Day 107-Blog is lagging behind, John Stamos and trying to love Greek yogurt

Today’s weight: 155

Starting weight: 184

Total weight lost: 29 pounds

Can you believe it? I forgot to blog Friday. All day I kept thinking “I’ve forgotten to do something but what is it?” It hit me later that night that I skipped right over posting to my “No Excuses” page. I must have been suffering with a case of “thank goodness the weekend is only a few hours away” syndrome. Ha! So here is a 3 day blog all in one:)

I hope you all had a chance to spend time with your mom or grandma this past weekend. My family was supposed to have a combined birthday/mother’s day celebration but my brother has walking pneumonia. We all decided it best to postpone as my grandmother did not need to pick up whatever bug Chris was exposed to. We have rescheduled for Saturday.

I weighed this morning and I’m down 155 pounds. That’s 29 pounds from where I started about roughly 10 pounds until I hit my goal weight. What’s interesting is the fact that yes I have dropped sizes but I am still not in a size I want to wear. Even with 10 more pounds that may not be possible. A lot of it has to do with build. I may be the size I am going to be for a long time. I should be happy right? We I don’t know that you are ever really happy with the way you look or the numbers that show up on the scale. Why does body image have to be such an issue? Some people are naturally thin. Some people are genetically overweight. Some people, like myself, are in the middle.

How many of you like Greek Yogurt? I am not one of them. I am shocked at myself too as I love sour cream, cream cheese, other types of yogurt but for some reason this stuff is really hard for me to swallow. Everyone talks about eating it so I wanted to know if it’s really all that it’s cracked up to be. Turns out Greek yogurt is really good for you (and if John Stamos-who advertises the Okiois yogurt showed up at my door with a tub I’d not only invite him in for a spoonful I’d probably feed it to him!)

Did you know Greek yogurt is:

-has twice as much protein as regular yogurt. The extra protein will help you feel full and leave you feeling satisfied.

-Greek yogurt has less sodium by up to 50 percent.

-low in carbs and easy to digest

So mabye Greek yogurt isn’t bad after all–now to get past the taste. ha! (and it certainly doesn’t hurt that John Stamos endorses Greek yogurt either).

Happy day all!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Day 107-Blog is lagging behind, John Stamos and trying to love Greek yogurt

  1. moma4faith says:

    I wonder if I would be able to chop some strawberries to add in and make it more palatable. I can’t stand it either, but as you say, it is super healthy.

  2. moma4faith says:

    I wonder if chopping strawberries in it would make it more palatable. I don’t like the taste either, but as you said, it is super healthy.

  3. Use it to make a smoothie!

  4. Deanna says:

    The best Greek yogurt to buy, unfortunately, is the plain, because the flavored has too much sugar. So if you’re trying to eat it plain, then, well, yuck! But add some sugar-free preserves, or fruit and splenda, or a couple tablespoons of honey. All kinds of things you can do to make it more palatable. I agree, it’s a little harder to eat than some. It’s VERY thick. Oh well! Good luck with it. Maybe John Stamos WILL show up. That would be nice…

  5. Dana says:

    I found a great recipe with Greek Yogurt on Pinterest. Take 1 small container of plain or vanilla Greek Yogurt, add 2 TBSP(+/-) creamy Peanut Butter, 1 – 2 TBSP Honey and 1/8 tsp of Cinnamon. Besides the container of Greek yogurt, the ingredients are variable to your taste. Mix them all until smooth and use as a dip for sliced apples. I usually don’t like Greek yogurt and won’t take the time to slice an apple, but this is my new favorite snack. I cannot get enough and it is healthy!! ( Also, I use raw, local honey for extra health benefits.) ENJOY!!

  6. Dutch says:

    I love the unflavored Greek yogurt but most people cannot stand it! Try the 2% Fage (pronounced Fa-yeh) brand. It is much less sour tasting than the fat-free. Also, you can try stirring in some sugar free preserves like Polanar or Smuckers. One cup has only 170 calories and 23g of protein! That much protein will stay with you for a while!

  7. Lauren says:

    It took me a while to get used to it! I can now use the plain in place of sour cream and I like Chobani (pineapple, strawberry-banana, peach, blueberry, pomegranate, etc.) The ones with honey are gross because they don’t have much flavor but I can handle greek yogurt with fruit mixed up really well!

  8. Casey says:

    I buy the plain greek yogurt and add vanilla and stevia. Then eat it with fruit and a little granola. That has been the only way I can get the stuff down. You have to be careful because most of the flavored yogurts have lots of added sugar.

  9. Darlene says:

    I agree. Chobani is the best greek yogurt. I eat blueberry

  10. Farrah says:

    Chobani is my favorite Greek yogurt. I have some in the fridge that isn’t too bad, can’t remember the brand, but it has a little thing of granola attached to mix in. My almost 3 year old also loves greek yogurt. She prefers it to the kid I normally buy her. So it doesn’t stay in my house very long! Good job on your weight loss. I was actually down a little today even after splurging on lunch Saturday and dinner last night. Hope your brother is better soon. I have heard of several people lately having that!

  11. Darlene says:

    I like the Greek Yogurt in the blue containers that are flatter, not so tall….awful with names….I have to limit my proteins….one of them is Kiwi and it is really creamy and good. I could not gag down the Chobani myself…had to throw it out. Some of my brand have fruit in them and others don’t…I
    like the creamy ones because they are more like ice cream or pudding.
    Have a great week Elizabeth…..you really can see a huge difference on the tv…………..

  12. Darlene says:

    By the way, wear more color……….the warm pink looks great today…..

  13. Mary Cattadoris says:

    You gotta try diet Swiss Miss hot chocolate mix in your greek yogurt. Trust me, it tastes like heavenly light chocolate mousse!

Leave a Reply

