Day 83-It’s Friday!, feeling sluggish, and foods to give you energy

Today’s motivation:

 

 

 

It’s Friday and I am so glad the end of another work week is here. Although it is overcast and the forecast calls for a chance of rain Saturday I’m not going to let that put a damper on my weekend. Tomorrow morning Lisa and I have agreed to a 6 mile power walk. I’ll try out that new app I told you about…MapMyRun and I will time us to see how well we do. I need to do some painting around my house and I may spring clean. I might also sew up a dress and I’m not convinced I won’t pull out the grill and fix something fantastic!

I do a lot of reading on health issues whether it is in the form of magazines or articles on the internet. I research so I can pass helpful information along to you. One thing that I struggle with is a lack of energy–I feel sluggish sometimes. Since I’ve been dieting and I incorporated some exercise into my routine my energy level has increased somewhat. I have days though where I am so tired I want to lay my head on the desk and nap…even though I sleep like a rock at night.

I was reading an article recently that attributes a lack of energy to overexertion, overworking, stress, lack of exercise, or boredom. The article went on to say that allergies, asthma, anemia, infection, depression, eating disorders, grief and thyroid problems can also contribute to a lack of energy. So are there any foods you can eat to break up that sluggish feeling? Give these a try to see if they help boost your mood.

Hope you have a great weekend! Get outside and do something to get moving. Enjoy a good meal and do something for yourself if you can fit it in (I may get a pedicure…oh yea!)

Elizabeth

1. Whole grains. They’re high in fiber (which can help slow the breakdown and absorption of sugar) and complex carbohydrates. They also contain antioxidants similar to those in fruits and vegetables. Additionally, they reduce the risk of cancer, diabetes, and heart disease. Adults should eat 6 to 11 servings of whole grains per day. Examples include whole grain breads, pastas, and rice.

2. Oatmeal. According to the American Dietetic Association, oat products are some of the best sources of soluble fiber. You can combine oatmeal with raisins, honey, and yogurt for extra flavor and energy.

3. Bananas. This fruit is packed with potassium, which helps your muscles contract. One per day prevents stiffness that comes from sitting at a desk.

4. Orange Juice. This drink is ideal for the morning and is extremely high in vitamin C, which helps you get the most iron out of other foods.

5. Pasta. When athletes “carbo-load” before a game, they usually eat a big plate of spaghetti. It’s extremely high in complex carbohydrates and low in calories, fat, and sodium.

6. Salmon. This fish is high in protein, and its high concentration of omega-3 fats and B vitamins can boost your cardiovascular health.

7. Beans. A small, powerful vegetable packed with protein, fiber, vitamins, and minerals, beans can be used in creative ways. Add them to soups, burritos, pastas, and dip spreads. In 2005 the Department of Agriculture recommended that Americans eat three cups of beans per week.

8. Dried fruit. These high-energy, low-fat snacks are easy to pack and almost never go bad. Try a medley of apricots, figs, and raisins. However, be aware that some commercially packaged dried fruits contain sulfur dioxide, which has been shown to increase your risk of asthma.

9. Almonds. Ounce-for-ounce, this is the most nutrient-dense nut. Research has shown that adding two ounces of almonds to your daily diet increases your intake of vitamin-E and magnesium.

10. Yogurt. Quick, easy, and delicious, yogurt is available in a variety flavors. One cup of low-fat yogurt contains almost 13 grams of protein and 17 grams of carbohydrates-just what you need for great energy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

