Day 66-Melt down at the grocery store, French Toast Eggs, and giveaways

Weight: 163

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 21 pounds

Goal weight: 145

This morning I am meeting with dietician Linda Steakley. I am hoping she can help with my food intake and daily calories. Before I started working out, 1500 calories worked fine. I felt full and didn’t wake up hungry during the night. Now, 1500 calories isn’t getting me very far. My fear is if I add more calories in my diet I will start to gain weight which defeats the purpose of everything I am doing, right? So we will see what she says and hopefully I will have a better grip on what to do.

Never go walk or run on an empty stomach. After work, I strapped on my running shoes and hit the stairs at Big Spring Park. I knew I was hungry before I left the station but I thought I would be ok. I got up the stairs and thought I was going to pass out. On my way down, my knees were weak and I thought I might fall face first down the stairs and into the water but I went on and walked the entire length of the park. When I got back to my vehicle I was white. I knew my sugar was in the gutter and if I didn’t get food soon my stomach was going to start gnawing on my backbone (yes I ate breakfast and lunch).

I got to the grocery store and I know the people shopping thought I needed a time out. I was in tears I was so hungry. I wheeled my buggy through the store skipping all the isles that might cause me to regret going to the grocery store in the first place. I decided on tacos for dinner. So I picked up very lean meat, tomato, onion, fat-free sour cream (I’ve gotten used to the flavor) cheese and fruit. I also grabbed a box of low-fat granola bars. When I got to the vehicle I ripped open the box and ate one. I started to feel a little better but I knew my pain was far from over. When I got home I made a fruit salad to eat while I was waiting on my tacos to cook. Once my tacos were ready I ate like a mad woman! After I finished dinner I still felt bad. I went to bed, watched a little television, and fell asleep. I was so strung out from my sugar dropping I couldn’t function. Note to self: make sure you pack a granola bar and peanut butter to eat before doing anything physical.

Tonight is boot camp. I’ve been working really hard to do push ups on the ground. My upper body just isn’t strong enough to support all my weight. ha! But that is an obstacle I’ve got to overcome.

Check out this recipe for French Toast Eggs (thanks Dawn!). It is gluten, wheat and lactose free! Enjoy!

(Serves 1)

4 egg whites
1 whole egg
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
Cooking spray, butter flavor
Sweetener

1. Mix all ingredients together, then pour into a pan. You can either scramble or make it into a “pancake” (cook one side in full then flip it over and cook other side) until fully cooked.

2. Top with sweetener and/or zero calorie maple syrup, and serve.

Nutrition Facts: 153 calories, 21 g protein, 2 g carbs, 5 g fat

***Our marketing department ask me to pass this along to all my fitness fans.*** 

We have a lot of great giveaways for WAFF 48 Weather Radio Wednesdays this week. The one that really stands out is the “Walk with Walgreens” kit. It includes…

-walking journal

-pedometer

-drawstring bag

Earn coupons with every step.  

WAFF 48 Weather Radio Wednesdays

This Wednesday, April 4th

6:30am-6:30pm

Walgreens-11399 S. Memorial Pkwy

(***near Mountain Gap Rd intersection)

http://www.waff.com/story/17239465/waff-48-weather-radio-wednesday

Have a great day everyone!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 66-Melt down at the grocery store, French Toast Eggs, and giveaways

  1. Darlene says:

    You learn as you go Elizabeth….let us know what you find out from your nutritionist today.
    Perhaps with a sugar problem, you should always carry a low fat protein bar or something
    you can open and eat in a fanny pack. Just trying to think of something that will help you
    stay stable……………….a piece of fruit or something…
    If you get wobbly knees again, sit down for a minute and have your snack. I took a dive on
    steps once because my legs turned to butter…………..melted at that…………
    Take care of yourself,

  2. Brittany says:

    You can’t workout on an empty stomach or a full one. I have to eat supper, let it settle then go for my run. Fleet feet has the gel packets for energy, its like mushy jello. Its gives you energy without having food on your stomach that can work its way out during your workout. (No one likes to throw up or pass out). Finding that balance is difficult.

  3. Wanda Dicus says:

    Elizabeth, I don’t know what brand of fat-free sour cream you are eating, but I find Publix store brand fat-free sour cream to be the best I’ve had. It is much better than the name brands I’ve tried.

Leave a Reply

