Day 52-Baggy britches, pigging out, and what’s for supper

Weight today: 164 pounds

Starting weight loss: 184 pounds

Weight loss to date: 20 pounds

I have officially dropped 2 pants sizes! That is a huge accomplishment! I pulled on my dress pants that I had worn only a few weeks ago and they were so big I couldn’t keep them up. So I walked into my closet and grabbed a smaller size. At first I was afraid to try them on because I was worried I wasn’t quiet small enough to get in them yet. Presto!! They buttoned and zipped just like they were made for me. It was nice to see these pair of pants again. I always liked the way they fit and now I get to wear them again.

20 pounds gone…20 more to go. It sounds like a lot of weight left to lose and it is but it helps if you break your weight loss into “goals.” It keeps you from feeling overwhelmed. I don’t have nearly as far to go as I did when I first started this weight loss journey. If you set small goals for yourself you are less likely to give up.

Remember several posts back I mentioned your Body Mass Index or BMI? Mine was in the “over weight” category (no shock there). Not anymore. I’m officially in the normal range, but only by a smidge. So I want to make sure I get more weight off so I can comfortably say my BMI is where it should be.

Going to the grocery store hungry is not a good idea. It is best to go after you have eaten that way you are not tempted to fill your shopping cart with various Easter candy, frozen pizzas, and ice cream.

I stopped by the grocery store last night. I went armed with my list and the will power of a bear. I bought only the foods that I had written down. When I got home, I unloaded my groceries and decided I was hungry. I started off eating a bowl of Cheerios with strawberries. by the time the night was over I had eaten a sleeve of sugar-free mint cookies (a treat I keep in the freezer) a few handfuls of Ritz baked sour cream crackers, a couple of low fat cheese wedges, and at least 2 sugar free popsicles. Ok I admit it…I was probably eating more out of comfort than necessity. Thankfully because I didn’t buy anything loaded with a lot of calories, sugar or fat my eating binge didn’t cost me on the scale…at least not yet. It could show up in a day or 2 and if it does that’s ok. I don’t feel nearly as guilty over indulging in healthier foods as I did when I had a fridge or pantry full of sweets and carbs.

Remember the delicious sugar free desert mom fixed over the weekend? I asked how she made it. Basically you take 2 boxes of instant sugar free pudding mix (the vanilla is really good but you can use whatever flavor you like best), prepare by directions on box, fold in cool whip, layer the pudding in a large trifle bowl and add fruit on top of each layer (she used strawberries, bananas and blueberries). It is a really delicious treat!

A while back I did a “No Excuses” report on blood work I had done that came back with some issues? I have an appointment tomorrow to have more blood drawn to see if dieting has helped lower my sugar and cholesterol. It may take a few days to get the results back. I am hoping that I will be able to share those results with you, if not next week the week after.

So what’s for supper tonight? I’m thinking Spinach Lasagna Rolls. I posted the recipe a few weeks ago. If you get a chance to make it, you should. Just remember to use a high fiber whole grain noodle.

That’s all for today 🙂

Happy weight loss everyone!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 52-Baggy britches, pigging out, and what’s for supper

  1. SaBrina Cox says:

    Congratulations!!! You are truly an inspiration!! I really enjoy reading the blogs. I gained a lot of weight last year but I am determined to lose it this year and I agree that it helps to set small realistic goals so it’s not so overwhelming. Thanks so much for sharing your story! I can’t wait to try the Spinach Lasagna Rolls! Thanks for sharing the recipes also!
    SaBrina

  2. Darlene says:

    Sounds like boredom or tired type of eating……congrats on the 20 pounds down.

    Did you know Cinnamon is good to bring your Blood sugar down also? I always
    put some in my smoothies, but if you don’t like the taste, you can take capsules
    available at W/mart or gnc or whatever………….

    (Trivia Alert) You can choke very easily on Cinnamon powder unless it is mixed
    in with something, and there is a kid thing going around where kids are daring
    others to eat Cinnamon. This is very dangerous…………(Warned ya ahead of time) LOL

    Thanks for the pudding trifle, will give it a whirl………….

Leave a Reply

