Day 47-Rockin’ the weight loss, having a melt down, and mom’s menu

Today’s weight: 165.5

Starting weight: 184

Weight loss to date: 18.5 pounds!!!

I am only 1 1/2 pounds away from reaching my second goal of losing 20 pounds! What a thrill when I stepped on the scale this morning and saw 165.5!!! I’ve met my first goal of 10 pounds, now I’m close to my second goal of 20 pounds. I’ve got 2 more goals to hit before I reach my desired weight. 

I am so glad to put this weight loss plateau behind me, though I feel confident I will hit another one before its all said and done. I’ve been flucuating my calorie count…eating 1500 calories one day and dropping it back to 1200 the next. I think that has helped jolt my weight loss. A friend told me by changing up my calorie count it would help move my weight along. It appears that advice has helped. 🙂

How do you react when you don’t eat by a certain time or get enough calories in your day? Yesterday, I found myself falling apart. I didn’t have a chance to eat lunch early. By the afternoon I was hitting a brick wall. So, before the 4pm news I grabbed my lunch out of the fridge, fixed myself a banana sandwich and snacked on pretzels, low-fat cheese, peanut butter, low-carb yogurt, sugar free Jello and an orange. I felt much more human by news time. For dinner, I had a small plate of turkey tacos-with a spoonful of real sour cream 🙂 It was so good!!! You can eat like that too if you plan your calories ahead of time. Don’t let yourself get too hungry or you might be tempted to cheat. Eat all day! That’s what I do! 🙂

I called mom to tell her about my weight loss. She was at the grocery store preparing for my visit this weekend. Ha! She is grilling steak and chicken. I can’t wait! I don’t eat red meat but sometimes I get hungry for grilled steak. She is very considerate about what to serve as she knows I am determined to keep the weight off and she knows how hard I’ve worked to get to this point. It goes back to this–surrounding yourself with people who support you, love you, and only want to see you healthy makes this journey so much easier to live with. Nobody likes to diet, I certainly don’t, but not all of us are designed with a fast acting metabolism. It is easy to give up if we don’t have someone in our corner cheering us on. I am very thankful for all of you who motivate me daily–and for those in my personal life that keep me grounded 🙂

Hope you have a great Thursday!

Isn’t the weather beautiful?

Elizabeth

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 47-Rockin’ the weight loss, having a melt down, and mom’s menu

  1. Bonnie Ledlow says:

    You look absolutely lovely, as you always have. But I notice a big difference in your face from the weight loss. You’re doing a great job; stick with it, and be proud of yourself!

  2. Renee says:

    Great job….I don’t know if you remember me, but I am the one obsessed with diet coke….8 or more a day. I have cut back some, and have lost 3 pounds. One question? How did you motivate yourself to get started on a healthier lifestyle? Did something just click? I am waiting for that moment! 🙂

    • Renee-Good for you. I know how difficult it is to cut back on soda intake. Once you stop completely, if you decide to, you won’t regret it.

      One motivating factor was just how fat I was and looked on tv. It was making my job difficult as I could clearly see I had a problem. I got tired of seeing the grumpy, fat, sloppy figure in the mirror and decided to do something about it. I’m glad I did!

  3. Darlene says:

    So happy for you Elizabeth…..you are doing it right………………Congratulations..

Leave a Reply

