Day 36/37-Hand caught in the cookie jar,saying goodbye and lasagna

Hello all-

It is a chilly but sunny day out. I know many of you are using this break in the weather to help our neighbors who are suffering damage or loss of property. Thank you for all you are doing. Also, thank you to our law enforcement, utility crews, rescue workers, firefighters, etc who are working around the clock to keep everyone safe who live in the affected areas. Many prayers and blessings to you all.

***************************

First let me apologize for having to double up on blog posts. My research paper is finished and my final is this week so once this term is over I’ll have more time to devote to my “No Excuses” blog.

Speaking of “No Excuses” I posted that it would not run this morning because I didn’t think the piece had been edited. Goes to prove how much I know šŸ™‚ It did run, thanks to some fast handed editing by Derek King and Daniel Phelps (thanks guys). If you missed it, don’t worry it will beĀ air again during WAFF-48 News Now at 4 pm.

This weekend I got plain ugly with my food choices. I was working on a tight tight deadline and I was stressed beyond the limits. Without even realizing what I was doing I was reaching for comfort food to get me through the day. I ate a sleeve of rice cakes (60 calories a pop), a plate of taco salad, chicken fingers, honey mustard, salad with ranch, an entire bag of popcorn, at least 8 packs of sugar free Jello (maybe that helped balance out some of the bad ha!) skinny cow popsicles and a few slices of cheese and just as I was reaching for a handful of chocolate chip cookies, LaneĀ reminded me “you know you are eating all of this because you are stressed.” Bam! I hadn’t even realize that. I was stuffing in food to compensate for trying to finish my work on time.Ā Needless to say I didn’t weigh today ha! And yesterday I watched what food I put in my mouth. We all have stressful days but we can’t let the food take over our lives. We have to be in control and I apparently lost my mind! See that is why you need a good support system. When you can’t see what you are doing wrong the people in your life who care about you are a great defense. They will gently guide you in the right direction so you can realize the mistake you are about to make and cut off the munching before it gets out of hand. Surround yourself with people like that and you will do just fine šŸ™‚

Today is my co-anchor Eric Sollman’s last day on the air at WAFF-48 News. He is headed to warm sunny Tampa to work as a reporter. I’ve known Eric for a number of years but because we work different shifts IĀ never reallyĀ got a chance to know himĀ better until we started anchoring the 4pm show together. He is truly a special person. I will miss his humor and kindness. I wish him nothing but the best in this new adventure. If you get a chance and want to wish him well drop him an email at esollman@waff.com.

Sunday, I did manage to cook a very yummy and healthy dish to eat on this week. I found the recipe on Pinterest and tweaked it so the calorie count would be much less. I made Spinach Lasagna Rolls and let me tell you these things are delicious-and nutrious. I bought 100% Whole Wheat noodles that have a low calorie count and high fiber (they still have a high carb content so just be cautious). I substituted meat for mushrooms. You could use a turkey sausage or chicken. Just make sure you count the calories. I’ve added pics so you can see just how yummy they look!

Spinach Lasagna Rolls
1 Roll = roughly 200 calories and 6 WW Points Plus (adjust if you add chicken)

Preheat oven to 350Ā°. Make sure you drain the spinach well. Combine spinach, ricotta, Parmesan cheese, egg, garlic, Italian seasonings, chicken, andĀ salt and pepper in a medium bowl.Ā PourĀ about 1 cup sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 13 baking dish.
9 lasagna noodles, cooked
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and completely drained
1 (15 ounce) container fat free ricotta cheese
1-2 cups chopped mushrooms
1 wedge Laughing Cow light cream cheese
2 Tablespoons reduced or fat free cream cheese
1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian seasonings
salt and fresh pepper
(optional) 1 chicken breast, cooked and dicedĀ 
1 small can Ā tomato sauce (you can use spaghetti sauce)
9 Tablespoons part skim mozzarella cheese, shredded
Place a piece of wax paper on the counter and lay out lasagna noodles. Make sure noodles are dry by patting them with a paper towel. Take 1/3 cup of ricotta mixture and spread evenly over a noodle. Roll carefully and place seam side down onto the baking dish. Repeat with remaining noodles.

Ladle sauce over the noodles in the baking dish and top each one with 1Ā Tablespoon ofĀ mozzarella cheese. Cover baking dish tightly with aluminum foil and bake for 40 minutes, or until cheese melts. Makes 9 rolls.
To serve, ladle a little sauce on the plate and top with lasagna roll.

 

 

 

Yesterday I got caught with my hand in the cookie jar. I had a stress eating day. I ate rice cakes for breakfast, a good helping of tacos, chicken tenders and a salad sugar free jello

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 36/37-Hand caught in the cookie jar,saying goodbye and lasagna

  1. Farrah says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey. Friday was my “I want to stress eat” day. Thanks for sharing the lasagna roll up recipe.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hey just wanted to tell you that watching you report the storms aftermath i noticed that you looked really thinner in the face. I couldnt tell anywhere else cause you had on weather gear. So dont get discouraged, these battles are long and hard and it is amazing what stress will do to your body.

  3. Beth Salomonsky says:

    Hang in there, EG!!! It is a very tough and long road but also rewarding once you are done. When you get to purchase new clothes in a smaller size, the journey seems insignificant. If anyone can help you along and be encouraging, it is my dear old friend Lane! He is a sweety!!

    • Beth I completely agree with you…Lane is a sweetheart! He keeps my feet planted firmly on the ground and he is my biggest cheerleader. Glad to have him in my corner šŸ™‚

  4. Kim Stanley says:

    The important thing to remember is that you realized what you did and got right back on track. I have been doing Weight Watchers for last couple of weeks and really enjoy reading your blogs. Keep up the good work.

    • Thank you Kim šŸ™‚ It could have really gone south but luckily I got caught just in time ha! Good luck with WW’s. That’s a great program. I try to post some WW friendly recipes to my blog.

      Good luck to you!
      Elizabeth

  5. Christy Ramey says:

    Love your blog, I have lost 61 pounds and have been doing well with maintaining until last week. I have gained back 5 pounds…….annoyed with this, but it happens. I use http://www.myfitnesspal.com which is a free site where you can count your calories, and make friends that are on the same journey as you are. I lost every pound with that site, it holds you accountable. The support system is a major thing when losing weight, I would never have made it without my great family and friends! You are doing great and like I said I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

