Day 45-Another pound bites the dust and why grandma is so pretty

Today’s weight: 167

Starting weight: 184

Weight lost to date: 17 pounds

Exercise: arm and core workout with 5 pound medicine ball

Yep I finally moved off the plateau. I lost 1 pound and I am pumped! That makes a total of 17 pounds! And to celebrate, since I am working nightside, I got a haircut, bought a new pair of pants, shirt and shoes. I have dropped 1 pant size (nearly 2) my shirt size has gone from an L/XL to a medium/small. My shoe size is the same…I just wanted a new pair 😉 It is good to reward yourself. I fully believe in taking care of yourself when you’ve worked hard. That sense of reward gives you something to feel good about and it motivates you to keep up the hard work.

It is so beautiful outside! The sun is shining, the trees are budding, the birds are singing so why not get out and enjoy it? Take a walk, ride your bike, have lunch out or maybe fire up the grill. Take full advantage of this spring weather. The sunshine will make you feel good!

This weekend I am going home to visit my parents and grandmother. My grandma is not doing well and we are all concerned about her. It is tough to see someone you love feel bad.

My grandma has always been a very independent, hard working, creative woman. She loved anything outdoors, especially planting huge gardens-notice I said multiple gardens-of vegetables. We used to laugh at how much produce she harvested but now that she is not able to garden we sure miss such a bountiful harvest.

Grandma lives next door to my parents so she is able to still live independently but we know the day is coming, sooner than later, when that might not be an option. She is very stubborn and hard headed. I think that is a good quality when it comes to fighting to live. She is 92 years old and every day that she is here with us is a true blessing.

One of my favorite memories growing up was grandma picking apples from her trees to dry and make homemade fried pies. Just thinking about those delicious, hot out of the over, handmade pies makes me hungry, and a little homesick! She would sit on her back porch with me attached to her apron strings (ha!) peeling and cutting apples. I would eat them as fast as she could slice them. She would peel apples, I would eat them and we would talk. I miss those days more than you know.

My grandmother has the most beautiful skin and if you didn’t know she was 92 you would think she is in her 70’s. I asked her once what her beauty secret was…she said drinking lots of water. Staying hydrated keeps your skin supple and young. She must be on to something because even today she has good skin. We could all learn a lesson from Grandma West…drink plenty of water. I know I don’t drink nearly enough. Lane laughs at me because I carry an unopened bottle of water in my bag. He says I get hydration through osmosis ha!

Since cutting out all sodas and caffiene I drink unsweet tea, water and sugar-free drinks. So next time your mouth gets dry or you have the urge to snack, bring on the water. Here are a few reasons why you need to reach for that glass of H2O.

  • Transports nutrients and oxygen into cells
  • Moisturizes the air in lungs
  • Helps with metabolism
  • Protects our vital organ
  • Helps our organs to absorb nutrients better
  • Regulates body temperature
  • Detoxifies
  • Protects and moisturizes our joints

I hope you all have a great day! Do something nice for yourself today and don’t forget to drink plenty of water!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 45-Another pound bites the dust and why grandma is so pretty

  1. Darlene says:

    Congratulations on losing another pound…way to rock Elizabeth. I can see a lot of difference.
    Bless your G’ma for tying you to her apron strings….she is a beautiful lady..
    And she is right about the water…..you might want to do some research on those sugar free
    drinks……some of the ingredients are pure poison….aspartame for one……….
    I drink 12 cups of water daily and the Crystal Light “Pure” does not have Aspartame in it, altho
    the rest of their flavors do. I keep Lemon Juice on hand to squirt in my water if I want something
    different.

    • Thanks Darlene-
      I don’t normally like the taste of anything with artifical sugar but sometimes I get a hankering for something different. I’m allergic to Splenda so I use the pink packs, which I know are not good for you. I doubt I use more than 4 packs a month. I do like the taste 🙂

      Lemon is a wonderful staple to keep on hand. I use the squirty kind in the plastic bottle. It llasts longer than real lemon.

      THanks so much for the tip!

  2. Karen says:

    Way to go LOSER 😉
    You are doing great!

  3. M.M. says:

    So happy for you! Another pound! I pray your grandmother get to feeling better! ”God Is Able” Keep doing what you are doing! You look awesome! Have a blessed day! Keeping you and your family in prayer!!

Leave a Reply

