Day 61-Conquering weight loss, why slim is in, and fitting into smaller clothes

In high school our cheerleaders had a cheer they would use during pep rallies “You’ve got to want it to win it.” How true that is, not just on the football field, but also in life. If you want something bad enough you have to fight for it. The same mantra applies to weight loss. If you are overweight and feel helpless rest assured you are not alone. Many of us fight weight daily and it’s not just people in their 30’s and older. These days I see young children that are pitifully obese. That really bothers me.

Growing up I was like a tall sprig of grass. Skinny, active, always into something. Times have changed and kids have less activity outdoors than when I was younger. My parents have about 22 acres of land. Chris (by brother) and I had all the room in the world to roam and we had all kinds of animals to play with. The road we lived on, then, hardly had a car pass by (now it’s like the speedway at Daytona). We could ride our bikes everywhere and never worry about anything (except for the creepy yellow van man who I was terrified of). We had an Atari but mom was pretty strict about how much time we spent in front of it. Then, I didn’t really appreciate that quality. Today I know she was doing it to keep us moving and active. I’ve found as an adult I lack the energy I had when I was a kid.  Today I make a lot of excuses for not wanting to exercise or even go for a walk. I’ve had to completely change my way of thinking about diet and exercise. Now I am much more conscious of the foods I eat and the activity I am involved in. Saturday morning I’m meeting up with my buddy Lisa for a long walk. Tonight, I am going to try to make it back to boot camp. Today my thighs are killing me but I know if I keep up the hard work I will eventually move past the stiffness and pain. I wasn’t kidding when I said I want to run in Liz Hurley’s Ribbon Run. I’ve already started to make very small strides toward that goal. I’ve asked Lisa and a few other girlfriends to join me. So far the response has been positive. 🙂

It is very important that you stretch your muscles before and after exercise. I was reading an article that explained why. I am attaching the link to the story so you can find out what you need to do to help prevent shin splints and soreness. http://www.livestrong.com/article/840-need-stretching-before-after-strenuous/

My mom cooked all of our meals growing up. We didn’t know what a restaurant was until we got older ha! She always prepared 3 healthy meals a day. She did not allow us to drink sodas or eat candy (but when my grandparent’s on my dad’s side kept us we could have all we wanted ha! if Chris hadn’t wigged out on caffeine they probably would never have known our dirty little secret. ha!) Oh how I miss those days! Sometimes I wish I could go back and do it all over again. When you are young you want to be treated like a grown up, when you are grown up you want to be young again.

The past 2 days I have not reached my calorie goal. I don’t know what the issue is. I eat a huge breakfast. I pack my lunch and I eat dinner. I am eating less than 1, 000 calories a day and that is not good. I think I’m suffering with a little food burn out and that might be part of my problem. My weight hasn’t moved either and it may be that I’m exercising now and eating a lot less than what is recommended. I’ve got to sit down and see where I am suddenly gaining calories. Once I get that worked out hopefully my weight loss will pick up again. I really want out of the 160’s!!!

Today I am wearing a dress that I haven’t been able to wiggle into in a few years. I still need 5 pounds off through the rear end for it to really fit well. I’m not completely crazy about this outfit because I think the skirt is a little too short. I’ve got long legs so it can be difficult to find skirts that are long enough. I like the hem line to hit right at the half way point on my knee cap. That way when I sit down it doesn’t look like I’m wearing a mini-skirt made for a Barbie doll. I may have to let the hem out. I think that might help some.

I’m tired of wearing the color black. I seem to wear it everyday. I was looking through my closet and noticed I have very few colorful jackets and suits. I think I will go shopping for some color soon. I have to be careful what colors I chose as some look better on tv than others. Blue is my favorite by far but sometimes I can blend into the background if I’m not careful. So I think a shopping trip is in my very near future.

I get my test results back from my blood work today. I’m anxious to know if my cholesterol and sugar are back under control.

Hope you all have a great day!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 61-Conquering weight loss, why slim is in, and fitting into smaller clothes

  1. You are doing great!!! I am on a weight loss journey as well. I have been keeping a blog since July 2011. My goal was to lose 80 pounds. I have lost 46 so far. It is not easy, but I have found that blogging helps. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. 🙂 I sent you a link to my blog if you want to check it out. 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Saw the 4pm news yesterday an girl…..you look amazing! I literally said “whoa” out loud when I saw you. Keep up the good work! An thanks for making your journey public. Your inspiring a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

