Day 65-Time with family, slow weight loss, and “No Excuses” Monday

Today’s weight: 163

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 21 pounds

Target weight: 145

Hello all! Sorry for not posting a blog yesterday. To be honest I took a break from dieting and exercise to visit my family at church in Hartselle last night. My niece and nephews are headed to Lads 2 Leaders convention in Atlanta this weekend. It was a nice day spent with them for sure. 🙂 I am very glad my grandmother was able to come too. She sure loves those sweet great grand babies and enjoys every second she is able to spend with them. Hope your Sunday was awesome as well.

Saturday I mentioned walking 3.5 miles. It was a really good solid walk. I felt sweaty and tired by the time it was over. I skipped all forms of exercise yesterday but I plan to walk or go to Big Spring Park tonight to run stairs. It is supposed to rain some this week so I want to make sure I can enjoy the outdoors as much as possible.

I am down 21 pounds!!! I admit, the weight loss has become quiet difficult. I believe part of it has to do with exercise–where I am losing inches rather than weight. The other part may have to do with my calories. I have an appointment tomorrow with my dietician. I hope she can help me move past some issues I am having like food burnout, hunger and how to adjust my calories to fit my exercise routine. I am certain I am not eating enough food to sustain me which is causing my excessive hunger. I eat 3 square meals with snacks but I don’t let my calorie count climb above 1500. That is likely why I am waking up in the middle of the night with a hungry stomach. So hopefully tomorrow she can give me some good advice.

So if you saw my “No Excuses” report this morning you know about my latest blood work panel. If you missed it, I won’t spoil it for you 🙂 Be sure to tune in during WAFF-48 News Now at 4 pm to find out if nearly 8 weeks of dieting and losing 21 pounds has helped lower my blood sugar and cholesterol.

This blog is going to be short because I am running behind at work today. I will have much more for you tomorrow.

Have a great Monday!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 65-Time with family, slow weight loss, and “No Excuses” Monday

  1. You have done AWSOME, Elizabeth! Hang in there! I am so proud of you for sharing this with the viewing public. I am not sure I would be able to for fear of failure. With a busy life and a human condition, changing a lifestyle takes a lot of courage and a lot of tenacity. You will go far with that. Trust me, your failures (diet breaks) as just as much of encouragement as you overall success. Your humanity is what makes it real to the rest of us :).

    • Tracy-thank you for the sweet post. I have found this is one of the most difficult stories ever. It is tough to lose weight and share your “down” days with people but I know we all have them. The positive feedback from good people like yourself is what keeps me going 🙂

      Best to you!
      Elizabeth

  2. YES! Do keep going and DO share your down days The “setbacks” of “celebrities” are the most wonderful encouragements the regular people have. Oh how we fall down and some of us stay fallen. We decide it is not important until “shorts” season. I have to say that in the winter, when I can cover all, at my age (nearly 52) I don’t give two shakes about my appearance. Come spring with no sleeves and shorts, well….inferiority sets in. When someone like you gets real with us, we don’t feel so small. A few years ago I did low carb ala Adkins. I lost a buttload of weight. Come holiday season I let go of lifestyle and ate ad lib. Gained it all back and then some. What an isolation experience. I withdrew from support and withdrew from reality :). That happens to a lot of us. People like you give hope and show us regular people that we all have our weaknesses. I appreciate your sharing.

    • Tracy-thank you for your comment. I’m finding myself struggling this week with keeping a good positive attitude. I’d love to kick the diet to the curb and eat something that tastes good. I’m hanging on and hopefully will pass over the hump soon.

      Good luck on your weight loss journey!
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

