Day 27-A well deserved break!

I would love to tell you’ve I’ve lost or gained weight today but I can’t. The battery in my bathroom scale is dead. ha! I stepped on it–and nothing. Maybe that is a sign I weigh too often. ha! So I will get a battery this weekend, weigh and post my results.

When I woke up this morning I had good intentions of doing weights, maybe hitting the elliptical. Guess what…I laid in bed and watched Lifetime Movie Channel-and I loved it!! I don’t feel the slightest bit guilty. I needed a break and I took one. We all need some “me” time to help get our minds back on track after a hard week of work, school, personal obligations, dieting etc. I did not, however, stray from my healthy eating plan. I had a good protein filled breakfast. I packed my lunch and dinner and brought it to work with me.  I counted all of my calories on my “Lose It” app. It is very important for me to not over eat. If I even let myself have one day, I’ll blow up like a balloon. So for me, it is worth counting calories to make sure I am eating the right way. I hope you take a moment to yourself this weekend. Maybe get a hair cut, your nails done, or go buy something you want. It is good to mentally unwind-and reward yourself for all your hard work!

Whatever you have planned this weekend, remember DON’T GO OVER BOARD!! Watch your calorie/sodium intake. Don’t skip meals so you will have more calories for a night out. Eat low-calorie high protein foods through the day. That will keep you from falling off the wagon if you go out to eat. Dining out doesn’t have to be scary…you just have to plan.

Hope you have a great Friday!

I will blog more tomorrow!

Elizabeth

Chicken Breasts with Mushroom Cream Sauce

Chicken Breasts with Mushroom Cream Sauce Recipe

2 servings

Active Time: 30 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients
  • 2 5-ounce boneless, skinless chicken breasts, trimmed and tenders removed (see Tip)
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • 1 cup thinly sliced shiitake mushroom caps
  • 2 tablespoons dry vermouth, or dry white wine
  • 1/4 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh chives, or scallion greens
Preparation
  1. Season chicken with pepper and salt on both sides.
  2. Heat oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add the chicken and cook, turning once or twice and adjusting the heat to prevent burning, until brown and an instant-read thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 165°F, 12 to 16 minutes. Transfer to a plate and tent with foil to keep warm.
  3. Add shallot to the pan and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add mushrooms; cook, stirring occasionally, until tender, about 2 minutes. Pour in vermouth (or wine); simmer until almost evaporated, scraping up any browned bits, about 1 minute. Pour in broth and cook until reduced by half, 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in cream and chives (or scallions); return to a simmer. Return the chicken to the pan, turn to coat with sauce and cook until heated through, about 1 minute.

Tips & Notes

  • Tip: It’s difficult to find an individual chicken breast small enough for one portion. Removing the thin strip of meat from the underside of a 5-ounce breast—the “tender”—removes about 1 ounce of meat and yields a perfect 4-ounce portion. Wrap and freeze the tenders and when you have gathered enough, use them in a stir-fry or for oven-baked chicken fingers.

Nutrition

Per serving: 275 calories; 15 g fat ( 5 g sat , 7 g mono ); 84 mg cholesterol; 5 g carbohydrates; 25 g protein; 1 g fiber; 373 mg sodium; 370 mg potassium.

Nutrition Bonus: Selenium (34% daily value).

Exchanges: 1 vegetable, 3 lean meat, 2 fat

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 27-A well deserved break!

  1. Brittany says:

    I agree, I am going to Las Trojas and having what I want, including flan (I earned it). But I will be running at 10 pm and hitting a new trail tomorrow on a mountain. The Ridgback needs her running or she will jump through a wall like a cartoon, she is the best personal trainer.

  2. Karen says:

    Thank you for this! I didn’t count my calories today, as I knew I went over what I should have. After reading this, I logged my calories. It wasn’t that bad! I really need to remind myself that perfect isn’t what I need or want to be. Being the best that I can be today is what is it all about. I need to allow myself to be human and take a break (not go over board) from time to time. Thank you for reminding me

Leave a Reply

