Day 34 and 35-Storms, blessings and Naysayers

Hello all-

I am combining 2 blog posts. I had one written yesterday but due to severe weather coverage, I did not have a chance to launch it.

Yesterday, was such a stormy day. Many of our friends and neighbors lost their homes or suffered serious damage. I live in Harvest and many of those hit in April were hit again (no damage at my place). There is nothing more heart breaking than covering a family who lost everything in a matter of seconds. Thankfully there was no loss of life. The good Lord had a hand in that. Please keep those affected not only in our state but other states hit hard in your thoughts and prayers. If you are looking for volunteer opportunities, check our website and main Facebook page. As information comes in, it will be posted there.

P.S. I ate 1 pice of pizza before heading out the door to cover storms. I ate the one that was loaded in vegetables. Somehow I thought that might be better for me 🙂 Did I enjoy the pizza slice? Oh yea!

Elizabeth

***********************************************************

Thursday’s weight: 168

Starting weight: 184

Total weight lost: 16 pounds

What I’m hungry for today: Talapia and shrimp or Mexican Bufffet-just log your calories and you can enjoy a meal out too.

I am thankful to post that I’ve lost another 1/2 pound. Thank you weight loss god’s for that bit of awesomeness 😉 That may not seem like much but in a woman’s world that is a huge stride! I have days where the scale doesn’t move at all. I have days where it goes up. I have days where it levels back out or drops slightly. Don’t give up if you don’t see immediate results or the weight is coming off too slow. I would rather have slow weight loss than none at all.

Thursday, I had an unpleasant experience after posting about Muscle Milk. The question was posed to me why Muscle Milk and not another product, endorsed by the person who emailed me. Let me say for the record, I do not endorse or receive any money having to do with this weight loss journey. I get paid the same wether I do this or not. I do not have to do this but I am happy to share whatever information I can that will help another person struggling to lose weight. I enjoy blogging my progress and sharing different ideas with you. It was not easy to start this weight loss journey, much less share my weight with every viewer out there. But how else are you going to know why I am doing this and the struggles that I go through if I am not 100% honest.

I am not saying you have to drink protein shakes. I mentioned that I drank one to help relieve the soreness from that brutal workout earlier this week. I posted the information about the product for nutrition purposes only. It was recommended to me by a fitness trainer. If you have a particular product that works for you, that is great! Keep up the good work.

If someone has a weight loss story and found a way to use a certain product-in a healthy way-and it helped you to lose weight go for it! I don’t mind posting your story as a guest blogger edition. We have a rule, my web master has a rule, that our Facebook page is not a place for people to advertise a particular product they are trying to sell. So when I mention a product in my blog is that what I am doing, trying to get you to buy it? No! Not at all. I don’t care if you drink Muscle Milk. I don’t care if you eat Veggie Stix. I just want you to eat healthy.

This is my weight loss journey. What I eat or drink is not an endorsement for anything. It is just a way to find something new to add some flavor to my diet. Some things I like a lot, some things I don’t. You don’t have to eat or drink what I do. You don’t have to follow my menu. You can eat or drink anything you want as long as you stay within the calorie range. These are just recommendations to help you. I hope what I have posted in the past has done just that…brought success to your life. I am by no means trying to leave out a food or drink that someone really likes and depends on. I want you to lose weight however you can. I want you to be happy, motivated, full of self-esteem. I want you to smile when you look in the mirror and see the progress you have made. It’s not about what kind of foods we take in, its about the amount and how we use that food to better our bodies and our lives.

Which brings me to my next point. I hope you all have a strong support system. People in place who want nothing but the best for your weight loss efforts. Surround yourself with positive people. Hold your head up high. Tell yourself you are worth it, you are beautiful, you have the support from people who love you. If you do not have that, you have it here. I know what you are going through-I’m going through it myself. I have days where I could care less about being on a diet. I have days where I don’t mind it at all. I think we all feel that way. How you feel and how you look and your health is what matters. Anyone who is not a positive influence in your life will not help you achieve your goals. Those people are naysayers. Nobody needs that.

I want all of you to be successful. I want to see the weight come off. My most sincere hope is that we all get healthy-one pound at a time-regardless of what product you have in your weight loss arsenal.

Today is supposed to be very stormy. I hope you have your supplies in check, a place to go if you need shelter and a NOAA Weather Radio nearby. We are fully staffed today. I am going in around 1:00 this afternoon and will work until the storms pass. Chief Met Brad Travis will be streaming coverage online at http://www.waff.com. If we go under a tornado warning we will go into “wall-to-wall” coverage. Stay safe today my friends and remember—stay positive. You can do this!

Have a happy day all!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 34 and 35-Storms, blessings and Naysayers

  1. Jerianne Trammell says:

    You are a brave and beautiful woman : )

  2. Rejenia Liles says:

    I am very proud of you and the weight that you have lost! I have battled my weight all my life, a year ago I found out that I was insulin resistance so now with the insulin meds and a healthy way of eating and working out, I have dropped almost 100 pounds. So you keep up the good work that you are doing. I will be cheering you on from Florence! 🙂

    • Rejenia-
      WOW!! Amazing weight loss. That is awesome! I know you don’t like taking the meds but so proud of you for eating right and working out.

      Best to you as you continue on your weight loss journey!
      Elizabeth

  3. Hayley Evans says:

    Your blog helps inspire me with my weight loss journey! I am a single mother and i don’t have much of a suppport system. Don’t get me wrong I have people that wish me well but they are busy with their own lives. Sometimes it is hard to get a workout in with my schedule with my daughters but i am determined to do this! I started my weight loss journey on January 17th at 380 pounds and as of today I am down to 356 pounds! It has been hard and I still have a very long way to go but i am motivated and determined to get healthy and feel better about myself! I also have started drinking Muscle Milk after my workouts and I love it! It also helps with my chocolate cravings! I am already feeling better mentally as well as physically. Which is a feeling I haven’t had in many many years. This is not about being on a diet or anything lke that, it is a lifestyle change! I have to get better not only for me but for my daughters because I am all they have! Keep up the good work and just know that there will always be people trying to bring you down but there are 100 times more people that you are inspiring…like me! 🙂

  4. Excellent…I DONT Get Anything From Muscle Milk Either..Ive TRIED MANY Different Products….I Just Happen To LOVE IT….For One….I Have STOMACH Issues…LACTOSE INTOLERANT.. For TWO….Diagnosed With A Stomach Ulcer When I Was A Child…ONE Of The Reasons I WORKOUT…ITS A GREAT THING To Be Healthy…BUT THE BEST STRESS Reliever….(I THINK)…Some People LIKE Myself….Tend To KEEP Things To Ourselves Rather Than To STRESS Others!!!!! There Are MANY GREAT Products…EVERYbody IS Different…I HIGHLY Recommend Each Person To Try Them….Be Sure To Read The Labels….KNOW What Your Putting In Your Body….And Then Decide What YOU Like…..To STAY Motivated….EACH Person Has To Choose Things That They Like…To CONTINUE A Healty Lifestyle……

    • You know me-I like to vent. Keeps my blood warm 😉 I feel much better now that the paper is behind me. Got my final this week but feel ok about it. Thanks for all you do to motivate me and keep me in line 🙂

  5. Karen says:

    I just want to thank you. Your blogs, your suggestions (whether I use them or not), honesty and your positive attitude has helped me more than you’ll know. I look forward to your blog and read it daily, though I don’t comment too much. You’re doing great! You make me believe it is possible.

  6. Brittany says:

    exactly!!! Keep those negative folks out of your head. I have saying about those kinds of people but its not appropriate for this site LOL! Its about being healthy and finding what fuels your body and keeps you going. Its hard to eat healthy when you have never done it before. I am still learning, it wasnt apart of my life growing up. I use carnation instant breakfast (sugarfree) for a supplement in the mornings. 1.5 grams of fat and vitamins. I use fat free milk to mix. But after a 7 mile run yesterday with weight training some muscle milk would have really hit the spot. I love your suggestions and ideas we all need to have an open mind when it comes to new products. Whats the worst that could happen, we get healthy and dont get dry skin from lack of good fats in our diet.

Leave a Reply

