Day 68-Diet depression, foul smelling mystery food, and Poblano peppers

Today’s weight: 162.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 21.5 pounds

Wednesday night exercise: 35 minutes of brisk walking

The one thing I promised I would do on this blog is be honest. Today, I’m spilling my guts.  The last few days I have been fighting with myself over diet and exercise. I could not be more tired of watching what I eat and working out. I have really had to push myself lately and if it wasn’t for this blog and my weekly series piece, I’m not sure how dedicated I would be to losing weight. I am making “No Excuses” when I say–I have burnout! I think we all fall victim to it at some point. I feel like my life is guided by my calorie app. My head seems always buried in my phone logging foods I don’t even really want to eat. If I skip exercise then I feel guilty about it. It is not uncommon to get frustrated or burned out on diet and workout. It is very difficult to get motivated some days. I feel like I have this very short piece of rope and a very large mountain to climb. When you are young and thin you never think about facing weight gain when you get older. Then one day life hits you, you look down at the scale, and there it is–the truth in big bold digital numbers. I don’t want my frustration to throw you off your game plan but I can’t honestly blog today without saying what is on my mind. Sure I will move past it but I want you to know you are not alone. I too face days where it is difficult to shovel one more bite of low-calorie food in my mouth. I have food cravings just like everyone else. And water? Nope I have no desire to drink 8 glasses a day. I swallow down as much as I can but I would replace it in a heartbeat with a fizzy soda. Then I think I don’t want to gain back those 21 pounds. I know it is just a phase I’m going through and it will wear off but today, right now, it feels never-ending.

I’ve attached an article to today’s blog that will hopefully help us all get motivated again. Give it a read. I think you will pull something from it.

How to Move Past Burnout and Stick to Your Exercise Plan

http://www.americanhealthandbeauty.com/articles/?article=3668

Remember a week or so ago I blogged about a mystery food I was going to try. I never could find the food here so I ordered it off the internet. I don’t know if it was the particular brand or my weak stomach but oh my goodness it was nasty! I wanted to try these tofu type noodles (no carbs, no calories, no guilt. no wonder! they sent my gag reflexes into overtime). The noodles come packaged in some kind of fishy smelling water. You open the bag, wash the noodles and cook them. Allegedly when you put your spaghetti sauce on top it seeps into the noodles and gives them an authentic taste–not so much. I managed to take one bite before sending the bag to the trash can. Maybe I should have read the reviews. Perhaps you know of a brand that tastes just like good old-fashioned starchy noodles. If so, please share 🙂

I love peppers! I found out through Dr. Howard they are high in  potassium and can help with leg cramps. I’ve got a delicious recipe to share with you. It is high in fiber and good on calories. Hope you enjoy!

Have a great day everyone!

Elizabeth

 

 

 

Stuffed Poblano Peppers

Serves 4

What You Need
4 poblano peppers
1 cup uncooked brown rice (or 4 cups of any cooked grain)
1 1/2 cups salsa
1 15 oz. can of black beans
1 1/2 cups frozen or canned corn kernels
3 green onions (optional)
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
Cayenne to taste
Salt and freshly ground pepper
Shredded cheese (we used a Mexican blend)
Chopped cilantro for serving (optional)

What To Do

1  Combine 1 cup uncooked rice with 2 cups water. Bring to a boil, then simmer according to package instructions. (Or, prepare the rice or grain ahead of time.)

2  While the rice cooks, prepare the peppers: slice them in half and remove the seeds and ribs. Make sure to wear gloves!  I learned this the hard way (don’t ask).

3  Place the peppers in a baking dish skin side up. Broil about 7 minutes, then flip the peppers and broil 7 minutes more.

4  Chop the 3 green onions (if using), and drain and rinse the black beans.

5  In a large microwave safe bowl, combine: beans, onions, 1 1/2 cups salsa, 1 1/2 cups corn, a bit of the shredded cheese, 1 teaspoon cumin, 1 teaspoon chili powder, a couple dashes of cayenne (if you like it spicy!). Season with salt and pepper to taste. When the rice is finished, combine with the filling.
Note: Remember that quantities and ingredients are all to taste, so feel free to adjust as needed!

6  Heat the filling a few minutes in the microwave (or on the stove) until warm, depending on the heat of the rice.

7  Place the pepper halves skin side down in a baking dish, and spoon the filing into each half. Top with shredded cheese and broil until the cheese is melted, for about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes.

If desired, garnish with chopped cilantro and serve with sour cream.

Alternative oven method: Preheat the oven to 400°F. Follow Steps 2, 4 and 5 above to prepare the peppers and filling. Then bake until the peppers are tender and browned, around 25 to 30 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 68-Diet depression, foul smelling mystery food, and Poblano peppers

  1. ksmith35801 says:

    I’ve hit similar weight-loss lows. They are not fun. I’m doing Scale Back AL and just had one. Then, a few days ago, it was gone. This week, I’ve been on track with my exercise and eating and I’ve lost two pounds. Only 10-15 more to go! It’s an interesting struggle. If you want some additional healthy recipe ideas, I have some on my blog: The Flaming Pot Holder. I have a few recipes that are not so healthy, for occasional splurges. I also write about my battle with food sensitivities in my blog.
    I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your progress. You are doing great, Elizabeth!!

  2. K Jones says:

    Elizabeth, have you ever heard of the “Health at Any Size” movement? You don’t HAVE to diet to be healthy. Besides, you are not obese to begin with! It’s amazing that people can accept that we come in different heights, but not that we all come in different body types and sizes. Dieting itself has a 95% (or more) failure rate. Eating well does not mean depriving yourself. Diets promote eating disorders. I, too, used to check the scale to determine what kind of day I was going to have. What a waste! I encourage you to look up research on dieting, maybe even do a story on it, and also on the Health at Any Size Movement. There is research out there that is not funded by the diet industry that shows that a person’s weight is not an indicator of their health. When you focus on movement, doing activities that you love and eating to nourish your body instead of reaching a certain “number” on a scale- you will feel a sense of freedom and your body will thank you for loving it, rather than hating it. I wish you all the best!

    • Thank you for the information. I’m just having a frustrating week. It has more to do with other things than my diet. I’ll move past it hopefully sooner than later.

      I don’t mind being on a diet and working out most days but this week is just killing me. It is not something I can give up and that makes it tough too. Maybe I need a day or 2 off from it, regroup and come back with batteries charged.

      Hope you have a great day!
      Elizabeth

  3. Debbie Logan says:

    Elizabeth, those must be the noodles that I read about. Thanks so much for sharing what you found out about them. I had the name put away in my diet folder to try and find sometime but now just may not bother. 😉 Figures something with that many perks would taste nasty. Keep the faith you will get past this burnout and reach your goal. I appreciate your candor. Debbie L

  4. Kris K says:

    I’ts always darkest before the dawn…..

    Or something like that.

    I’d say your body’s fighting back, wanting all the things it’s use to getting: Soda’s / sugar, crunchy snack mixes and chips, instant energy in the form of carbs.

    Stay strong. YOU are stronger then your body’s desires. Make it bend to your will, not your will to it. You CAN do it!!!!

  5. Carolyn Durham says:

    My friend ordered the ‘fishy noodles’ and we tried them together…never, ever have I had anything so nasty. Not only the smell, the taste, and the texture!! All bad! Really bad! We could not eat it and threw it all in the trash. Another case of ‘if it sounds too good to be true…’. Hang in there Elizabeth. We are fighting the same battle and having the same discouragements, but, with each pound lost, the same victories!!! We all know weightloss is a marathon, not a sprint. Although when I was much younger, it was a sprint. The pounds just fell off. It does get discouraging at times, but don’t give up!

    • Carolyn-I had to giggle at your comment about the noodles. I totally agree! They are so nasty and fishy smelling. I’d rather just eat whole wheat noodles and count the calories ha!

      Thank you for understanding that not every day is a diamond. Hope you do well on your weight loss journey!

  6. Kim Stanley says:

    I think everyone needs a break every now and then when dieting. Just remember if you have a bad meal, get right back on plan with the next meal. I am doing Weight Watchers which fits my lifestyle very well. I love having the extra points to use weekly. I have learnt to save them to after weigh in and then treat myself to a take out dinner from somewhere like KFC. That keeps me motivated for the next week and gives me something to look forward to. I didn’t really cheat because I used my extra points and I was getting rewarded. Stay strong and the pounds will fall off.

  7. Tracie McGinley says:

    If you rinse them really well, parboil for a couple of minutes, drain and then dry in a skillet, it makes them edible! I make a mock Alfredo sauce with laughing cow wedges, freshly grated Parmesan, light margarine and a splash of half and half. Finish off with some cracked pepper… Not too bad!

    • Traci-the sauce portion of the Alfredo sounds heavenly. I love laughing cow products and keep them in my fridge at all times! They are my go to snack. Have you tried the strawberry cream cheese? to die for 🙂

  8. Denise says:

    Hi. I was wondering if you have ever tried sassy water? If is a nice break from plain water and has some benefits too.

  9. Brittany says:

    The weather this weekend should be great for a hike up the mountain. Nothing beats the feeling of making it to the top. Its a good to have “feel good” workouts where there is a reward at the end like an amazing view, sun shine and a nice breeze. I will email you some pics. Stay positive, this shall pass!

Leave a Reply

