Day 29-Low Calorie Comfort Food-It IS Possible

Happy Sunday! Hope you are enjoying yet another beautiful day. I could get very spoiled to all this gorgeous sunshine!

Today I was craving something familiar. Something with a lot of flavor that will warm my soul as much as it warms my belly. My craving today was beef stroganoff. There are no words to describe how wonderful this meal tastes, especially made the old fashioned fattening way with regular sour cream, steak, cream of mushroom soup and regular noodles (or rice). That is an overload of calories and carbs. My best guess is somewhere around 500 plus calories for one serving. I can’t do that and I’m not going to do that. So how do you enjoy a  meal like beef stroganoff without the guilt? You make a plan!! You figure out how to make something delicious without all of the fat and calories. I did just that.

I love mushrooms. They are good for you and virtually have  no calories in them. I can live without meat knowing red meat is not a healthy choice. So I slimmed down my favorite food to fit my calorie intake–by making a few simple adjustments.

In my old recipe I would have used regular sour cream (likely the entire carton), a fattening cut of steak, a large can cream of mushroom soup and regular pasta. My new recipe has just as much flavor, “meat” and creaminess as the old one–but the calorie count is soooooo much lower. I entered all food and measurements into my “Lose It” app to make sure of calorie and portion sizes. I recommend you download that app if you haven’t already.

I traded the meat for mushrooms. 2 cups of regular mushrooms and 2 cups portabella has only 68 calories. I sprayed my pan with a little non-stick cooking spray, added my mushrooms, turned the stove top on medium heat. I grated in 1/2 an onion, a piece of bell pepper, 2 cloves of garlic for 14 calories. I added in about 1/4 cup beef brother (fat free low sodium) and water to give it a “meaty” taste. I let that cook until my mushrooms and veggies were tender. I drained off my mushrooms, added them back to the pan. Next I mixed together a “light” cream sauce. In a glass measuring cup, I poured 1/2 cup skim milk, added 2 Tablespoons of McCormick Stroganoff dry mix, black pepper and a little red pepper (I like spice). I stirred that and poured it over the mushrooms. I added 1 wedge of Laughing Cow cream cheese (45 calories) and 2 Tablespoons fat-free ricotta cheese (30 calories). Let that melt. In another sauce pan, I added 1 cup of spinach fettucini noodles (140 calories). Let them cook until tender, drain and dish up. You can have the entire stroganoff meal for 378 calories! That is a great health trade off. I like to keep my meals around the 400 calorie mark so that works perfectly. And it gives me room in the day to have a healthy snack if I want one. So see, you can have your favorite meal-in moderation-with a few adjustments. I highly recommend Laughing Cow products. They are very low in calories, melt like a dream, and taste so rich. Skim milk is a great way to add “creaminess” without the heaviness. Ricotta cheese adds a smooth texture and you don’t need much.

I realize some of you may not be a fan of mushrooms. If you add meat to this dish instead, make sure you buy lean beef or steak. I’d keep the portion size to 4 ounces.

Try this one night-I guarantee you will love the flavor. If you trim down one of your favorite recipes let me know. I’d love to give it a try.

Keep doing a great job with your weight loss! Stay hydrated and motivated. Don’t let the battle get the best of you!

Elizabeth

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 29-Low Calorie Comfort Food-It IS Possible

  1. Karen says:

    That is great! I am a stroganoff lover also! I think I’ll give this a try. I try and go meatless one day at week, and this would work wonderfully.
    Thanks for the great idea! You are truely an inspiration.

  2. Kristie says:

    I haven’t looked at the lose-it app, but just started this week using MyFitnessPal.com which also has an app. I wanted to mention it to you because if someone doesn’t have a smart phone, this would be a really good option, because you can use it online. I LOVE it because it gives you a basic plan based on where your starting and what your goals are. Then it gives you all the tools you need to succeed. There’s a recipe builder, food diary, forums and blogs from other members and my favorite feature is that you can have friends. I have a few close friends that are also my friends on myfitnesspal. We are doing this together and the support and accoutnability from others that are doing it with you is a huge help. I started Monday and peaked at the scale earlier this week and was VERY happy with the results. I won’t officially weigh until next Monday, but I’m sure to be pleased with the results. This website/app has made this feel very doable.

Leave a Reply

