Day 25-“Brittany’s Story”

Woo hoo! I’m down another 1/2 pound.

Current weight: 169 pounds

Starting weight: 184 pounds

Total weight lost: 15 pounds

Hello everyone!

I am very excited about today’s blog post. I received an email this week from a young woman who opened up about her struggles with weight loss. Her name is Brittany Morrow and she has quiet the story to tell. When I first read her blog, I found myself reaching for the Kleenex. I asked Brittany for permission to post her incredible journey and she graciously agreed.  If you would like to contact Brittany, you can email her at britt09876b@aol.com.

This is Brittany’s story in her own words. Thank you Brittany for being an inspiration and motivator to us all!

“I used to be scared to go out in public, because I could hear what people said about me.  I wish people would think before they whisper comments about the obese, they can hear what is being said. For the longest after I started running I would run at night because I didn’t want people to say, “hey look at that fat girl running.” That kept me from running in the day. I recently came in 3rd in my age group in my last race and got a medal. Even in elementary school at field day the most I ever got was a participation ribbon. I put the link to my last race below my name is misspelled but that doesn’t really matter, victory was the same. I also came in 11th in my age group at the New Years Terrame race. I have a collection of running shirts I never thought I would have or want. ( I am in the female 30-34 group) If anyone out there wants to take a shot at walking or running I would love to help them out. I would cry a lot in the beginning because of muscle cramps and chaffing. I felt less than human for the majority of my life, now when someone says hey how are you, I say “awesome”. It’s sad to say I never felt awesome before.

When I got down to the 180s I thought I was hot stuff, but I started at 274. I agree with the no secrets no excuses way of life. I was a secret binge eater, but no purging. I could consume over 8,000 calories a day. No one pity’s  the fat girl, but they do the anorexic or bulimic girl because they are killing themselves, but what society doesn’t realize is the obese are killing themselves and it is an epidemic.

I weighed 274lbs January 1, 2010. Today my weight is 135lbs, height is 5foot 2 inches. No weight loss surgery, just hard work. January 2010 I had some female health problems and needed surgery. In my pre-op work up the doctors became concerned because my resting blood pressure was very high and they had to roll me on my left side and get the “special” extra large blood pressure cuff. I was also told I needed to lose 20 pounds before they could perform a safe surgery as I was so morbidly obese and my heart could stop. I got on the heart healthy diet (lifestyle now) and began some cardio once I got down to 200lbs and began running since my co-workers were running a jingle bell 5k in November 2010. And I ran my 1st 5k over a year ago and got hooked.

If you had told me 2 years ago, “hey lets go for a 5 mile or even 1 mile run” I would have cried. Even as a child I battled with weight and exercise. Exercise was scary and painful, why would anyone want to do that? The 1st 6 months of exercise was painful and I really didn’t feel any benefits. I think that’s why the obese fail at working out, it does take time and nothing magically happens overnight. But eventually I did enjoy running and zoning out. It’s a good time to go over your day and let your body physically take over; give your mind some time off. I am still losing weight and recently got a dog to run with me. I researched dogs for a few months before deciding on a breed that could physically run with me and would enjoy it as much as I do and could endure the climate of Alabama. I got a Rhodesian Ridgeback through a rescue organization. My Rhodesian Ridgeback is the best running partner ever. She even keeps a steady pace and forces me to up my pace. They are great running dogs and she has taught me more about how to run than I even thought a dog could. She looks at me almost as if to say, hey your breathing wrong, or that’s a bad form. She runs with her head up and shoulders back, so I should too. I love my runtastic app!!! It keeps me in check on my trail runs! And with my dog the trail runs aren’t as scary for a woman that’s alone. They are very protective of their property (their humans).

If I could tell anyone out there that is obese and wants help, do your own research on food and exercise and get a healthy lifestyle, diets don’t work they are out there to take your money. And the Doctors that want to give you a pill or shot to help you lose weight are setting you up for failure and more weight gain. Just eat well and play as hard as you can and life will be good. Don’t eat your feelings express them, no matter what. Since the weight loss I am more aggressive and confrontational. I saw Jona Hill on a talk show talking about his weight loss and how he has the same personality changes. Loose the weight and find out who you really are inside and live a longer higher quality life.”

Brittany

Here is today’s healthy recipe. This is oven/crockpot friendly. Check out the calories and Weight Watchers Points too! Dig in!

Slim and Healthy Enchilada’s

Serves 8

  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 pound extra-lean ground beef*
  • 2 tablespoons low sodium taco seasoning mix
  • 1 can (11 ounces) Mexican corn, drained
  • 1 jar (12 ounces) chunky salsa
  • 6 corn tortillas (10 inches each)
  • 1 can nonfat refried beans
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup grated reduced fat Monterey Jack or Mexican style cheese blend
  • Chopped fresh tomato and chopped fresh green onions for garnish, if desired
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 400 F.
  2. Mist a large skillet set over medium heat with nonstick cooking spray. Add the onion, garlic and beef to the skillet, breaking up the beef and stirring until the beef is browned and onion is softened. Drain the beef mixture. Stir in the taco seasoning, corn and 1 cup of the salsa and mix well.
  3. In a small bowl, combine the refried beans and water until smooth and spreadable.
  4. To assemble, spray a 9×13-inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray. Place 2 tortillas over bottom of the dish. Cut one tortilla to fill any gaps as layers are assembled. Spread 1/3 beans evenly over tortillas. Top with 1/3 beef mixuture and 1/3 of the cheese. Repeat layers one time. Arrange remaining 2 tortillas over cheese. Top with remaining beans and beef mixture.
  5. Cover and bake in 400 degree oven until hot about 25 minutes. Remove foil and top evenly with remaining salsa and cheese. Bake until cheese is melted, another 5 to 10 minutes.
  6. Remove from the oven and let rest and set for 5 to 10 minutes before serving. Garnish with chopped fresh tomato and green onions if desired.
 
Nutritional estimates per serving: 298 calories, 9.1 g fat, 27.9 g carbs, 5.4 g fiber, 26.8 g protein and 7 Weight Watchers PointsPlus Values.

*Substitute ground turkey or chicken for the beef if you prefer. Chopped chicken would also work well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 25-“Brittany’s Story”

  1. teresa thurman says:

    Awesome Brittany! We may have ran some races togeteher here in bama ! Run Happy 🙂 Teresa

  2. NICKY BROCK says:

    I am 31years old and I have four kids there ages are 2 4 6 8. My weight is in the obesity range. Im 5 feet tall and at 178. I have started zumba but I’m not so sure its for me. I tend to eat a lot of sweets when I’m bored and when I’m stressed. It also doesn’t help having ten pound babies either. I need help getting rid of the fat. I am not wanting to take pills or surgery I just need motivation! !! Im needing some kind of help weither it be joining a gym or walking with a friend…. when I lose weight I really lose it and pretty quick but it seems to sneak back up. Can u please help! Thank you for taking the tome yo hear me whine …LOL

    • Nicky-if you will stick to a 1500 calorie eating plan-do away with carbs and sweets-eat veggies, lean meats, fruits and low-fat/low-cal dairy you will see the weight come off. I’ve lost 15 pounds just by watching and calculating every bite of food I put in my mouth. I have not exercised much due to being in the middle of a big graduate school project. Incorporate 30 minutes 3 times a week of some kind of physical activity. You have to motivate yourself to get the job done. If you believe in yourself and tell yourself you can do it, you’ve won 1/2 the battle. Go back and read my blog to get information. You’ve got this!

  3. Angela says:

    Wow, you look great!!! It is always great to see stories of women who were my size being able to drop a large amount of weight. I used to love to run but ended up with a broken ankle that was so bad I almost lost my right foot and now I am very limited how much/far I can run and some days it is next to none. I am an emotional eater and a “bored” eater and i’m a Stay at Home Mom of a 1 year old boy and I have a 7 year old son and I want to get healthy so I can see them grow up and I want to be happy. Thank You for the inspirational story! It gives me hope that it can be done! : )

  4. Brittany says:

    I didnt have a weakness with sweets, it was whatever I could eat, I did and I would eat until the food was gone. I would eat like a goat. Didnt matter what it was or if I even liked it. If I can loose the weight, it is possible. Just because you didnt loose a pound this week doesnt mean you wont loose it tomorrow. When I started out I had to make myself eat like I was a diabetic about to have a heart attack. That mind set is what pushed me. I hope everyone finds what they need to get that drive. My crazy Ridge Back now helps a lot, when its raining and cold, we still have to go run. My dog doesnt understand the excuse of “its cold”, she dont care. Being cold for a little while and wet never hurt anyone. I will see all the runners at Run through the Roses May 5, my first 10k!

  5. LeAnn says:

    I just started my journey this week. I have never tried exercising because like you were saying, it hurts! My husband now walks with me every morning at a local park. We have only been doing 1.2 miles each day. I feel like I have done something when we are done. I have also been counting calories. I am so motivated by your story because my before pics look a lot like yours and your after pics are amazing. Now I know I can do this!! My starting weight is 247 and I want to lose at least 40 by my 12 yr anniversary in August. I’m on my way!!

Leave a Reply

