Day-44 It’s more than a slogan, it’s a way of life

Happy Monday! It is nice to start the day off with a cheerful greeting. I think it promotes a healthier mental and physical well being. If somebody is grumpy to you it can put a damper on your day and your desire to do well in whatever you are trying to accomplish. So don’t let negativity get in your way. Block it out and let it be somebody else’s problem to deal with.

When I started at 48 many years ago our slogan was “Dedicated, Determined, Dependable.” I always liked that slogan because I thought it was edgy and hard hitting. It’s also a good way to think of weight loss too. You have to be dedicated to a program, determined to do well and reach your goal, and dependable to keep pushing forward. That is easier said than done, right? Somedays yes but if you really want to accomplish a goal you can do it. You just have to remind yourself “I’ve got this” and nobody can take your dreams and desires away from you.

This week I am hitting this healthy lifestyle with a fury! I’ve got to get past my 16 pound weight loss plateau. I asked my friend Rhea, who introduced me to the “Lose It” app what she did when she stopped losing weight. She told me I need to trick my body by changing up my calorie count and mixing in different exercise. Your body evidentally adjusts to whatever diet plan you follow and if you don’t change it up now and then you may hit a period with no weight loss.

Exercise in my world has been almost non-existant since last year but now that finals are over, and I’m taking a break from this next term, I am determined to get fit. “No Excuses” now 🙂 I’m attaching an exercise chart that will help slim your waist line.  Also, if you have a medicine ball that is an excellent way to tone your core. That is what I plan to do tonight, use my medicine ball to work my upper body. My goal is at least 30 minutes, 3 times a week. I’ll do more if I can work it into my plan. I’ll also add it to my weight section at the top of my blog so you can follow along.

This weekend I cooked the most delicious low-calorie dish. I made up the recipe as I went along with food in my pantry. I made a spinach and egg quiche. And oh my, it was really really good. I took a picture as soon as it came out of the oven. I did not use a pie crust with mine. Who needs the extra fat and calories, right?

 

 

Elizabeth’s Crustless Egg and Spinach Quiche

1 package frozen spinach, thawed and drained of liquid 

1 can mushrooms

1 can jalapenos 

1 wedge creamy light swiss cheese 

1 wedge creamy light cream cheese

2 Tablespoons reduced fat sour cream 

1 clove minced garlic

onion and bell pepper to taste (optional)

salt and pepper to taste

6 eggs

dash of skim milk

1 package turkey sausage

1/4 cup fat free or reduced fat mozzarella cheese

In a bowl combine jalapenos, mushrooms, cream cheese, sour cream, swiss cheese, onion, bell pepper, salt and pepper. Stir and set aside. Cook and drain spinch of all juices. Add to mixture. Cook turkey sausage until almost done. Cut up and add into mixture. In a separate bowl, whisk in eggs and milk. Stir into mixture. Pour mix in a greased 9″ pie plate. Bake on 350 45-50 minutes.

*You can use egg beaters in this recipe. I just didn’t have any on hand.

I hope you all have a great day. Remember, someone else’s bad mood doesn’t have to put you in a rut. Keep your goal in mind and don’t let anything stand in the way.

This week is going to be one of accountability. So let’s all strive to lose between 3 and 5 pounds!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day-44 It’s more than a slogan, it’s a way of life

  1. Good luck with your exercise! I found a great workout on a blog called “Sweet Tooth Sweet Life”. It’s called the 10 minute no excuses workout and it really gets your heart pumping. Thanks for the motivation and the updates!

  2. Teresa Sheppard says:

    I am deaf and trouble to lose weight. What the best to chose on label. Cal, fat, carb, etc. my doctor told me to watch low carb . I still not lose any weight. I am frustrated about that. Pls don’t use my email message to anyone.

  3. Jill Crosby says:

    I’ve been working on my weight, too. Every close family member has or had some type of diabetes, my Mother had gestational Diabetes, my younger brother has Type I and my older brother and father have type II. So, it is very important for me to lose weight. I have been going to the gym for almost two years with litttle luck. I have been plagued with injury and chronic foot problems (plantar fascitis) and knee problems, so that makes it difficult to increase time and endurance. I was reinspired when I saw your first episode and weighed in– our weights matched! I finally decided to make a committment to go to the gym 30 mins 5-7 days a week. I never thought it was ‘doable’ but it really is. Three days a week, I go for 1 1/2 hrs and the rest of the time, go just for 30 minutes. I have NEVER a gym person, so big change for me. I go before work (ouch 5am comes early!) or after work. So far I have only lost 5.5 lbs, but even with that little bit I can tell a difference in my slacks. Trying to work on my diet too, making sure I have a protein in the am does make a big difference in controlling my hunger.
    So good luck with your exercise endeavor!! You are doing great!!! Know your limits, I made a chronic problem worse when someone talked me into trying a class I knew I had no business taking.

    • You go girl! Jill I am very impressed by your willingness to work out. That is great! I have no gym membership but probably need one. I do most of my exercise at home. It just works better with my schedule. I wouldn’t get discouraged about the weight loss. If you are working out that much you are gaining muscle. Be sure to eat or drink a lot of protein after your workouts. That will help with muscle soreness.

      Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

