Day 46-New clothes, planning for a weekend visit, and feedback

Weight today: 167 pounds

Starting weight: 184 pounds

Weight loss to date: 17 pounds

Exercise: walking

Today I am wearing a jacket I haven’t worn in a long time. It fits well but still a little uncomfy across the stomach. Another few pounds and it should be fine. I can button it and I have wiggle room but I would like just a little more slack in the back, if you know what I mean 🙂

 

 

I need new clothes, not just because I’ve lost weight but because I haven’t been shopping in years. For such a long time I refused to buy anything because I didn’t want to see my fat in those non-flattering 3 way mirrors. I don’t care how skinny you are under the glare of flourescent lights and mirrors nothing looks glamorous. So now that spring is here I want to buy a few new skirts and suits for work. I love tailor-made clothes. Nothing looks better than clothes with a good clean line. But before I make any serious clothing purchase, I also want to lose more weight. So I’m buying one piece at a time. When I shed a few more pounds I’ll buy a few more clothing articles. That way I have sizes to play with in case my weight starts fluctuating 😉

This weekend I am going home to visit my parents and grandmother. My mom is already making sure she has food to suit my healthy lifestyle ha! We are having grilled chicken and a green salad Saturday and I’m sure she will have something high in protein-low in carbs on Sunday. She asked if I wanted a baked potato with sour cream to go with my meal (pre-diet the answer would have been YES!). Since I haven’t been eating anything like that the last 46 days, and I don’t miss it, I have no desire to eat it. I’m amazed at how certain foods that I once loved I never really think about anymore. Guess they were more of a comfort to me than a necessity.

I also plan to do one of my favorite activities while I’m visiting and that is fishing! I love to fish! My granddaddy, paw paw, and dad took me a lot when I was growing up. Granddaddy made sure this girl could bait her own hook, take the fish off, and clean it. I will admit if my catch is too big and I’m fishing off the bank, I have to lay the fish on the ground, put my foot on top of it, and pull the hook out with pliers. If my dad is around, I just let him handle it 🙂

 I’m curious…how many of you have given up at least 1 indulgence to help you shed weight? How difficult was it to stop? Do you have days where you want to give into temptation and if so, how do you handle it?

I also want to know if this blog/weight loss piece is helping you stay accountable. Are you able to apply what you’ve read or seen to your daily lifestyle? Is there something you would like to see more or less of? What questions do you have?

I hope my weight loss journey is inspiring you to do the same. Remember, we all drop weight at different rates. No one person is built the same and our metabolisms run differently. Do the best you can, be proud of yourself, and don’t give up. If you do that, you will have no problems fighting the battle of the bulge. 🙂

Happy day all!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 46-New clothes, planning for a weekend visit, and feedback

  1. Lauren says:

    I enjoy following your weight loss journey. Congrats on the weight you have lost so far! I’ve gained a lot of weight over the past few years. I’m currently at my highest weight ever, and I’m miserable. My clothes are too tight but I refuse to buy new clothes. I’m ready to get this weight off and it encourages me to read your blogs and to realize I can live without indulging in pizza, sodas, chocolate, bread, etc. I’ve got to get control of it for my health and happiness. Thanks for being brave for all of us out there!

  2. Cathy Martin says:

    I have started a diet but I’m just cutting back. Portion control………I ‘m so proud of you…

  3. Melanie says:

    I LOVE your blog and your real honest take on this whole weight loss journey. I too have been on a journey of a healthier lifestyle and have lost 36 pounds and counting!!!!!!! FYI …..A great place to shop is a consignment shop until you lose all the weight. I have found high quality clothing at Act II consignment in Madison. I am not affiliated with them in any way, I have just found great name brand clothing there….some even with the tags still on them. I LOVE Talbots suits and I found one there for a fraction of the cost. Hang with your journey and keep the blog a coming! 🙂
    Melanie

    • Melanie says:

      BTW, my indulgence I gave up was pop……….I haven’t had any in two months. I tried to take a drink of pop the other day and it literally made me sick to my stomach. 🙂

    • Melanie-
      I’m glad you enjoy the blog. I try to post honest helpful posts. My goal is to lose weight and help others too. I am by no means a weight loss expert. It has been a learning experience from day 1. Before I started this blog, I felt alone, like no one understood what I was going through. Since “NO Excuses” launched I know that isn’t true. Many people are going through the exact same situation.

      I will try that consignment shop as I refuse to pay full price for anything. 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Elizabeth

  4. Darlene says:

    Personally, I like how you are writing your blogs, because it is almost like we are sitting around
    and talking. It runs smoothly………..??? If that makes sense.
    I also enjoy whatever recipes you post. I have tried almost all of them and they were as tasty
    as you said. I also think your generousity in sharing your weight, and your ups and downs has
    been helpful. Too many people feel isolated when trying to lose, but your honesty is great.

    I like to hear about what you are doing, such as the shopping, and going to visit family and the
    fishing stories.

    • Thanks Darlene-I like to think of all of you as family. You guys motivate me to make good choices because I know if I blow it, I’m going to have to confess on line ha! ha!

      I too had to give up soda. That was tough 😦 Now that I’ve gone this long without drinking it, I don’t crave it as bad…still want one on occassion but I don’t constantly think about it.

      Have a great day!
      Elizabeth

  5. cherita holman says:

    Hi Elizabeth,
    I just wanted to let you know that this blog is so helpful.Because of you i downloaded the Lose It! app to my phone and Ii us it all the time and it helps me conciderably!!! I am also a gastric bypass person so it is really helping me to watch my carbs and eat more protein…..The only problem i am having is that having the gastric bypass i have to eat every 2 hrs so i tend to go over my calories from time to time.Is there anything i can change to help that? Thank you cherita holman

    • Cherita-
      That is great news! I love the “Lose It” app. Makes my life much easier.

      I’m sorry to say I don’t know much about gastric bypass other than a friend had it several years ago. I can say from his experience that he lost a considerable amount of weight-and has kept it off. I am assuming you are eating every 2 hours because you are taking in fewer calories than someone who has not had the procedure. If you are losing weight and eating every 2 hours I would think that’s ok. You might want to ask your doctor if you experience any weight gain issues.

      I hope this helps. I apologize for not knowing more about the procedure.

      Good luck to you!

  6. Lisa Ramey says:

    Sometimes I fight my craving by looking at how many calories it has. I wanted a milkshake today until I saw how bad it really was. I have been using the LoseIt app after reading your blog and like the accountability of it. I have had days where I give into my craving if it’s not too many calories because I know nothing else will satisfy that craving. Thanks for your blog. It has motivated me.

Leave a Reply

