Day 59-Boot camp or bust, setting a new goal, and frozen yogurt

A lot can be accomplished in a short amount of time. In 8 weeks I’ve gone from a heafty 184 pounds to a slimmed down 164.5 pounds. I’ve lost 20 1/2 pounds by simply logging calories, changing bad eating habits, doing away with soda and making sure I weigh daily. When I look back on the pictures *before I started my diet, it is like looking at someone I don’t recognize. I was fat. I mean I was really fat. I was overweight and I had no self esteem. I don’t know how I let myself get in that shape. I knew I was gaining but I didn’t seem to care enough to stop it. I felt like if I didn’t care nobody else did either. That is the wrong attitude to have. I know that now and I’m doing my best to dust away the negative voices in my head and focus only on the positive. I find that I am a much happier confident person now that I look and feel better.

Like so many of you when I started this weight loss journey I was lost. I had no idea where to begin. I didn’t know a good carb from a bad carb. I didn’t understand portion sizes. I was lost when it came to calories vs fats. I felt overwhelmed by the number of diet plans on the market. I never thought about sodium causing my feet and hands to swell so bad they looked webbed together. Today, I have a solid grip on what I am doing. Sure, I’ve had a few off days along the way but I have no guilty feelings about it whatsoever. I get back on track and tell myself it will be ok. And you know what, it usually is. 🙂

Tonight I am planning on going to boot camp. I have a friend who teaches boot camp at the downtown YMCA. I am somewhat skeptical about my skill level as I have not fully exercised since that trip to the gym few weeks ago to shoot my “No Excuses” report. I was sore for a week and hurt so bad I couldn’t hardly bend over to tie my shoes. I am confident I will feel the burn tonight but I’m also looking forward to doing something physical. I’m rarely ever intimidated by a challenge and I enjoy things that test my limits (as long as it has nothing to do with heights). I also trust this person as she has yet to let me down on weight loss and fitness advice. I will blog tomorrow and let you know how it goes.

I’ve set a goal for myself. I want to run in the Liz Hurley Ribbon Run this year. That’s right—run, not walk. I may humiliate myself. I may fall on my face in a puddle of sweat. I may whine about the intense pain and shin splints but I am determined to do this-even if I have to crawl on my belly to the finish line (I’m not above it). Not only is it a great cause for my dear friend Liz but it is something that will motivate me to keep on trucking. It is time to get off the couch and get moving. I will start training soon and I want to share the tips I learn with you. How many of you are willing to set this as your goal?

When I started “No Excuses” I logged my food into my “Lose It” app and I still do. But I also downloaded the My Fitness Pal app today. I like it just as well. It has a few more features and it seems to have more food choices. I like the layout of that app and I think it is slightly more user friendly. Encourage your friends to download one of the free smart phone apps so you can encourage each other. Having someone to share the up’s and down’s with will keep you focused more than trying to do it all yourself.

Warmer weather makes me want to reach for the chocolate ice cream and Funyun Rings 😉 But I don’t want to mess up my healthy eating plan. If you love yogurt and you want a cool treat when you get home from work or after a good walk or workout, try frozen yogurt bites. All you have to do is drop yogurt by the spoonful onto wax paper and freeze. You can bag them up and much on them for a sweet treat.

Hope this helps keep you motivated. Set a goal for yourself, work toward what you want and go for it! You have nothing stopping you but yourself.

Good day all!

Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 59-Boot camp or bust, setting a new goal, and frozen yogurt

  1. Farrah says:

    You can so do bootcamp and run the Liz Hurley Ribbon Run! If I can run (I use that term very loosely! ha) a half marathon, you can run a 5k! Be sure to go somewhere (I go to Fleet Feet) to get fit for running shoes. I always got shin splints when I tried to run. After letting them tell me what kind of shoes I needed, no more shin splints! I still do a run/walk combo. My goal for this years Ribbon Run is to run the whole time!

    I look forward to hearing about boot camp! I would love to do boot camp, but doesn’t fit into our schedule. Husband works long hours and I have 2 little kids, but we go to the Hogan YMCA almost everyday! 🙂

  2. Melisa says:

    Hi Elizabeth! I’ve been following your blog, and I’m also “on the wagon”! I’m 5’1″ and I started at 190.6 lbs on Jan. 24th. I’m on day 62 -week 10 and I’ve lost 16.8 lbs! I’ve been journaling daily, cut all foods that are not a “whole food” (like packaged items, fastfood, soda) I’m having fresh fruits, eggs, whole grains, fish, chicken, veggies, yogurt, and a minimum of 6 bottles of water a day. I’m making sure that I get plenty of sleep (8 hours) at night. I’m doing a 30 minute cardio course 6 days a week that is 2 minutes easy pace and 2 minutes hard core plus stretching, weight lifting and doing resistance (squats, lunges, planks, etc.) I’m doing those 4 days a week at a minimum. On the weekdays my calories have been just at 1200 a day, and on the weekends I relax a little and keep them between 15-1700. I’m very proud of myself for this life style change, however, I keep finding myself stressed and upset that my weightloss is going so SLOW! I’ve been loosing those last 6 pounds for weeks now. I am desperate to find out if there is something I could do different or better to get a few more pounds down faster. I’d love to just get to see a new number on the scale, for my clothes to fit looser, or for 1 person to notice. Could you please share with me what the dietician advised for you to do concerning carbs? I’m considering cutting the whole grains for a week or so. I don’t have any health problems to be concerned with :-). I’m just wondering if increasing my protien and counting or reducing my “good” carbs temporarly would get me a victory so to speak. Thanks!!!

    • Melisa-
      Carbs are good for you in moderation. They give us energy but they can also stick to our hips and love handles.

      I cut all what I consider evil carbs from my diet…that includes potatoes, fries, white bread, chips, anything made with white flour, sweets, sodas. If I start to incorporate carbs back into my diet I can usually see my weight go up. I do eat Cheerios and 100% whole wheat bread but again in moderation and I only eat those foods maybe every other day. If I eat Cheerios I skip the bread. If I eat a piece of bread I skip the Cheerios.

      You need to shake up your calorie count. You don’t have to be so strict through the week. I keep mine anywhere from 1200-1500. If you fluctuate your calorie intake it keeps your body confused (does that make sense). Also, watch the amount of sodium you are eating. That plays an even bigger role in weight gain. The My Fitness Pal or Lose It app will help you track that.

      Hope this helps!

  3. Rebecca McCutcheon says:

    I too have been on a weight loss journey! And will be at a fitness boot camp tonight! I have been on my journey for 12 weeks. I have lost 30lbs and 2 sizes. I use My Fitness Pal app. That is my “bible”. I still have 40lbs more to go. The issue I have had is that I was never over weight until adulthood. I was happy being curvy it was the obese word that got me. I was/still obese. I am 37 and both my parents were/are diabetic and my maternal grandfather is as well. My mother passed away suddenly last year and once I recovered from the loss and depression. I decided to make a change. I enjoy reading your blog. Makes me feel like I am not alone. Thank you for being courageous enough to put your journey out there for everyone to read and know.

  4. kari says:

    if you are on My Fitness Pal, please add me as a friend: karitheone. that’s a great snack idea. Liz, have you heard about the Warrior Dash? It comes in September in Tennessee, and it is a 5k obstacle course. i did it last year, mostly walking – at over 200 pounds – and finished. i have lost weight since then, and am running it again this year! your blog helps me. thanks!

  5. Jill Crosby says:

    Hi Elizabeth! I had ‘accidentally’ frozen the whole container of yogurt in the back of the fridge— Yummy in the hot summer! Now I freeze them on purpose at times. Reminded me of sherbert. Also, I just recently tried something a friend suggested–added Cheerios to my lowfat yogurt instead of granola, the Cheerios gave it crunch and the yogurt gave the flavor. Now it is one of my fav breakfast or snack. So far, I have lost 7.5 lbs in 3 months, slow but a least I am losing and not gaining. The more I lose, the more motivated I am to exercise and watch what I eat. One day at work I turned down a doughnut with not regrets. I had just gotten up at 4:30 to go to the gym and exercise and it just made no sense to destroy all my hard work for the cute Easter egg decorated doughnut (sorry Krispy Kreme!!!)
    I look forward to reading your posts every day, you are doing a great job at keeping us motivated and in your weight loss!!

  6. Staci says:

    Elizabeth,
    I also am on a mission to get rid of some weight and I keep up with your posts daily. I have lost 13 lbs in 4 weeks and I get upset sometimes because I want everything RIGHT NOW and this seems too slow for me but you encourage me to stick to it. I was wondering what your thought is on protein powders or protein drinks? I have been drinking at least one a day (made with water and crushed ice in the blender) to curb my sweets cravings. Do you think this is good or should I cut them out completely?

    • Staci-I love protein drinks!! They are good for you and especially beneficial if you workout. Protein help keep your muscles from being so sore after exercise. Word of caution-be sure to watch the calories. I drink Muscle Milk Light-100 calories and packed with protein. So yes, protein drinks are good for you. Drink up!

Leave a Reply

