Day 18-Weight loss and working out

Total weight loss: 14 pounds! Part of that is likely due to not being able to swallow much solid food since I’ve been sick. Just wait until I’m better and my taste and appetite comes back. Watch out grocery store! It could get ugly 😉

I have a confession to make. I have yet to do any real exercise since I started this weight loss journey. Oh, I’ve managed to get in a few pushups using the edge of the bathroom sink for balance (trust me this works. You can really feel the burn in your upper arms). I’ve played several mean games of basketball and bowling on the Will. But when it comes to physically working out, I’d rather sit on my comfortable couch, wrapped in a blanket, watching a movie on Lifetime or “The Real Housewives of whatever city” is on Bravo.

No more! Today, I am setting a new goal that will include at least 2 days of physical activity a week. I have “no excuse” because I have a new elliptical sitting in my garage and weights. I challenge you to do the same. Find some physical activity that you can do for 30 minutes and make that your goal at least twice a week (you can do more or less depending on your physical ability). Share with me what exercise you picked and why.

How many of you find it difficult to gulp down the recommended amount of water during the day? Do you even know the recommended amount? The Institute of Medicine determined that an adequate intake for men is roughly 3 liters (about 13 cups) a day. The for women is 2.2 liters (about 9 cups) a day. You are starting to panic, right? Your mind is racing with the question of how in the world am I going to drink that much water? Hold up! I’ve got an easy solution that I borrowed from my General Manager. Use a drinking straw! Most people have a tendency to drink faster and more water through a straw. This makes it easier to have the recommended cups a day – good hydration helps with metabolism, prevents headaches and water retention, eases joint pains and reduces appearance of winkles. I like my water cold with cubed ice. Just a preference 🙂

I love granola bars but the ones you buy at the grocery store can have a lot of calories and sugar. A few years ago, I developed my own recipe that is much healthier. Give them a try! Remember-portion control! Don’t eat the entire batch in one setting. I’d go for one small bar a day.

Elizabeth’s Homemade Granola Bars

  • cooking spray 
  • 2 Tbsp. Splenda brown sugar  
  • 2 tablespoons peanut butter 
  • 2 tablespoons honey 
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
  • 2 cups whole oats 
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 
  • 1/4 cup granola
  • 1/4 cup dried fruit (cranberries, blueberries, apples, whatever you like)
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds 
  • 1/4 cup almonds (or other nut you like)

    Directions:

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). 

  1. Line a 9×13-inch baking dish with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray. 
  2. Melt together the brown sugar, peanut butter, honey, butter flavored spread, and vanilla extract in a small saucepan over low heat. 
  3. Stir until well combined; remove from heat. 
  4. Combine the oats, granola, and cinnamon, in a large bowl. 
  5. Pour the brown sugar mixture into bowl; stir well to combine. 
  6. Stir in the chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and almonds. 
  7. Spoon into the prepared pan; pat down and spread evenly. 
  8. Bake in oven until browned, 15 to 20 minutes.

Cut into small size bars. Enjoy!

Have a great Wednesday!

Elizabeth

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 18-Weight loss and working out

  1. Carolyn Cole says:

    I have always drank my water thru a straw, and i put a drink mix in my mine to make it flavorable. When I exercise, I do workout dvd’s sometimes with weights and sometimes without. I have been bad the last week or so, with my eating. Haven’t eaten what i should but I’m going to get back to it. Gotta find out y i’m having headaches and dizziness when i wake up in the mornings first. Have a great day and get to feeling better.

  2. Jess says:

    Have you tried Zumba?? SO MUCH FUN 🙂

  3. Lora says:

    I bought one of those big Bubba Kegs at Wal-Mart. I put in a little ice and fill it with water, and carry it around. At the end of the day when it’s empty, I know I’ve had my daily requirement of good ol’ H2O. And it sits nicely in your passenger seat.

  4. Annie Readus-Erskine says:

    Zumba is something one works up to. I worked out with a personal trainer for 9 months, lost 40 pounds and still could not and cannot Zumba!! I do dance. My grandsons (10, 6 & 4) laugh at me, but we dance around as they teach me (lol) the latest steps. Keeps me moving.

  5. HP says:

    I have an elliptical, weights, ab lounger, ab circle, and a whole bunch of workout DVD’s. However, they all just collect dust! What I finally did? I joined the gym!! I don’t know why but I’m much more motivated when I actually have to leave the house to workout. Today I did 1 hr strength training and 1 hr elliptical. According to my heart rate monitor that I wear I burned 1,347 calories!! Woo hoo!! This is my 3rd week. I go 5 days a week and so far I’m loving it!! I’m quite cranky if I don’t get my gym time in!!

  6. stacy says:

    I am very proud of your progress. I have lost 14#s also but mine has taken much longer. I find myself starting to get discouraged, which i really dont want to happen. Hopefully i can find a way to get myself re-motivated.

    • Stacy-don’t get down. Part of the reason for my weight loss is strep throat. I haven’t been able to eat solid food in a few days. Trust me, this is not a good way to shed the pounds. I do try to get calories in my body though even if it is in the form of liquids.

      Watch your calorie intake and add some kind of aeriobic activity to kick start your metabolism again. You’ve got this-just take it one day at a time!

      Best of luck to you!
      Elizabeth

  7. Plain water has always left me feeling a little sick in the stomach unless I’m REALLY dehydrated. However, I find that adding a few drops of lemon or lime juice changes not only the flavor but the PH enough that I can get in the required amount. As far as exercise goes, I’ll most likely head back to the gym after I check in with my back Dr. on Friday. Had to give it a couple week’s rest.

  8. Kathy says:

    I have to mix up my exercise. I go to the gym twice a week or that is my goal. Sometimes life gets in the way. I walk a mile on Sat and Sun. My neighborhood is very hilly so I have mapped out a route that takes me up and down hils. On the other days, I have a walking video and a gazelle that I do. My goal is at least 5 days a week. I have a calendar that I put my exercise on so that I can see what I have done for the week. It is on the refrigerator. 🙂 I also have a goal that I would like to hike to the Jericho walls in October. It is about 7 miles and coming out it mostly uphill. No way I can do it now, but hopefully will be able to in October.

    Thanks for the recipe. I may need to try it out this weekend. Will have to see how many WW points it is. I have lost 16 pounds since Dec 28th so not as well as you, but I am proud of the loss. Keep trucking.

Leave a Reply

