Day 96-A push on the scales, ranch dressing overdose, and chicken tender sauce

Current weight: 156.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss goal: 145

It seems when I finally hit 156 that my weight either holds steady or creeps back up a few pounds (I’ve gained 1/2 pound since Monday. Read on to find out why ha!). It’s like it has a stopping point and doesn’t want to go down any further. I’ve got news for you metabolism…you’ve still got 12 pounds to go-so get a move on it already!

Have you checked out our “No Excuses” Pinterest page? If you are stumped on what to cook for supper or looking for a healthy side dish click on the link. Web producer Bliss Bowman-Wade and I are pinning low-calorie healthy dishes to this site. Today, Bliss pinned a fabulous Mexican dish. It’s figure and budget friendly. Please take a minute to click on the link. http://pinterest.com/waff48news/

My photographer, Miguel and I were shooting video for Monday’s “No Excuses” piece. I was standing on the scale and we needed a shot of my weight when I started this diet detail. Miguel had to put his foot on the back of the scale to make the weight go up! That was a super nice feeling. 🙂

When are you the hungriest? For some its just one certain part of the day where no matter what they eat they are hungry. Others crave food before bedtime or even during the night. For me, I am hungry at 11 am, 3pm and when I get off work. I have to really watch that as I could let my hunger get the best of me. I try to make sure I have healthy snacks. I keep 90 calorie granola bars in my desk drawer and in my bag. I keep peanut butter too as it is a good high protein snack to eat with pretzels (I eat the unsalted pretzels as they don’t have the heavy sodium).

One thing that is really difficult for me to fight off is “after work” hunger. I do pretty well during the day as I am so busy I don’t really have time to think about being hungry but as soon as I walk out the door I can feel my stress level sink and my stomach gnawing on my backbone. When I get home sometimes I fall apart. Take Monday night for example. **I’m thinking this is where the 1/2 pound of weight gain came from** I warmed up left over grilled chicken and fixed a salad to go with it. Sounds healthy enough, right? I made homemade ranch dressing and white sauce. I used maybe 2 Tablespoons of white sauce on my chicken but it was the dressing that was driving my taste buds wild. So I sat down with a spoon and shoveled it in. Luckily I made it with part fat-free mayo, part light mayo and fat-free buttermilk. Man there is something about the taste of fresh made ranch dressing that is incredible. I even take a nip of it first thing in the morning if I am looking for something refreshing on the pallet. I know that sounds strange, right?

I try to eat a small snack when I walk in the door at home. That way I don’t go crazy while I am cooking. I’ll grab a Sugar free Jello or an apple or a few crackers and that usually helps. Last night I was so tired I ate a bowl of Cheerios with strawberries, bananas and skim milk. I wasn’t hungry afterwards and slept good through the night.

Many of you have commented that you plan to try my low-calorie Alfredo sauce. One thing I left out…if you like your sauce a little thicker add a Tablespoon of flour to a little milk, stir and pour into your sauce. This will thicken it and give the sauce a little more body.

My sweet little niece Mary Beth is having a birthday next week. Usually we have BBQ for the kid’s special day. This year, MB requested her Aunt Cizzy’s (that’s what the kids call me. The oldest couldn’t say Lizzie when he was little so he called me Cizzy. It stuck ha!) famous chicken tender sauce.

How many of you have heard of Guthrie’s Chicken Fingers? I grew up in Haleyville where the original Guthrie’s got its start. The chicken tender sauce is to die for!! I have never had tender sauce as good as Guthrie’s. I’m not quiet able to duplicate it either. I’m right on the border but something seems like it is missing. If I only knew the complete recipe! Anyway, I promised I would fix MB a jar of chicken tender sauce and bring it with me. She likes to dip her steak fries in it. I love that little girl! So glad she’s mine 🙂  I don’t follow a recipe so it’s one of those “little bit of this, little bit of that” sauces. It’s easy to double this recipe too. You don’t have to be precise with the measurements. Just mix to taste and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

Aunt Cizzy’s Famous Chicken Tender Sauce

1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use Bama Light)

1/4 cup Ketchup (or more if you like a tomato taste)

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce

Black pepper

Notice I didn’t give a measurement on the black pepper. Here’s why. Put your mayo in a bowl, cover it with a layer of black pepper. Put your ketchup layer next, cover with a layer of black pepper, add garlic salt and Worcestershire Sauce. Mix well. Cover and refrigerate.

Have a great day everyone!
Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 96-A push on the scales, ranch dressing overdose, and chicken tender sauce

  1. scarletredlocks says:

    I have been following your progress on and off as much as I can. I do not get to watch the news as often as I like but recently I saw you for the first time in weeks. All I can say is WAY TO GO!! You look amazing and thumbs up on opening your life to the public in order to help motivate others.

  2. Kandace Butler says:

    1/4 tsp Vinegar is the missing ingredient

  3. Robin says:

    Look at SyrupnBiscuits.com…they have a fabulous “Comeback” sauce recipe!!

  4. Mary Cattadoris says:

    Liz, there’s a chili sauce called Spiracha Hot Chili Sauce. I buy mine at Walmart. Just mix it with mayonnaise and I think you’ll be surprised. It tastes just like Zaxby’s chicken sauce. A chef gave me this little secret. 🙂

  5. L.J says:

    Add 1 teaspoon of paprika — I use a recipe that is very similar to yours and it calls for paprika (other difference was 1/2 tablespoon of garlic powder and 1/2 tablespoon of Worcestershire).

Leave a Reply

