Day 100-From old to new, Dr. Pepper BBQ, and diet battles

 

 

 

This was a good weekend, despite being on-call. I got up early Saturday morning and took off for Lowe’s in Athens. I bought paint and primer to refinish a dresser I’ve had for several years. I’ve tried time and again to give that dresser away and it seems nobody wants it. There is nothing wrong with it so I decided I’ll keep it and give it a fresh new look. I spread out my drop cloth, opened my cans of paint, turned my music on and had some fun. I started this project in the garage as it was pouring rain but then it stopped and the sun came out so I moved the dresser drawers outside. I was painting away when I got my flip-flop caught in the plastic, tripped and spilled white paint on the yard and on my sidewalk. Thinking spilled paint is just like sour cream what do I do? Grab a sponge and start to wipe it up…only to realize I’m making the situation worse. I couldn’t leave my wet furniture outside to go to Lowe’s because I was worried it might rain again. So, I sucked it up, tried not to look and carried on with my painting. Several hours later, through sunburn and exhaustion, I drove to Lowe’s again bought a can of Acetone and a scrubber. It got some of it up but because the sidewalk is textured the paint is down in the grooves. It will take a pressure washer to get the rest cleaned up. I digress. On a happier note, the dresser turned out beautifully and will look awesome in my guest room. I will snap a pic when I get it set up and let you see the “before” and “after” shots.

You know I have a love relationship with soda. While I have not touched a fountain Coke in 100 days I did buy a Dr. Pepper this weekend, not to drink but to cook with. Yep you read it right…(I am not a Dr. Pepper fan so there was no temptation for me). I’ve been hungry for BBQ and wanted to try a new recipe. My mom has always said the cheapest roast is the best and she is right! Cheap cuts of roast have fat running through them and that is what gives it that delicious flavor and texture. Have you ever added Dr. Pepper to the roast? You talk about tender…man o’ man that meat was fall off the fork good! Here’s what I did…pork was cheaper than beef this grocery trip so I bought a pork roast. I washed it good, sprayed the crock pot with a little cooking spray, put a layer of BBQ sauce in the bottom, laid my roast in the pot, seasoned it and then pour in about 2 cups of Dr. Pepper, put the lid on and let the roast cook on low for 8 hours. When you take it out of the crock pot, let the roast “rest” for about 5 minutes to seal in the juices. The roast will be tender and so easy to shred. I made a homemade spicy BBQ sauce to go with it…very low calorie and homemade cole slaw dressing. Delicious!!!!!!

I stopped by the produce stand this weekend for a basket of delicious fresh strawberries. I had my mouth set on them! I’ve learned, after Saturday’s strawberry excursion, the secret to selling strawberries is to put the big ones on top, the tiny ones in the middle and the rotten ones on bottom. I was disappointed to say the least. 

So how is your weight loss going? Are you dropping the pounds? If you’ve seen part 1 of 2 of my “No Excuses” report you know I’ve had some battles to deal with lately. I’ve become diet obsessed and trying to change my way of thinking is difficult. People tell you when you are overweight to slow down and watch what you are eating. When you lose weight people tell you to start eating more. Where is the happy medium? I am stuck at the weight posted above. I want to finish my 40 pound goal but I am thinking my body is taking a break or it has lost all it’s going to. I hope that is not the case as I really want to shed at least 5-7 pounds more if not the entire 12. I hope you are finding great success in your weight loss plans! Anybody got some good healthy recipes you want to share?

Have a great day all!

Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 100-From old to new, Dr. Pepper BBQ, and diet battles

  1. Betty Anderson says:

    You have done great, Elizabeth. Everyone who diets hits a plateau now and then. You will make it. You are great to share all this. Thank you.

  2. Stacy says:

    Hey Elizabeth! I can’t tell you what an inspiration you are! I’ve struggled for a looong time with my weight and you’ve made me realize just how simple it can be. So, I’m off to start my own journey…I was wondering how often you work out?

    • Stacy-Good for you! I am cheering you on!

      When I started I didn’t exercise at all. I was trying to finish up my grad school term, work and it was winter so I had zero desire to work out. Now I walk several miles, do sit ups, crunches, lunges at least 3 times a week. You DO NOT have to go to that extent. A good 3 mile walk works just as well.

      Good luck to you!
      Elizabeth

  3. Darlene says:

    Elizabeth,
    You have to be patient……I think if you try to hold the place you are with your weight right now,
    then give your body time to adjust to the new you, then you can go ahead and finish the losing
    down to your goal……
    Don’t give up…..just take a break, which means eat right and eat healthy, then gradually get back
    to your plan and before you know it you will be where you want to be.

    We are all out here cheering you on……

    Blessings,
    Darlene

  4. Mary Cattadoris says:

    Elizabeth, I saw your “No Excuses” episode Monday and could definitely relate to your emotions. I think you have it more difficult than most because of your tv exposure. You have so many followers and I think, in addition to your own desires to lose weight, that you might feel responsible to your viewers to succeed. If you do, get over it. I just want you and you alone to succeed. I think everyone goes through a rough emotional road on the way to weight loss. Trust me, it will get better. Here’s a recipe that I use when I crave a sweet dessert.

    Greek yogurt and Diet Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa mix. Just mix the 2 together in whatever amounts you want. It’s delicious!!

    Hang in there,
    Mary

    • Mary—your recipe looks incredible! I do not like Greek Yogurt-at all-but with hot cocoa mix in it how can you go wrong? I bet strawberries dipped in it would be delicious! I’m going to try it this weekend 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words of support!

      Best to you…
      Elizabeth

  5. Elizabeth, your “painting incident” made me giggle (because I would have totally grabbed a sponge too..HA!) The Dr. Pepper roast sounds amazing! Thanks for the how-to. Now, let me just say that I am not a “blog reader” and certainly not a “blog commenter” (untill now) but after your first No Excuses report I was interested and felt the need to cheer you on. My first thought was actually…”this chick has got some big ones going on a “diet” in front of a million people on live TV! LOL. So I looked up your blog and started to follow you.I don’t get to see your report often(due to work) just the commercials about your upcoming reports :o( and I REALLY hate that I missed the one about your struggles and talking to your Dietician. When I seen that ad my heart went out to you. Those are real emotions people deal with while struggling with weight. I am also on a diet/journey and although I have three times the weight to lose as you (1 lb. or 100 lb. the journey is the same right?) I would like you to know that you are an INSPIRATION to me and I am sure to many other women and even men. Good luck on the last 12 lbs.–wish it was me ;0) — I know you will win this battle. “Keep your feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars”….Casey Kasem as if you did not know…lol Oh, did i forget to mention I’m down 17 lbs. myself. yay!

    LOTS OF LUCK,
    LISA

    • Lisa-thank you for the sweet message! It means a lot that you took time out to send it.

      Ha! glad you liked the paint story. I still can’t believe I made such a mess but then again I can believe it!

      Try the Dr. Pepper roast you will love it! Out of this world tender.

      Good luck with your weight loss program. You can certainly do it and I’m rooting you on!

      Best to you..
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

