Day 93-12 pounds and counting, grilled goodness, and corn salad recipe

Today’s weight: 156

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss goal: 145

Total weight lost: 28 pounds

I am down 28 pounds! I have roughly 12 pounds left until I hit my goal. When I stand on the scale and see 145 pounds I will have lost 39 pounds. What a happy day that will be! But for now I am taking it one day at a time, one pound at a time.

Hello and welcome to Monday, right? It amazes me how quickly the weekend flies by and how slow the week drags. That is why I make it a point to not sleep in on the weekend so I can soak up every ounce of free time possible. Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!

I did not post to the blog Friday. It was of course the anniversary of the 4-27 tornado outbreak. That day, one year ago, our state saw great loss of life and devastation. Friday I had the honor of covering a remembrance ceremony in Limestone County. It was held at the Bethel Church of Christ Cemetery on Highway 72. If you remember, the church and our Doppler radar were blown away. We have since replaced the radar and Bethel church members are rebuilding in a different location. I went by the new church after the ceremony. It is going to be a beautiful building. I have not seen the inside but the outside is very nice.

So how did you do this weekend with diet and exercise. Saturday Lisa and I hit the greenway at Indian Creek off Old Madison Pike. Wow! That thing goes on forever. We finally found the end of one of the trails, turned around and headed back to where we started. I used my MapMyRun app. It logged us at 5.59 miles in 1:36:09. Our pace started at a strong 16 minutes per mile but by the end we were logging 17:10.  Not bad at all. The walk was really good as the trail has a different terrain than the one we’ve been walking the past few weeks. We burned close to 400 calories. Today, my hips are sore but that is ok. Shows that we picked it up and put it down! Last night I walked 2 miles in 38:32. Good way to de-stress and burn calories.

Sunday afternoon I baked chicken thighs in the oven. I pulled them out and put them on the grill to finish cooking. They are so juicy and good. I also put smoked sausage on the grill too for breakfast. Nothing better than smoked sausage on the grill. It tastes 100% better than cooking it on the stove. I rubbed my chicken thighs down in some spices and put some low-calorie barbecue sauce on top. I put a little water in my pan when I bake them in the oven. The water helps lock in the moisture. Oh they would have been good straight out of the oven but anything on the grill takes the flavor up a notch.

I’m a huge fan of strawberries. I drove all the way over to the produce stand-off 72 yesterday only to find a big sign that said “SOLD OUT. BE BACK MONDAY.” The strawberries in the grocery store are good but there is something wonderful about home-grown produce. I may stop next door at the farmer’s market and see what they have on display. I could use some fresh veggies and fruits. I usually slice everything and put it in the freezer so the food stays fresh longer and it hangs around more than just a day or two.

Speaking of veggies, I love corn! I like on the cob, off the cob, mixed in with casseroles, salads…I’ll even eat it raw. When I was growing up my grandma would plant fields of corn. While she was shucking and cutting it off the cob I was eating straight out of the pan. Oh so good! Here is a recipe I think you will like. Corn is considered a starchy vegetable but if watch how much you eat you will be ok. Also, the carb is good for those working out a lot. Enjoy

Corn Salad with Tomatoes and Feta Cheese

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce
5 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1-1/2 cups fresh or frozen corn, thawed
1-1/2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup finely chopped cucumber
1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
2 tablespoons minced fresh basil or 2 teaspoons dried basil
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions:
1) To make dressing, whisk lime juice, salt, pepper sauce and 4 teaspoons oil together in a small bowl. Set aside.
2) Using a large skillet, saute corn in reserved 1 teaspoon oil until tender. Transfer corn to a salad bowl.
3) Add tomatoes, cucumbers, onion and basil to sauteed corn. Drizzle with dressing and toss to coat. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving or refrigerate until chilled. until tender. Transfer to a salad bowl; add the tomatoes, cucumber, onion and basil. Drizzle with dressing and toss to coat. Let stand for 10 minutes before serving or refrigerate until chilled. Sprinkle with cheese just before serving. Yield: 4 servings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 93-12 pounds and counting, grilled goodness, and corn salad recipe

  1. Becky says:

    Wow,28 pounds is awesome! Those last few are always stubborn! After my first week of trying again I’ve lost 3.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I am really proud of you, its not an easy road. You did it the hard way with diet and exercise and that is commendable. I havent seen you on the news in awhile, i am a single mom to a 4yr old and sometimes i dont make it until 10pm so i havent seen your progress only read about it. The last few pounds are the hardest and usually that means you have to up your game to do it but you are doing very well. jen

Leave a Reply

