Day 28-A beautiful day, new snack and accountability

Isn’t this a beautiful day? Just what I needed-a good dose of sunshine! I don’t know about you but all this cold cloudy weather puts me in a funk. I’m a spring/summer kind of girl. Long days, sunshine, green grass, pretty flowers, and heat.

I’ve got a new snack for you. I know a lot of people like to eat potato chips. If you look at the nutrition label potato chips are not the best snack choice. Have you ever tried Veggie Stix? They have 55% less fat than potato chips. 1 ounce has 130 calories, 5 grams of fat, 310 mg of sodium and 20 carbs. I have not tried these yet but I am told they are very good. I bought a bag at Target. Look for them in the potato chip isle next to the baked chips. If you are looking for a crunchy snack this might be the thing. Just be sure to watch your portion size.

Today I met the sweetest woman. I was standing in the meat/cheese section of Target texting when she came up to say hello. She told me she was following my weight loss journey. She is diabetic and said she needed to lose some weight too (although I didn’t think so). She started to cry as she told me about her “sugar issue.” It is always nice to have people come up and talk to you about the same thing you are going through. She actually motivated me because I was seriously contemplating eating something I did not need today. Thanks to her kindness and understanding, I don’t have that same urge. Sometimes we just need a push in the right direction.

Monday morning on WAFF-48 News Today we are going to take a tour through my fridge to see what kinds of foods I keep on hand. You will find out what, if any changes I have made to my grocery list and what I found hidden in the freezer that could kill a girl’s diet!

I spent most of the morning out running errunds. This afternoon I have a funeral to attend and tonight we are having a going away party for my co-anchor Eric Sollman. He is leaving WAFF March 5th for Tampa. I will miss Eric. He is a lot of fun to be around and a genuinely good guy. Our loss is Tampa’s gain. I wish him the best of luck. If you get a chance to watch WAFF-48 News Now at 4pm you know on Friday he does Fitness Friday. Since this is his last week, we are shaking up Fitness Friday so be sure to tune in. I’ll post more on this later in the week.

Did you weigh yourself today? If not, that’s ok. Consider it a well deserved break. Eat well today, enjoy the sunshine and remember to take a little time for yourself. It is a good mental break from all the stress and pressure of the week.

Happy Saturday all!

Elizabeth

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 28-A beautiful day, new snack and accountability

  1. Darlene says:

    Elizabeth,
    Tell Eric we said God bless and Godspeed. He is a good guy or seems to be, is always nice
    and polite on air……….he will certainly be missed.

    Glad you did not yield to temptation. Our son is home for this weekend then will likely be
    reassigned somewhere to another base, so they came down for the weekend. We have
    been focused on them instead of food…lol…..

    Have a great week………..

  2. laura says:

    I have tried the veggie sticks. I really like them. How much is 1 oz though? I having living you’d blog. I am trying to lose weight to trying to follow the weight watchers points plan. Thanks for your candidness (is that even a word? :)) –laura

  3. Kathy says:

    Sorry to hear Eric is leaving. I know that he has a bright future in front of him. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

