Day 75-We are all in this together, cake vs rice cake, and healthy cookies

Today’s weight: 161.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 22.5 pounds

 

My weight seems to be holding steady. I’m telling you the last 15 pounds are going to be tough to get off. I’m up for the challenge! Are you?

 

One of the most interesting comments I often hear since starting “No Excuses” is “it is so good to see you are like the rest of us.” One day I asked a lady what she meant by that and she said “you know, you are on the news. You are a celebrity.” I nearly fell out in the grocery store aisle laughing. I am by no means a celebrity…I am ME. Being a journalist is what I do. It doesn’t define who I am. I have always tried to stay true to myself, I have never thought of myself above anyone and I will never forget where I came from and the people who helped me get to this point in my life. We all have a common bond-no matter what you decide to do in life and no one is immune from problems (though sometimes it seems life falls in place so easily for some and is completely out of kilter for others). So remember when you see me out with sweat beading off my forehead, huffing and puffing for air, I’m just like you–working, surviving, making a living, trying to drop weight, and making sure the drama is turned off! 😉

Yesterday we celebrated Mark Thornhill’s birthday in the newsroom with a gorgeous cake. Then someone brought in doughnuts and a bag of caramel covered popcorn. I’m sure the same thing happens at your workplace but fighting off the urge to use both hands to shove a slice of cake or doughnut in your mouth can be difficult. Luckily that is not a “go to” food for me so the temptation doesn’t bother me. When something comes in that does tempt my taste buds, I’ve found that if I keep a box of whole wheat crackers or chocolate rice cakes at my desk I am satisfied and I don’t have to battle that guilty feeling. Give it a try! I guarantee you won’t miss the empty calories from all those sweets-or the headache and sleepy feeling from eating it.

Normally I would not encourage this but the weekend is almost here and the weather is supposed to be gorgeous! Give yourself a meal break. That helped me move past my food boredom. Don’t stuff yourself to death but eat a meal that you really want, eat it in moderation and move on. I felt like I was standing on the edge of a cliff with this diet and had I not have taken a few days off–enjoyed some good food– I might have given up completely. No one said losing weight was going to be easy but like mom says-we all need a break!

If you have plans for the weekend be sure to pack some low-calorie snacks. You don’t want to get on the river or stuck in a car for hours with nothing to munch on. Be careful what snacks you pick as some can be really fattening. I’ve got a recipe that will help you get through the tough moments and help curb your sweet tooth. This is a “good for you” cookie but keep in mind that it does have calories–about 47 calories to be exact-that’s per cookie 🙂

Enjoy!

Have a great day all!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 3 bananas
  • 2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Dash of cinnamon (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Mash bananas in a large bowl, then stir in remaining ingredients. Let batter stand for approximately 20 minutes, then drop by teaspoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Sprinkle with cinnamon if desired. Bake 10-12 minutes.

Freezing Directions:

Cool completely, then place cookies in a freezer bag. Seal, label, and freeze.

Nutritional Information:

47 calories; 7.5 g carbs; 1.6 g fat; 1.5 g protein; 1.3 g fiber; 1 WW PointsPlus

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 75-We are all in this together, cake vs rice cake, and healthy cookies

  1. Marie says:

    For the cookies, are those the quick-cook old fashioned oats or the regular old fashioned oats? Thanks!

  2. Carolyn Cole says:

    Those look like chocolate oatmeal cookies that i make all the time but i don’t put banana’s or applesauce in them. I will have to try it.

Leave a Reply

