Day 53-Uh oh!, snacking and my garden hoe, and moving forward

Weight today: 166

Starting weight: 184

Weight lost or gained: +2 pounds

 

So the one bad thing about dieting is not only giving up some foods you love but gaining weight back too. I could tell when I woke up this morning that I didn’t feel as skinny as I did the day before. I just felt jiggly. You know what I mean? Like everything that felt tight the day before wiggled like a heaping bowl of Jello. I stepped on the scale and there it was…staring me in the eyes. I’ve gained 2 pounds…pushing my weight to 166. Gag me!

So how did this happen? I’m pretty sure I’ve got a good explanation. Monday, I ate a hamburger from a fast food restaurant to celebrate my 20 pound weight loss. While it fit in my calorie range, the sodium was much higher than what I needed. Then there was that binge snacking I got involved in where I went crazy on a sleeve of sugar free cookies. And while that may sound healthier than my regular pre-diet comfort food choices of mac and cheese, cookie dough and sour cream remember healthy foods have calories too. Plus, I didn’t log them into my app because I didn’t care at that point what damage I was doing. Then last night while I was cooking lasagna rolls and I got hungry. So I snacked on rice cakes. While the lasagna rolls were cooking I got my hoe, went outside, and dug up weeds in my landscape. But I kept taking breaks in between to munch on sour cream and onion crackers (addictive!). Then it was supper time…I ate     1 1/2 lasagna rolls-which would have been fine if I hadn’t eaten all that other stuff first. I had the lasagna rolls figured into my day but blew it with my snacking in between option. I told mom about it and she encouraged me in her strong parental voice to stay out of the crackers and log my calories. Sometimes a girl has an off day. I admit I am a little disappointed that now I have to try and lose an extra 2 pounds to get back to my 20 pound goal but we all experience pitfalls when we diet.

I am not going to beat myself up over 2 pounds. I know what to do to get it off. I know better than to take whatever is bothering me out on food. I’ve regrouped and I’m ready to get back on track. Blogging what craziness I fall off into helps me stay accountable and it also shows you that I struggle just like everyone else. I’ve had a successful streak of weight loss but that doesn’t mean I don’t have days where I could care less about eating right and being healthy. I try not to have those days and if they come around I do my best to motivate myself to do good, not just for me but for those of you following my blog. Nobody said this was going to be easy. Nobody said there is a magical way to drop the pounds and stay focused. It’s a mental game. You have to keep telling yourself to push through the hard times. Most of the time I can talk myself off a skyscraper but i have moments where it is much easier to give in. Just remember-we are only human.

Despite my weight gain I am wearing a suit jacket today that I have not worn in several years. It has a skirt that goes with it but I’m not sure it will fit yet as it is cut more straight than curvy. The jacket is kind of a strange blue/gray color. I bought it many years ago as an outfit for church. As time goes by I eventually rotate Sunday clothes into my everydat work pile. It’s nice to see the jacket fit-and more importantly button all the way down. So while I may be a little outdone with myself over gaining a few pounds, the bright side? My clothes still fit!! That is motivation enough to get back on track, eat right, log my food intake, and get some exercise.

Let’s all breath, enjoy the day, and make wise food choices. And as my great grandmother always said, “Count it all joy.”

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 53-Uh oh!, snacking and my garden hoe, and moving forward

  1. Becki Mays says:

    I’ve heard it said “how much ‘healthy choice’ do you have to eat before it’s no longer a healthy choice?” I’ve had a few pitfalls myself. Keep the good attitude, and congrats on your success so far!

  2. Darlene says:

    Note to Self: Good bye sour cream crackers…2nd note to self: do not buy more.
    If not in house, will not go get….too far to drive to store…………….not safe at night
    anyway……………………are we set? Let’s go ………..

    LOL

    PS: Any of your grandmothers know a good remedy for charley horses?

    • Brittany says:

      If you are getting plenty of water and eating a banana and still getting them try a Magnesium 500mg supplement. I used to get them real bad at night and after a month of waking up at 2am with my leg all cramped up I asked my doctor and that was his advise. Took a few days but it works.

  3. Meredith P. says:

    I think you are doing great. I am right with you!! I have lost 20 pounds since January 4th but lately haven’t done as well. Daily stresses and life sometimes makes it easy to say ” well i can
    eat this it won’t hurt anything” . I like reading your daily struggles and accomplishments, it means I’m not the only one!!

  4. Tracy says:

    I have enjoyed reading your blogs – congrats on your success! Hopefully this morning’s scale reading is off by water weight – I can’t imagine that your snacking was really 7000 extra calories… the sodium may have tricked your body into holding onto a little more water than it needed for a day or two. Good luck with the rest of your journey!

  5. Kathy says:

    I know the feeling. This week I just haven’t cared as much and haven’t exercised as much as I usually do. But I haven’t gone completely overboard and I know I am looking at a gain this week. I try to keep a look at what I have lost though much (over 100 lbs) to go. BTW, I can’t keep reece’s pb cups in house, though I do keep dark chocolate for a chocolate fix. I won’t binge on it, but I still get a chocolate taste. :0

  6. Shayna says:

    We have to do single serving bags of chips in this house! We buy the big bag that has pretzels and baked chips for our son to take with lunch. Mommy can’t control herself with a big bag!

  7. Lisa says:

    Just for FYI…….If you’ve started working out……the plus two pounds might be a good thing…..muscle weighs more than fat…..you really can’t go by weight alone……You might want to go have a body fat index done……or the easy way…….count inches instead of pounds if you plan to really start working out seriously…….Hang in there you’re doing great by the way…..Wish I had your will power….

Leave a Reply

