Day 56-Shrinking down to size and beef tips and rice

Today’s weight: 164.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 19 1/2 pounds

I am almost back to my 20 pound goal! One problem I am having that could be contributing to my weight gain is a case of severe dehydration. I’m not sure how I let myself get to this point but I don’t have a bit of moisture to my skin or mouth. I’ve been trying to drink water all day and it has helped some. That may be contributing to my leg cramps as well. I can promise it doesn’t make you feel very good. I know I need to drink more water, and I try, I’m just not always successful.

This morning I had to take my vehicle for an oil change. Why is it when you make an appointment for a certain time without a doubt they are running behind and you have to wait for what seems like forever?

I had some bananas that were overripe Those make the best kind of banana bread. Since bananas aren’t cheap and I didn’t want to throw them away, I mixed up a loaf of banana bread-and didn’t even taste the batter 🙂 I use my great aunt Pernie’s recipe. It makes the most moist delicious bread. Sorry everyone but this recipe is loaded with calories as it is made with real sugar and butter.

Do you ever suffer with food burnout? You eat a lot of the same foods day in and day out and get hungry for something different? I love beef tips and rice. Before I went on a diet I would have fixed up one more delicious-yet fattening, high calorie pot of this warm hearty goodness. But I know better now and I’m much more aware of how to cook healthier meals.  So I took that once heavy recipe-that made my stomach feel bloated after eating- and lightened it up.

Instead of using white rice, I cooked up brown rice. I added in bell pepper and onion. I bought a leaner cut of strip steak**please read post at end of blog (around 163 calories for 3 ounces). Instead of using a family size cream of mushroom and a carton of real sour cream I measured out 4 tablespoons fat free sour cream (58 calories) 4 Tablespoons cream of mushroom soup (35 calories) 1 wedge light swiss cheese (35 calories) 2 Tablespoons skim milk (10 calories). To add more “meat” to my meal I added 1 can of mushrooms (60 calories).  I cooked my meat and vegetables in water flavored with no-sodium chicken broth powder. I seasoned the meat with Ms. Dash no sodium garlic and herb season, black pepper and a small dash of sea salt. Let me tell you, my slenderized beef tips and rice tastes better than the original recipe!! It has all the taste without the heaviness. I’ll have about a 1/4 cup of that for dinner with a small fruit salad.

Many experts recommend staying away from red meat all together but there are some benefits to eating it in moderation. According to an article I read recently in a health magazine, red meat is high in zinc, which is important for a healthy immune system. It contains more iron than most foods, it is a good source of vitamins, minerals, an excellent source of complete proteins and a high-protein diet based on lean red meat has been shown to help weight loss-just be careful to watch how much and how often you eat red meat.

Hope you all have a great Saturday!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 56-Shrinking down to size and beef tips and rice

  1. Carolyn Durham says:

    I think I read this on pinterest….peel those ripe bananas, freeze them solid and throw them in the blender…amazing, wonderful, banana ice cream. No sugar, cream, milk, or anything else!! Just amazing, banana goodness!! A nice, cold, healthy treat!!

Leave a Reply

