Day 89-Sleep deprived, a suit with a background, and chocolate strawberries

Today’s weight: 158.5

Starting weight: 184

Goal weight: 145

What in the world is going on with me? This is the second straight night of no sleep. While everyone was sweetly slumbering I was up watching You Tube videos on how to install a ceramic tile back splash in the kitchen and how to paint a trey ceiling in the bedroom. I knew things were going south around 10:30 last night when I caught my second wind and spent time folding clothes instead of taking a shower and laying down. I am hoping I sleep tonight as my attitude is going to start circling the drain SOON! Sleep please come visit.

Today I am wearing a suit I have not pulled on in a long time. Actually the story behind this suit is kind of funny. I estimate the jacket and skirt are at least 10 years old but they still look relatively new. The skirt has been taken up and let out so many times that my grandmother finally told me she refused to let it out again. So it has been hanging in my closet, staring at me for a while now. This morning I pulled it on and it fits so well. Grandma you would be proud 🙂 The jacket is another story. When I was strictly a reporter I would keep this jacket in the car in case the President made a surprise visit to Huntsville I would at least have something nice to slip on over my dirty t-shirt. One summer I left this jacket hanging in my car. The sun faded the shoulders. The jacket is black with white trim and the shoulders are kind of light bronze color ha! My hope is that it won’t be very obvious on camera today. The last time I tried to wear this jacket I couldn’t button the one button in the front. I yanked and sucked in but it was no use. Dolly Parton says “you can’t fit 50 pounds of potatoes in a 10 pound sack.” 🙂 Today the jacket not only fits, it is not tight and I have plenty of room to button it.

Saturday Lisa and I will make our weekly exhausting walk. We had planned to meet up at Big Spring Park but she texted last night to say Panoply is this weekend so it looks like we will have to figure out a backup destination. We have been walking in the same place the past few weeks and thought we might shake things up a bit and go somewhere different. Suggestions?

Yesterday we ran a story about the benefits of dark chocolate. According to the story, dark chocolate can lower the risk of cardiovascular disease, lower blood glucose levels, lower levels of bad cholesterol, and raise levels of good cholesterol. The downside to that story was the word MODERATION but even a little chocolate is better than none. I found this interesting snack on Pinterest that might help you get your dark chocolate fix while including fruit with it. Remember to go easy on the chocolate. 🙂

Have a great day all!

Elizabeth

Fill an ice tray with melted chocolate, put in strawberries, refrigerate until chocolate hardens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 89-Sleep deprived, a suit with a background, and chocolate strawberries

  1. Lauren says:

    You can go to the greenway at Creekwood Park. It’s nice!

  2. Marie says:

    The greenway in Jones Valley is super nice

  3. Danna mead says:

    Elizabeth…..what meats do you consider no no foods?
    Danna

    • Very few of them if any! Meat is a great source of protein. I really like chicken and fish. Cooked without butter and seasoned with various spices they are just out of this world good!!! I would advise you check the calorie count on meats like hamburger and hot dog. While they may be high in protein and low in carbs they will get you on calories. Some ground beef has over 400 calories for 4 ounces! that is crazy! Keep it lean and keep it white. Your body can break down those meats much easier than the dark ones. Hope that helps!

  4. Jill Crosby says:

    Try Green Mountain -(aka Madison County Nature Park)- it has a good trail about a 1.5 mile — could do it twice for more distance. It is cooler because if the elevation.
    Turn off of Airport/Bailey Cove to get to it.

  5. Shannon says:

    The walkway in Hampton Cove is pretty too!!!

  6. Judy says:

    Try the Rails to Trails walk in Limestone County. Very beautiful, but may have to make it in a couple of tries. I think the entire trail is about 11 or 12 miles. It is on the historical register list.

Leave a Reply

