Day 67-Why tape measures are evil, good carbs, and plateau busting tips

Today’s weight: 162.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 21.5 pounds

Weight loss goal: 145

 

Grandma says when you get to a certain age you can’t be embarrassed anymore. I don’t think she was referring to posting your weight and measurements on the internet for all to see. ha! What I am about to do next is going to sting more than when our marketing department posted my starting weight in a promo when “No Excuses” first launched. I promised I would get measured and post those measurements last week (I’ve just now worked up the courage to do so ha!). You would think I would be past the humiliation stage as you have seen and read about all of my dirty diet secrets but some things are tough to be open about. But alas, measurements are all part of being honest with myself and with you. 

I should have measured before I started dieting but I didn’t think about it. However, I was measured last year and it is probably close to what I was a few months ago. When I find the sheet that has those measurements written on them, I will post to see how much difference in then and today. Here it is…I suggest you sit down for this one as my measurements may make your eyes bleed! 🙂

Chest: 35″

Waist: 32″

Left arm: 11″

Right arm: 10″

Neck: 14″

Left leg: 18″

Right leg: 19″

Hips: 41 1/2″

Yesterday I met with my dietician and explained to her that I am hungry through the day and waking up at night with my stomach growling. She suggested, since I have taken on a rather rigorous exercise routine, that I change-up my diet…remain on the same calorie plan but add in “good carbs” that will keep me feeling fuller longer. That list includes whole wheat, whole oats, whole grain, brown rice, and beans. She also suggested eating a snack before and after any kind of workout. Something like an apple with peanut butter or 2% cheese on whole grain crackers with a bottle of water. That will give me a snack before bedtime that should prevent me from waking up with my stomach on fire from hunger. And while a high protein diet has helped me drop pounds faster it does not contain the carbs to keep your body going. That is why the dietician suggested I add in some good carbs. I have been going without them since I started dieting and that was fine while I was in school and didn’t have time for exercise. Now that I am doing something physical at least 30 minutes a day I need some different types of food to keep me from melting down when my sugar drops.

We all hit a plateau when trying to lose weight especially if you have followed the exact same diet and exercise program for a while. It is possible to overcome a weight loss plateau. Here are some tips that were shared with me.

1. Change up what you eat. If you eat the same thing everyday make some food adjustments. If fish is your go-to meat for dinner, swap it for baked or grilled chicken.

2. Look at what you are eating and see if you can cut 22 calories from your menu daily. Don’t fall below 1200 calories!!! Just make some adjustments that will help shake up your body’s metabolism.

3. Make changes to what you drink. Switch whole milk to low-fat or skim. Put away the sodas and diet sodas in exchange for water or zero calorie sports drinks. Make sure you drink plenty of water through the day (this one is tough for me). Dietician’s and trainers say water not only flushes your body and keeps you hydrated but it can help fight hunger.

4. Alter your exercise. If you lift weights one day, run the next. Try swimming, bike riding or playing sports. This will help speed up your metabolism.

It’s a good idea to measure at least once a month. If the scale is not showing weight loss, your tape measure could. Remember muscle weighs more than fat.

Let me say thank you for all of your supportive emails and comments. Some of you have decided to get fit and healthy and I am very proud of you! Others of you were already on board before I ever started my diet program. I’m proud of you too! Making even just a few adjustments to your diet will help. Add in at least 3 minutes of exercise and you are on your way to a lighter and happier YOU!

Have a great day everyone!

Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 67-Why tape measures are evil, good carbs, and plateau busting tips

  1. Jason Miller says:

    This is a great post. Thanks, Elizabeth. I’ve been struggling with my own weight loss program lately. I started in May of 2011 when I hit a high of 291 lbs. Today I’m down to 234, but I’ve hit a plateau since about December. I’m looking for ways to break it. I’ve been doing Tae Kwon Do and weights for my exercise program, but almost no exercise “shocks” my system enough right now. I need to get back into the swimming.

    Your dietician is correct about eating a snack before working out. That has become critical. If I have a sugar crash before a meal, it is guaranteed I will overeat. Sounds like I’m not alone.

    I haven’t thought about measuring, despite the fact that my pounds are the same. I will look into that one. Keep up the great work. It’s a journey… and the reward is the journey!

  2. Debbie Logan says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your weight loss journey with us. I live in Moore County Tennessee and follow Channel 48 and you on Facebook. You mentioned that you revealed your blood work results on a news segment but I don’t get that channel where I live and would appreciate if you would post those results on this blog as well. I found your starting bloodwork on Google but can’t find this most recent information. I am interested to see how your numbers have changed. You have inspired me to want to try to get on track with trying to improve myself.
    Thanks again, Debbie L

    • Debbie-Thank you for following my blog! The story should be posted to our website but just in case it is not…I’ll break down my blood work for you.

      First blood work panel:
      Total Cholesterol: 223
      Triglycerides: 216
      Blood sugar: 107 (pre-diabetes range)

      Second panel of blood work:
      Cholesterol: 184 (down 39 points)
      Triglycerides: 116 (down 100 points)
      Blood sugar: 88 (normal range)

      My good cholesterol is still too low. I have 6 months to get that back up or I may have to go on medication. All in all, very happy with the results!!

      I have had to change my diet up…still logging 1500 calories but I am now adding a carb back in to give me energy to make it through the day and any workouts. Hopefully this will help as I’ve been somewhat sick trying to get my sugar to rise.

      Thanks again for your support! Wish you the best in your weight loss journey 🙂
      Elizabeth

      • Debbie Logan says:

        Thanks so much for sharing your numbers! WOW, is all I can say about how much your bloodwork has improved! I was able to build my good cholesterol numbers by adding daily a handful of almonds, pecans or walnuts to my diet and spinach helps, too. Hope you can get that number up so that you won’t have to go on a med. Thanks for all your encouragement!
        Debbie L

      • Debbie-I love spinach and try to eat it a couple of days a week. I’m hoping that will help me too. The last thing I want to do is take medication!

        Hope you have a great day!
        Elizabeth

  3. Jenn says:

    When my husband and I started to get our numbers down we also needed to raise our good cholesterol. Working out daily and fish oil really helped. We both got ours up in 6 months:). I love reading your blogs. You are doing great!

    • Jenn-I haven’t thought about fish oil. That is supposed to be really good for you. I may have to try that and see if it helps. I’d rather take fish oil than prescription medication.

      Thank you for the tip-and the kind words 🙂
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

