Day 108-A chocolate indulgence, a dieter’s best friend, and cinnamon

I’m glad to see I’m not the only person who has trouble eating Greek yogurt. A lot of you wrote in with suggestions like adding fruit, mixing it into a smoothie, adding some sugar-free chocolate, honey, sugar-free jelly, etc. I really want to love this treat as I am a HUGE dairy fan but to me Greek yogurt is the equivalent of that nasty pink medicine your mom chased you around the house when you were little to make you drink. Now that stuff was bad!

I ran by Kroger for lunch today. I picked up a mixed fruit, some turkey meat, peanuts and a Yoplait Whipped Chocolate Mousse Style Yogurt. If you haven’t had this chocolate treat I highly recommend you try it. The unfortunate part is I can’t find it in a low-calorie version. I bought only 1 and it really saved me from stabbing someone with a fork. 🙂

Last night I had the best dinner! I’ve had a lot of food burn out lately so this was fantastic. Lane invited me over for homemade grilled chicken and salad. He cut up the chicken and added it to lettuce, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, cheese, a few crutons and ranch dressing. It was the best salad I’ve eaten in a long time. The chicken was moist and tender and the salad was fresh. I had plenty of calories left to eat as I didn’t eat much lunch. Go easy on the dressing, crutons and cheese but no reason you can’t enjoy a delicious and nutritious meal.

When you begin your weight loss journey one of the best feelings is watching as your clothes hang off your thin frame. Today, I have 3…count em…3 safety pins holding up my pants. I could have gone with 4 but I hated to have a belt of safety pins around my waist. 🙂 The other cool thing is pulling your jacket out, that once would not button, because now you have more room than ever before!

How many of you like cinnamon toast or apple pie made with cinnamon? It’s one of those spices that reminds me of home and Christmas. It’s also a spice that will swell my tongue and give me hives. Yep I’m allergic. During the fall when Publix puts out those cinnamon broomsticks I have to hold my breath to walk through the doors. If I even brush by it my skin looks like I’ve been attacked by a brothel of bees. But many of you can enjoy cinnamon and did you know it is good for you???? I read an article in a magazine recently that listed these health benefits.

Cinnamon offers anti-clotting and anti-microbial benefits, boosts brain function and contributes to a healthy colon. It also controls blood sugar in people with diabetes. The general consensus is that consuming approximately 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon daily is effective.

So the next time you crave toast, oatmeal or apple pie sprinkle on the cinnamon–just don’t invite me over for a piece without a side of Benadryl 🙂

Happy day all!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 108-A chocolate indulgence, a dieter’s best friend, and cinnamon

  1. Lisa says:

    If cinnamon helps the brain, I better start eating a lot of it.

  2. Liz Love says:

    You should try the yoplait whips yogurt frozen, its incredible!!

  3. pennyph says:

    Thank You Elizabeth for writing about your weight loss journey, us dieters need all the encouragement we can get! You Go Girl!

  4. Brothel. noun. a house of prostitution….”.If I even brush by it my skin looks like I’ve been attacked by a brothel of bees.” perhaps you mean a swarm?

  5. Have you tried the new philadelphia chocolate cream cheese? IT. IS. AMAZING! I usually have it on a bagel thin and sometimes add a few slices of strawberries, since they are in season right now. Soo good

  6. Becky says:

    Came across this recipe,don’t know if you’ve tried this yet. It’s a 3,2,1 cake. Take a box of Angel Food cake mix & a box of any flavor cake mix & mix them together in a ziplock bag,don’t add anything else. Take out 3T,put in a coffee cup,add 2T water,mix,microwave for / minute…3,2,1….I have a pic on my page of my first one,only 80 calories for the cake,then add cool whip,fruit…whatever

Leave a Reply

