Day 122-Week 2 of challenge, homemade BBQ and slaw, and watermelon

Welcome back to those who enjoyed an extended weekend. It is always great to spend time with friends and family. I hope you paused to remember those who fought and sacrificed their lives for our freedom. I spent Memorial Day covering the ceremony at Maple Hill Cemetery. Always a very humbling event.

 

I am feeling better than I was last week. Whatever I came down with sure made me feel bad. The heat didn’t help things either. I will make a full recovery and be back to my old self soon enough 🙂

So this starts week 2 of my diet challenge and guess what??? The scale hasn’t moved even an ounce. I’m not really complaining as I hardly ate anything for a few days last week and now that my appetite is back I am having to really watch it.

I bought 2 dresses last week. I went in the store, found 2 dresses in a much smaller size than when I started, grabbed them off the rack and took them home. Normally I try everything on before I make a purchase but I was determined these 2 lovely numbers were going home with me and they were going to fit. I am happy to announce both dresses fit beautifully! I was skeptical I would be able to pull them up as I still see the heavy girl in the mirror but they not only slid up with ease I had no trouble zipping them. That is an awesome feeling considering where I started.

I love BBQ sandwiches! It is one of my favorite summertime meals. I’m not that talented with a grill so I decided to put the meat in my cast iron Dutch oven and slowly bake it in the oven. Here’s the kicker…I’ve been reading about cooking meats in soda so I thought I would give it a try. I rubbed the meat down in spices, poured in about 2 cups of Diet Coke (and no I didn’t take even one sip), added roughly 2 Tablespoons of Splenda and let it cook for 6 hours on 300 degrees. You talk about some fantastic tasting meat! The soda and Splenda reduced down to a thick sauce and the meat was plastic fork tender!!! I made a homemade coleslaw to go with it. I shredded part of a green and purple cabbage, added light mayo, vinegar, Dijon mustard, Splenda, black pepper and a shake of Cajun seasoning. Oh so good! You have a healthy protein and vegetable to put on the table for dinner.

My other favorite summertime treat is ripe, red watermelon. In fact I cut one up this morning for breakfast. My grandaddy always said watermelon was good to fatten up hogs but research shows it’s actually good for belly fat. Here’s an article all you watermelon lovers will want to read…

“Watermelon is a fruit that is associated with summer. The American Dietetic Association touts watermelon as a nutritious choice of food anytime the fruit is in season. Watermelon is composed primarily of water, aiding in the reduction of water in the body. In some instances, this can translate to weight loss around the abdomen. However, eating watermelon alone does not burn fat in the belly.”

Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/295676-what-are-benefits-of-eating-watermelon-to-lose-belly-fat/#ixzz1wHUAa0Wj

http://www.livestrong.com/article/295676-what-are-benefits-of-eating-watermelon-to-lose-belly-fat/

Happy Tuesday!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 122-Week 2 of challenge, homemade BBQ and slaw, and watermelon

  1. Peggy Mitchell says:

    As Dolly Parton said when she lost her weight,”There’s a fat girl in side of me trying to get out” I suspect you will have that feeling too. Hang in there. Looking good.

Leave a Reply

