Day 40-Step away from the vending machine!!

Hello all-

Happy Thursday! This week is almost over and I don’t know about you but I am ready for the weekend. I’ve got a huge test looming over me right now that I will likely take on Friday. Once that is over I will be able to feel the rush of calm take over my emotions.

I woke up hungry this morning so I ate more calories than normal (I try to keep it around 300). I had 2 eggs, 1 piece of turkey sausage, 1/2 cup sliced peaches, toast with 1 wedge  of light cream cheese and a glass of skim milk. That’s a total of 417 calories. Great way to get my day started and there is nothing wrong with eating a little more in the morning. If you skip breakfast you might want to reconsider. It not only gives you fuel to start your day but it also speeds up your metabolism. 🙂

When we get hungry during the day it is very easy to get up and walk to the vending machine for a quick snack. But how often do you flip that Twinkie or bag of chips over to read over the nutrition facts? It is possible to blow an entire meal on one vending machine indulgence. We have a snack machine in our break room. I avoid it all costs (post diet of course). It is loaded with all kinds of goodies but nothing I’m willing to sacrafice my day over. Instead, I bring my own snacks and I make sure it is something with a lot of protein that fits into my day.

I’ve posted the calorie content to some vending machine favorites. I found this article on line. Click on the link to see the numbers. You will be shocked!

http://www.justrun.org/JR_for_kids/diet_and_nutrition/showsectione0e6.htm

Snack attack!
Vending machines wage war on diets

By STEPHANIE ALLMON
 

If you rely on vending machines to satisfy afternoon cravings, you might be waging war on your diet.

Fortunately, calorie-counters who find themselves in the trenches usually can find a few safe options. But not many.

Here’s a plan for your best and worst vending-machine choices in terms of calories and fat grams….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

