Day 19-Let’s talk chocolate

Weight GAIN: 1/2 pound

The whole idea of this blog is to be honest and hold myself accountable for weight lost and gained. Am I disappointed that a 1/2 pound snuck up on me? I won’t say I did a back flip off the scale but it’s ok. I’ve been fighting to get over strep throat for a week and I’ve only been able to drink liquids and eat sugar free Jello. I refuse to beat myself up over a 1/2 pound. It is nothing I can help so I certainly won’t dwell on it-and neither should you. If you see a pound of 2 creep in, look at your calorie count and make sure you are not going over-or drastically under. Keep an eye on sodium too, that is very important. Don’t give up. Breath. Let it go. Focus on today. We all have our off days 😉

Now, this next post is not to set your tastebuds off nor is it an attempt to steer you in the wrong direction, but let’s face it-we all have chocolate cravings. Even those of us who aren’t big fans of sweets like the smooth rich taste of chocolate on occassion.

One thing I’ve learned on this weight loss journey is that the freezer can be your best friend. I’m a lot less tempted to gorge on something I don’t need to eat if I take a few bites and put the rest of it in the freezer. It lasts longer and the temptation is out of sight!

A good friend passed this along to me and I wanted to share her idea with all of my chocoholic followers (she must be doing something right, she is rail thin ha!). The next time you need your chocolate fix, reach in the freezer for a York Peppermint Patty. 1 patty (1.4 oz) contains 140 calories. Notice: I said eat only one, not the entire bag 😉 It takes care of your chocolate craving and the mint calms your senses, lowering your stress level. Ahhh I can feel the coolness circulating through my veins even as I type 🙂

I am hoping to be back on the air with my co-anchor Eric Sollman today at 4 pm. I’ve missed anchoring the past few days but I am thankful for good co-workers like Kim Essex who graciously filled in for me when I was on my death bed.

More tomorrow!

Stay strong…

Elizabetb

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 19-Let’s talk chocolate

  1. Jennifer McBride says:

    Weight loss isn’t a linear thing:) Words of wisdom that I live by as I’m entering my 2nd year of maintaining a 30 lb loss. Keep on keeping on 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    If you are taking any antibiotics it will make you gain weight. I promise you are ok!!

  3. Eva says:

    Glad you’re not beating yourself up over 1/2 lb. It happens! I’ve been off-track this week myself, but today stepped things up w/ a brisk walk for 30 min. And having Chicken Lettuce Wraps (watching sodium) for dinner will be a nice low-carb treat! Hope you’re feeling better…we missed you at 4!

  4. Michele K. says:

    Whenever I have a chocolate craving, I turn to Hershey’s Extra Dark Chocolate squares which can be purchased at Costco (at least for the time being – they have discontinued them before). About 45 calories per square and 2 of them usually satisfy my craving. That’s why I buy up multiple bags whenever they get them in stock!

  5. You’re probably dehydrated and retaining water. Watch the juice. Hot broth and add a scrambled egg into your diet. It is soft and gives some protein your body needs to recover. I’ve lost over 70 pounds cutting my starchy carbs and simple sugars. You can do this!

    • Elizabeth-
      I am very dehydrated. For a few days I couldn’t swallow even a few sips of water. Last night I had a couple of bites of low-sodium chicken noodle soup. This morning I had a scrambled egg. Maybe I’m building back up 🙂 For lunch, I had some sugar free cough drops and mashed up strawberries (not together ha!) I’m feeling better today so hopefully this nasty infection is making its way out. Thank you for the advice and the support!

      Elizabeth

  6. Debbie says:

    Elizabeth~ I really admire you for your weight loss adventure. I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well. I LOVE the cartoon in this article!!!! 😉

  7. Krissy says:

    I’m hoping you feel lots better very soon!!! So far on my journey I have lost 11.6 pounds!!! Wooooohooooo!!! We can do this!!! Thanks for the motivation you give me!!!

  8. M.M. says:

    Hoping you are getting a lot better! You doing great! You have been sick so you will gain a little weight! But you will lose it! Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

