up self-esteem-finding that you carry yourself just a little differently perhaps with a straighter back and more sparkle in your eye 🙂

I love fruit-any kind of fruit-except one…pineapple. I don’t know why I am not crazy about pineapple. It is a delicious, refreshing fruit but it is not my “go-to” fruit craving. I like pineapple and cheese sandwiches and I don’t mind it in a fruit dip but otherwise I pick it out if I find it in something I am eating. To me it has an over sweet taste (just my opinion). So I thought I would research this fruit to see what, if any health benefits it might have. Wow! Pineapple is one of the healthiest fruits you can eat (maybe that is why it is expensive at the grocery store). Anyway, here is everything you’ve ever wanted to know about pineapple. After reading this article I may have to try to develop a love for this fruit!

To read article click on this link: http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=34

I am also pinning some fabulous pineapple recipes to our “No Excuses” Pinterest page. Check them out!

http://pinterest.com/pin/119697302566619843/

http://pinterest.com/pin/119697302566619869/

Have a great day all!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 123-Summer Slim-Down, a changed girl, and pineapple

  1. Jennifer says:

    I saw you on the news on monday. I don’t usually catch you because i work during that time but i was off so i got to see you. Girl you are looking hella good. It reminds me of the first time you started on the news. Keep working even if you think you are not seeing any results when you weigh its there.

Leave a Reply

